We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is a tough one” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Sinai Safari Adventures

Sinai Safari Adventures
El Salam Road | Front of Tropicana Grand Azure Hotel, Nabq Bay, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt
+20 121 133 3508
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 16 Attractions in Nabq Bay
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: THE ONLY PROVEN ENGLISH/BRITISH FULLY OWNED directed and operated tour company here in Sharm. No association with sinai excursions. We are fully licensed, legal and insured. Catering for those on a budget that are still quality minded, to the more savvy guest needing a superior service at still inexpensive prices. Recently opening an office in Nabq located in front of the Tropicana Grand Azure hotel. We have a wealth of experience as we were once tourists ourselves for over 8 years, thus seeing tourism from both points of view. Dedicated, we value our customers and strive hard to meet expectations in the best way possible.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Stavanger, Norway
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“This is a tough one”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Let me just say that I'm sure Sinai Safari are great at their core business. Having read excellent reviews we booked 4 days of scuba diving with this company including the OW course for my girlfriend. We were then forwarded to a local company that took it from there.

This local company ("Sea Wind") I would rate a 1 out of 5 stars. Facilities, equipment, organization, staff, .. It was all pretty much worst of the worst that I have seen so far. No information, no dive planning, no dive logging, no buddy checks (I dived with the instructor and he jumped in the water without even asking if I was ready), equipment disappearing and being offered to other divers from the instructor, basically everything were chaos.

On the flip side though after complaining Sinai Safari did everything they could to amend the situation and we even had a private "guide" from the company accompanying us to make us feel good. As we couldn't swap center mid-course we decided to stay the time at the same center. Things improved a bit, but was still far from top notch.

Hard time giving stars here, but I have to rate our overall experience the 4 days combined and so it ends with two stars..

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim B, Owner at Sinai Safari Adventures, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Hi Jan
Many thanks for your feedback. As you know we were already aware that you were unhappy with the service of Seawind. However if you look back at our emails prior to your arrival, you will see that I mentioned that we are not specialists in the diving field for guests such as yourself who are already certified. You mentioned that you couldn't find a suitable dive center that could help you with your requirements, so we stepped in and did what we could to assist. We are not a diving company, only a tour operator. We only normally offer intro diving for guests who have never tried diving before. Seawind have been and are still very good at this service and we can certainly say that we have never experienced any problems with them in the past. The unfortunate part was the fact that your partner had never dived before and you wanted to be there with here to see and assist her. This situation obviously did not work from your point of view, and for this we are sorry. We are glad that you appreciate that we tried everything humanly possible at the time to rectify the problems that you were encountering.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,895 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,805
    68
    10
    5
    7
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Highlights of our time in Sharm!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Before leaving for our 1 week vacation in Sharm, we found their website through Trip advisor and contacted Janet with some questions regarding the trips in order to figure out which trips we would like to do. Janet immediately replied and send us quite a few important information and good things to know while being in Sharm. After our arrival we contacted Janet again and she was very helpful in assisting us to decide which trips to book. We ended up deciding on the Stargazing with Single Quad Trip and the Tiran Island trip.
First up was our trip to the desert and after being picked up at the hotel and a short drive, we were quickly introduced to our quads and our guide Mango and off we were into the desert. It was a really fun experience, especially as it was just us and our guide, so we were able to go even further than you would have gotten with the regular group tours offered by the other operators (we saw groups of up to 30pax heading through the desert in one big dust cloud!) and saw so much more (including a little photo shot which lead to some lovely pictures of us). After the Quad Trip we went with a slightly bigger group (bigger meaning still just about 12 people) to the Bedouin Dinner and Stargazing. Very nice atmosphere and lots of things included in this package that makes it really worth the money. Especially the stargazing and bread making after the other groups had left, felt kind of special :)
Next trip was on our last day in Sharm and really the icing on top of our visit to Sharm. We were off to Tiran Island which we looked forward to all week. Janet recommended that we would join the privately hired boat trip instead of the regular tour, giving us an even better experience. On the day we were picked up at the hotel again and driven to Naama Bay where we boarded the boat. We were only about 15 people on the boat which gave us plenty of options to move around and either lay in the sun or sit in the shade. We had 3 stops on the tour, which really got better with each stop. On every stop, we had a snorkelling guide with us that showed us around the nicest spots of the reef and really made the experience even better. We can only recommend this trip to everyone! The underwater world is really impressive and a must see!
Overall, the service was really good and all the guides and people involved very friendly and helpful! Thanks to Janet and Tim for offering this excellent service and we will certainly recommend you to anyone going to Sharm! Many thanks again!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great Trip!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We booked the "Total Experience" with Janet and loved it! Janet was kind enough to come and meet us to discuss what they offered and to help us decide. She was a great help and gave us lots of tips for during our first stay in Egypt. Our tour guide was Kamal and he was fantastic, so friendly and really knew his stuff. A big thank you to him! Really recommend anyone travelling to Sharm to use this company, we certainly will be when we return.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Awesome!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

After reading numerous reviews on trip advisor about this company I thought I would email Tim and Janet before our trip to Sharm for some details. The response was very swift and informative. We met up with Tim and Janet near our hotel, nice folk. We booked Cairo by Air, Star Gazing and Quading (morning). All excursions were excellent value for money and we were well looked after. I would definitely use them again and recommend to a friend.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Trip to Cairo by plane”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Myself and my partner thoroughly enjoyed our trip to Cairo in September, we travelled by plane.

Our guide was Hassan and we found him to be helpful, professional and extremely knowledgeable. He made us feel safe and the whole day ran extremely smoothly thanks to him.

I am not normally someone who writes reviews but really wanted to say how much of a lovely time we had. From booking it at home to meeting up with Janet near out hotel, it could not have been more straight forward and hassle free

I have a friend who is travelling to Egypt in December and recommended Janet and Tim to her as soon as I got home.

Once more I would like to say a huge thank you to Hassan for making our trip an amazing one!

Thank you again to Tim and Janet for all of your help, we will not hesitate to book with you again when we travel to Egypt next time.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sinai Safari Adventures also viewed

Sharm El Sheikh, South Sinai
 

Been to Sinai Safari Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sinai Safari Adventures, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.