We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the Best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rixos Sharm El Sheikh

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Rixos Sharm El Sheikh to your Saves list
Rixos Sharm El Sheikh
5.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Nabq Bay, Nabq Bay, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 29 Hotels in Nabq Bay
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“One of the Best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

I have just returned and thought this was one of the best hotels in Sharm, we picked this hotel for the quality of food which we were not disappointed. The 7 restaurants were top class, service was top class and the staff could not do enough to make sure you had an enjoyable evening. It would have been nice if there were more than one heated swimming pool due to lots of Russians all around the heated pool. The Russians are also very rude to everyone so I applaud the staff for putting up with it every day and night. Well done everyone at the Rixos.

Room Tip: We were in block 16 which looked over a small pool and was very quite during the day but on a few ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,074 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,241
    518
    208
    55
    52
See reviews for
834
1,546
57
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (728)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

Our family (2 adults + 3 small kids) just came back from a fantastic holiday in Rixos. I read some reviews about different hotels before the trip, but even after reading great reviews, we were still positively surprised abou the hotel.

The whole complex is just amazing. Pool after pool after pool. Excellent food wherever you eat, plenty of choice with excellent service. Waitress' had always time to play with the kids and were happy to help with everything. Also, when we had some special food requests due to allergy, there was immediately not only one but in many cases 2 persons to help out and make sure we got what we needed.

There's music, great kids club, water slides, fitness, tennis courts, massage, great beach, etc. Surroundings were very clean, well kept, simply beautiful. Also, the trips which were offered were well organized. Especially for kids I can recommend the dolphin show and the 'submarine' trip to see the corals. Make sure you ask for special price =)

Then only a few minor things to improve:

1) sometimes the waitresses were even too fast to pick out the plates when there was stil food left
2) In a family room, would be great to have a hand held shower as well

Yeah, can't figure out anything else! So, 100% recommend this truly 5 star hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harpenden, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

This was our first visit to this region and we had a superb deal from Fleetway Travel, overall we had a really good holiday as mentioned before the room in block 4 was fine, large well equipped and comfortable; yes the air con was noisy but essential. We did have one or two issues, the buffet was hectic and the style of food not to everyone's taste, the themed dining venues were good. The large Russian contingent were noticeable but play volleyball with them and make new friends ;the bars did serve branded drinks and the staff were always eager to please.
We took one trip off site to take the glass bottomed boat from Naam Bay (this was very good) which gave us the chance to see other hotels and I must say ours looked the nicest by far, there are some really crummy places out there the entire area is littered with half complete hotels and semi derelict building sites.
Our party were affected by the Egyptian tummy and even after a week back home still suffering; also we were eaten alive by sand flies so do take repellent . Would I return, yes overall the positives out way the negatives and the Rixos does offer an oasis of calm in a beautiful setting.

Room Tip: Block 4 near the heated pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

First, let me explain what we were looking for: We are a recently-married couple who just wanted a relaxing week away in the winter sun. We planned to sit by the pool or on the beach, do a bit of snorkelling, and generally relax and take advantage of the all-inclusive. We couldn't care less about the evening entertainment, just so long as there's a nice bar or two where we don't have to listen to 100 kids singing along to the Birdie Song and Agadoo.

The positives:

The rooms are great. The beds are comfortable, there's a free minibar (soft drinks and Heineken), the bathroom is bigger than some hotel rooms I've stayed in in Europe, and the air con is good (if noisy).

There's a really good selection of food. I like the way you can have a night in each of the themed restaurants (provided you're organised enough to book in advance), meaning you don't have to do the same buffet day after day. The Egyptian and Indian restaurants were our favourites.

The staff are all very friendly and helpful.

The pools are amazing. The families tend to crowd around the heated pool next to the waterslides, where music is played all day. There are plenty of other much quieter pools, which are great to get away from the crowd, read a book and have a swim.

The beach bar is very good, and the other bars in the hotel are fine.

The negatives:

We were looking forward to snorkelling off the hotel's jetty - that's the main reason we went to Sharm. However, the coral is pretty poor (having been walked all over by thoughtless tourists). Worse, there was a very strong current which meant that it was almost impossible to snorkel - we were literally doing front crawl just to stay still in the water, so it was exhausting and just no fun. On three of our seven days, the jetty was closed altogether because the currents were so strong. I don't know if this is typical of Nabq Bay, but it did spoil things a bit. Obviously not the hotel's fault, but I've stayed in Naama Bay previously, where the snorkelling was much better and much more enjoyable.

We did go out on a boat trip one day to do some proper snorkelling, but this wasn't ideal, because it appears that a lot of people sign up to do that trip who can't actually swim / use a snorkel, which makes it pretty boring for the rest who have to go along at snail's pace. That might sound harsh, but it was annoying when you could see there was great coral and fish to be seen, but you didn't have time to go and investigate properly.

Finally, the location of the hotel - it really is in the middle of nowhere, so you can't just have a wander into town if you want to escape the hotel bars for an evening and try something different. Yes, you can get taxis, but that just makes it a bit more of a hassle.

So in conclusion, the hotel was great value for a relaxing week away, but if you are keen on the snorkelling and like getting out of the hotel from time to time, I suspect there are better options.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spalding, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

Firstly I have travelled to Egypt various times and each time I vow never to return, however Egypt is the only place for winter sun with only a short flight time !
The reason I dont like Egypt is purely due to the egyptian tummy and the food is bland...however.....

The Rixos is definitely an excellent hotel and comes very close to 5 stars compared with other hotels I have stayed in.
On arrival check in was quick and efficient. The entrance is very grand. We had a deluxe room overlooking the main pool (which is heated). Room was very spacious and cleaned daily.
First night we had to eat in the buffet restaurant which offered plenty of different foods, however I am not a lover of opening up tins to see what I fancy...I much prefer to choose off a menu and have it served at my table....however this was the only night we ate in the buffet restaurant so it wasnt too bad. Service was good, the egyptians work very hard and always are cheerful and friendly. Take dollars to tip as it does pay to tip !

The computer booking system for the al la carte restaurants is the best i have ever come across...no queing up to book. Its simple and you can book for 3 nights in advance which was great. The a la carte restaurants: Italian, Chinese, Indian and Egyptian were excellent.....the italian was definitely my favourite then the egyptian. We didnt eat in the Sushi or Fish restaurants purely because we dont like fish. You can ask to use the same al la carte again if you wish.
There are many pools at this hotel. First day we chose to lay by the lagoon pool but chose the main pool after that purely because it was busier, heated pool, had music playing and entertainment. We did spend a day on the beach which was good.
Daytime food was served in the buffet restaurant or at the pool bars or Fish restaurant which served a good choice of fresh food.
I had read how vast this hotel was, however from one end to the other only took 10 mins to walk which is not very far.
I only used the gym once during my stay which was small, yet fully equipped.
Champagne is part of the all inclusive which was brilliant.
English bar across the road for all ya footy games. Nabq centre is a 15 minute walk but be prepared to be pestered...a polite no does help.

There were lots of Russians at this hotel which wasnt a problem at all.

Must mention a quick thank you to Bella, who I pestered everyday with a question. She was always happy to help...so thank you!

Will I return to the Rixos....YES. This is an excellent hotel.

Thank you to all staff at the Rixos for making my holiday a good one x

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

Treated very badly by staff that where meant to 'managers' when four months pregnant refusing to let me leave the building to catch my flight! Even to the point where they stormed off and refused to talk to us when we had a problem. I wouldn't recommend coming here to anyone as if you have a problem they will not help and are very intimidating. Ruined my engagement and birthday celebrations. Certainly the worst hotel management I have ever experienced and left me feeling ganged up on and bullied.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly W, Manager at Rixos Sharm El Sheikh, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Dear Claudiam92

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay here with us.

We are extremely disappointed that you did not have the stay you were expecting.

As you are currently still sat in our Reception area waiting for your transfer one of our Guest Relation Team approcahed you regarding paying your bill before departure - unfortunately you refused to speak with her or your Tour Leader and told her to "go away".

Unfortunately when you refuse to pay any bills we have to inform the Management and of course when there is no valid reason for not paying for a Romantic Dinner in the Cabana we have no option but to contact your Tour Operator.

Our management have done everything possible to assist you to the point where you have been given a 50% discount on your bill - to which you still refused to pay.

You were spoken to by 4 different members of staff who when spoken to in such bad manner have the full right to leave the conversation until you are calm and we can find a solution - however every member of staff tried to assist you but unfortunately you did not want to pay for the extra services you had. We treat all of our guests the same they are all important to us - being pregnant is a blessing and we congratulated you on this special occasion and also your engagement however this is not a reason for us to treat you any differently and provide such services complimentary.

Once again we are disappointed that you did not have the stay you were expecting and we hope you find an accommodation in the future that meets your expectations.

Thank you

Kelly Walmsley
Rixos Sharm el Sheikh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishopton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

Having stayed in Sharm hotels in the past that have been far from their 5star rating, my husband and I decided to book a week at the Rixos based on all the positive feedback that the hotel has received from other travellers.
On first impression we thought that at last we had found a hotel that met the profile.
Rooms were modern and spacious, grounds well tended and staff very pleasant.
Then the cracks appeared, literally....we were served drinks in chipped glassware, food served in very badly cracked bowls at the Taj Mahal Restaurant, broken crockery, no tea spoons, coffee machine and juice machines constantly needing attention in the main buffet restaurant and
Lipstick on a cup on the hospitality tray and unclean sanitary ware in our bathroom very quickly made us realise we were not in a 5 star establishment.
Our concerns were forwarded to Guest Relations Manager Karen Walmsley, who offered us her apologies and agreed that this was not a standard that was acceptable and she would convey our complaint to the relevant departments.
Needless to say for the duration of our stay we continued to experience the same lack of standard, had guest relations followed up our concerns this would have been relayed to them.
I certainly would not recommend the Rixos if you are looking for a better class of hotel which is a shame really as the hotel has the potential, under good management to be one of the better hotels in Sharm.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rixos Sharm El Sheikh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rixos Sharm El Sheikh

Address: Nabq Bay, Nabq Bay, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh > Nabq Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Nabq Bay
#1 Romantic Hotel in Nabq Bay
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Nabq Bay
#1 Luxury Hotel in Nabq Bay
#3 Family Hotel in Nabq Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Rixos Sharm El Sheikh 5*
Number of rooms: 695
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
198 Superior Rooms, 290 Deluxe Rooms, 70 Family Rooms and 137 Junior Suites are spread around this beautifully designed modern resort. Several swimming pools wind there way between buildings or there is a gorgeous stretch of beach providing our guests with lots of options on where to spend their days. There are even 3 water slides to entertain the young and the young at heart. Try snorkeling from the wooden jetty or merely a stroll at sunset to see the magnificence of the underworld of the Red Sea. Dining choices include international buffet or choose from the World of Cuisines, with Chinese, Indian, Sushi, Italian, Sea Food or a taste of Egypt. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Rixos Sharm El Sheikh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Grand Azure Hotel Nabq Bay
Rixos Sharm El Sheikh Egypt - Nabq Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rixos Sharm El Sheikh, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.