We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We had a fantastic time !!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rixos Sharm El Sheikh

Save Saved
You added Rixos Sharm El Sheikh to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rixos Sharm El Sheikh
5.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Nabq Bay, Nabq Bay, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 29 hotels in Nabq Bay
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“We had a fantastic time !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2011

Upon deciding Egypt was going to be our honeymoon destination due to the guarenteed weather mainly, and good value for money, we poured through trip advisor reviews and decided on this hotel mainly as it looked huge, spacious and reviewed pretty well, in a nut shell most of the reviews were spot on, so we were happy not to be shocked at what areas we would have fely a little let down with being a 5 star if we'd not have come prepared.

I think the areas this hotel are let down with, mainly being service related would be accross the board with 5 star Egypt hotels as it's just their way, the staff are fine don't get me wrong, polite, helpfull, smartly dressed but i'd say 1 in 5 staff just seem to let the side down in customer service, some can be a little rude and come accross as miserable or arragant.

I dont think i've read a review that points out that this hotel is only 3 years old! hence everything is immaculate, also their main reception which is beautifull and very impressive is only 5 weeks old!! we serveyed a lot of hotels in Nabq Bay and we feel this hotel was definatley the best hotel by far! a lot seem to be that bit older there fore you can go around and see the signs of age very easily, plus they didn't seem anywhere near the same standard.

Definatley definatley go for a junior suite, the rooms are twice the size of a double, their huge. also ask for a room overlooking the Lagoon pool, this is the most stunning pool to look over, also you'll get a sea view which is nice. If you overlook the Royal pool you'll have the boom boom music all day and no sea view, just a view into someone elses room.

For those who havn't been to Egypt before i can not stress the importance any more than ensure you know the resort you choose, not hotel, the resort... we went into Nama Bay on the courtesy bus and were in a taxi on route back in 5 mins. Nama Bay is one of the most intimidating shopping enviroments we've encountered, fine if you like 40 men hassling the crap out of you every step of the way, and i'm not joking, this was 3pm too so i'd hate to imagine the night. DON'T SATY IN NAMA BAY!!! For shopping go go Soho Square, this is a quarter mile strip of shops in a gated complex where hassling as banned, it's quite unique, soho square is impressive, marble floors, flashing lights, fancy shops, very nice.

Our advice is choose a hotel that is big enough that you dont need to leave for a whole week as soon as you leave the complex's you'll be longing to get back. You can easily spend a week here and not need to go anywhere, it's georgous.

Food is unbeleivable, 5 ala cart resturants and 2 buffet resturants, and when you think buffet you think urrrgh, not buffet. let me tell you, you've not seen this quality of food in a buffet before i can assure you, it's beautifull. A lot of people told me be carefull in Egypt with their food as you can easily get ill with their level of food standards, this hotel obviously has very good food management as i've never seen food preperation, presentation, cleanliness and quality anywhere in the world. Very good.

Lots and lots of swimming pools here, this time of year they're too bliming cold though, so be warned, although the main pool by the new reception is niceley heated which is lovely, but this is also the pool where there is pumping music all day and lots of pool activities going on, this is aslo the busiest so not particually relaxing. The other pool areas are very relaxing. At the time we went the hotel was about 70% full and there was easily enough space to llose yourself in your own space.

Be warned also that Sharm can get a little windy, look into this if needed, we only went to the beach a couple of times as too windy, pool areas were more sheltered so this was bit better.

For tipping, if i went again i'd take about 50 pound in one pound coins, the Egyptions love UK pounds and it'd make it a lot earier tipping a couple of quid here tand there instead of rummaging through the egyption notes and trying to get change all the time to tip people. Their way of life is being tipped for everything, it gets very annoying so be prepared. we tipped a couple of waiters quite a bit where we drank in the evenings and they soon see themselves as your personal waiter, therefore you just nodd and they'll come shooting over and give you great service. plus they earn pittence so it's nice to think you can make a little difference to their lives. most earn about £20 a week!! and work for 30 days straight then have 10 days off, some do more. so you can see they rely of tips.

People we sat next to on the plane we staying at Club Magic Resort which is number 5 i think on trip advisor where as this is 16, this hotel is next door so obviously we checked it out, no way is Club magic resort better than Royal Grand Azure, no way on earth. it looked cramped, crowded, just not as impresive at all, we bumped into them in the airport on return and they said they had a good time but wished they'd stayed in ours as it looked amazing in comparison.

We loved it. In terms of some of the negitive coments for this hotel i think you need to assess the quality of the other hotels in Sharm and think are they going to get better than this for this money, the answer is no. If we go back to sharm we'd definatley go back to this hotel, the next up from this would have to be the Savoy. All round excellent

The hotel managers seem very concious your having a good time and if there is anything they can do for you, i cant see your going to get this everywhere you go, they obviously know they've got a very nice hotel here and with a little tweeking of service quality they can get this right up the ranks on trip advisor, they are very concious of trip advisor and it's influence on custom. i wouldn't be supprised if this was number 5 or something by may 2012.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,271 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,599
    420
    173
    45
    34
See reviews for
582
1188
42
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (534)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011 via mobile

I am amazed by some people. Reviews are opinions and some should taken with a pinch of salt. The hotel is huge. Very clean tidy and the grounds very well maintained. Seven pools, one heated others are not. The alcohol on offer was very good especially the rum. The buffet was a little busy and yes you had to get your own drink, however the tables were cleared effectively and the food quality was superb. They did brilliant pizzas both down on the beach and in the buffet. The royal buffet for adults only was more organised, you were shown to your table and had a drink brought to you. The a la cartes varied, limited atmosphere but the food, particularly Italian and Chinese was very nice. The only issue is that the hotel is so huge that the staff are overworked and on occasions it may seem they are slow. What the majority are, is hard working and super friendly. The entertainment team epitomises this, working atleast twelve hours a day they always had a spring in their step and made our time on the beach enjoyable. The weather was mid to high 20s, felt hot especially for the last week on November. Ok so if u choose this hotel you won't be treated like a king, you will have to get your own drinks etc, but you are treated in a five star fashion, in five star surroundings. We thoroughly enjoyed our time here and would definitely return to this hotel I'd we revisit sharm in the future.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2011

Hotel is beautiful and very clean rooms nice bed comfy fridge only 2 btlwater expect fanta and beer for 5 star at least .Service in adult restaurant was none exsistent had 3 course meal nothing cleared off table shocking .enertainment rubbish and loud except egyptian night so just had sit at pool bar in the cold barman are great at pool bar main bar staff try but not enough of them you order at bar then they insist on bringing it over after about 10 min the wine is different in restaurants and bars nice in ent bar horrid at pool bar Chinese and italian really nice if we could have ate in these with the service every night would have been better beach bar food do good sandwichs and pizza .Cocktail party was glass of wine and canapes manager asked if we had any complaints but didnt do anything about it BEEN TO BETTER 3 STAR if you go end of nov sun is only shining from 11 til 3 .Food is not up to standard and adult bar has saxaphone player or singer nice but so depressing cocktails only about 8 most with mint florida with vodka Bella at customer relations was brilliant

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2011

I feel we went to a different hotel to most of the other reports on Trip Advisor as our experience wasnt very good in lots of ways. The room was what we asked for being in a quiet area and sea view large room with bath but no overhead shower which was poor really. The bed was rock hard and the pillows gave us a bad neck we asked for a duvet to put on mattress which made it a bit softer.The worst part about the whole visit was the quality of the service on the first day the room cleaner came knocking hinting for a tip and continued to corner us outside the room every time we came and went until my husband gave him some money after he said he was going to Cairo we really felt bullied by him and he looked at the tip with utter contempt. There was only one area that gave good service but not all the time The Lobby Bar. The Bar in the new Reception we found we were being ignored most of the time and served very slowly. The food in the Zodiac restaurant was poor a lot of choice but not good food. The best food was to be had in the Indian Chinese and Italian restaurant book as soon as you get there.The last straw happened on our leaving day my husband had asked for extra time ( to pay for) so that we could stay in room till 2oclock booked the night before when we got to the room at loclock we were locked out we then had a long hike to reception to find out why eventually got in and just as we were leaving got nattered by another room cleaner for tip. I realise that the cleaners will be very low paid but the customer should not be harrassed for money we do give tips but not until the end of our holiday. The beach desperately needs wind shields people were building fences with the sunbeds and breaking a lot of them. This whole experience has put us off Sharm El Sheik I dont think we will visit again.

Room Tip: Room 16212 is in a quiet position and it does have sea view but rock hard bed. A long walk to the ne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2011

28th November 2011 - 5th December 2011

My wife and I have just eturned from a weeks holiday at the Royal grande Azure. What else can you say, appart from truely amazing.
We went for a weeks holiday without the children for the first time, for my wifes 40th birthday. I have always wanted to go to egypt on holiday, but my wife wasnt 100% sure before we left. But to say we were both over completely sold on the place is an under statement.
before we had the kids, we had been to some nice places and hotels, including the Maldives, mexico and dominican republic. But we are not kidding on when we say we have never been to a hotel like this in our lives.
It was unbelievable clean, every where you looked, there was a member of staff cleaningsomething 24 hrs a day, and the amount of staff at the resort was incredable. Thwey were also very helpful, and always happy.
The rooms are very spacious and very clean, infact every time we came back to the room after being at the pool or beach, the room had been cleaned and tidied.
And the food. WOW. we managed to goto every restaurant, which you could easily eat out at a different restaurant every night you are there in a week, which was really good for the change of scenery. Each restaurant was as good as each other in quality. We tried all 4 al a cart restaurents which were all very good. But persionally, the egyption and the italian blew us away.
The pools are also lovely and very clean, although only one of the pools were heated, this still didnt make the heated pool overly crouded. Infact , we got told the hotel was 80% full..You would never have known this as it was very relaxing, and didnt seem that busy. But that will maybe be down to the size of the place, and the amount of swimming pools and the size of beach available.
The entertainment team are also lovely, and very chearful and all speak amazing english, as do everyone to be honest.
We also did a snorkling and scuba diving trip which was also great and would reccomend it if you get a chance of doing it.
Over all this was an amazing holiday, and will defo be booking again to go back to the Royal Grand Azure. And this time we will be taking the kids. And would reccomend this hotel to anyone. Infact I already have reccomended it to everyone i have talkedto since i havereturned.

Thanks for an amazing holiday, and you will definetly be seeing us again soon x

Room Tip: we requested a pool side room, which we got told would just be our luck, when we got there, we had b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2011

This was our second visit to the RGA ( 24th Nov - 1st Dec ) and the place just keeps getting better. We returned this time with my Mum & Dad.

I would like to start this review with a "MASSIVE THANK YOU" to Kelly.

On arrival Kelly recognised us and greeted us with her beautiful smile and gave us all a kiss.
Kelly gave us a beautiful suite each with a fantastic sea view. This was a perfect start to our holiday as Mum & Dad were over the moon with the suite. Throughout our holiday Kelly was always asking if we were ok, and if there was anything we needed just let her know.
Kelly is a great asset to the hotel , she never stops. She has a fantastic attitude towards staff and a beautiful way with guests, this is why we will be returning for a third visit and mum and dad will be returning with us. Thank you Kelly for making our holiday "Truly Amazing"

Now for the hotel itself.

We were so suprised at the welcome we recived from the staff that remembered us. They came to us saying welcome back we could not belive they remebered us. It was realy nice and they said if you need anything at all please let us know.

The junior suites are "Truly Amazing" it is the best room we have ever stayed in, its huge and our room boy Hanny was Fantastic ( Room 107104 & 105 ) we were provided with dressing gowns and slippers and our beds were done every day. Hanny also went that little bit further bringing us a little bunch of flowers to the room and when my mum felt a little unwell he came to the room with a few options hoping one of them could help her. I have problems sleeping at home but the room was so relaxing and comfortable I slept like a baby every night. Our rooms were kept spotless so I would like to thank Hanny for making our stay "Truly Amazing"

The new reception and the new adults only restaurant are now open and they are "Truly Amazing". There is also a new beach restaurant which is lovely and relaxing just sitting there with a view of the sea.

All the staff work so hard to keep the place looking "Truly Amazing"
The hotel grounds are kept to a very high standard and you see them working every day.

The Zodiac restaurant has a massive range of food which is cooked to perfection. We had a waiter that looked after us - we had a realy good laugh with him he was good fun, and he always made sure we had our tea and coffee in the mornings.

There are four Al a carte restaurants which we found the food and the service in all of them, once again "Truly Amazing"

There are plenty of sun beds and we had our own little spot every day and the pool boy was there every morning helping us to set up. My mum loved him he made sure her towel was on the bed and that it was put in the right position for her - He was a little *Star* ( this was the pool by the zodiac ) So I would like to say a BIG THANK YOU to the pool boy for looking after my mum.

We went to the Lagoon Bar every night as we found this relaxing and once again the bar staff were "Truly Amazing"( sorry I can not remember names) but the service from the bar staff was superb. There are a good selection of cocktails to choose from I think me and mum must of tried every one on the menu, but my fav is pinacolada the bar man made them perrrrrrfect! yummmmmmmmy!

This is one of the best hotels we have ever stayed in we felt so relaxed and so chilled out. We had a massage there and it was the best massage we have ever had . We would recommend you have one at the begining of your holiday it sets you in the right mood.

As far as we are concerned the RGA stands up to its *5 stars* and just keeps getting better.

If you do have any problems whilst you are staying at the hotel just go to Guest Relations and they will do their upmost to solve any problems you may have. "Remember you are there to enjoy your holiday so if you have a problem or a complaint sort it whilst you are there and not wait utill you get home and put a bad review on Tripadvisor - Give the hotel a chance to sort any problems you may have. I can asure you 100% they will and then you can sit back and enjoy yourself- all the staff at Guest Relations are "Truly Amazing"

Once again Kelly Thank you from Sharon , Graham, Ada & Jimmy for making our holiday a great one and we hope to see you again soon. x x x


We would highly recommend this hotel if you are thinking of going to Egypt and you are looking for Value , Service, Cleanliness and location you must go to The Royal Grand Azure .

Room Tip: Junior suites are Excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2011

The hotel staff were all excellent. They couldn't do more for you and were very polite at all times. There were always cleaners working throughout the day keeping the place spotless. Managers were also accessible and made sure that things ran smoothly. Our bedroom and bathroom were huge, clean and comfortable. Most days we ate in the Royal Dining room. This is adults only, which suited us. The food was well presented and well cooked. There were only a few things that could have been done better eg. cold milk available for the tea, without having to walk to the other end of the counter with a hot cup of tea to get cold milk. There should also have been available lemon, sugar and syrup for the pancakes. We tried three of the four Al a carte restaurants. The Indian being the best, with great flavours and well cooked food. We were
disappointed with the Egyptian restaurant. Both the chicken and the beef were overcooked and dry. As a speciality restaurant it did not have the "wow" factor. It was not different enough from the main restaurants. The Chinese was enjoyable and made a nice change. Make sure that you book these at the first available opportunity. It is on a first come basis and they get booked up very quickly. You have to go to Guest Relations between 9am- 2pm to book in person. People queue before 9am. I think it would be better if there was a dedicated phone for this instead. This would be fairer as guests at the other end of the hotel have to walk to Guest Relations to book. It would still be done on a first come, first serve basis, but then everyone would have the same opportunity. It was easy to get a sun bed each day and the towel staff were happy to move the beds for you. I found there was a lack of shade. There were plenty of sun shades but these did not give shade over your own sun beds. Perhaps this was just due to the time of year. The animation team were very enthusiastic and in the mornings lead relaxation/stretch classes, water polo and aerobics. There was a good saxophonist every evening in the main reception bar. It would have been nice to vary performers e.g.a pianist. We walked through the old reception one night but t was far too smoky for us and we were not impressed by the singer.
The only downside was the size of the hotel. It is only my view, but I prefer smaller, more personal hotels. If you prefer adult only dining make sure you book a room near to reception, otherwise you will have a long walk from the other end of the hotel to eat. I would certainly recommend this hotel for service, food, cleanliness and proximity to the airport. (only a fifteen minute transfer). There were no disruptions due to aircraft noise. We had a really relaxing break, which was why we picked this hotel.

Room Tip: This a large resort and if you have any difficulty walking then make sure you request a room fairly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rixos Sharm El Sheikh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rixos Sharm El Sheikh

Address: Nabq Bay, Nabq Bay, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh > Nabq Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Nabq Bay
#1 Business Hotel in Nabq Bay
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Nabq Bay
#2 Family Hotel in Nabq Bay
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Nabq Bay
#2 Spa Hotel in Nabq Bay
#2 Luxury Hotel in Nabq Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Rixos Sharm El Sheikh 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
198 Superior Rooms, 290 Deluxe Rooms, 70 Family Rooms and 137 Junior Suites are spread around this beautifully designed modern resort. Several swimming pools wind there way between buildings or there is a gorgeous stretch of beach providing our guests with lots of options on where to spend their days. There are even 3 water slides to entertain the young and the young at heart. Try snorkeling from the wooden jetty or merely a stroll at sunset to see the magnificence of the underworld of the Red Sea. Dining choices include international buffet or choose from the World of Cuisines, with Chinese, Indian, Sushi, Italian, Sea Food or a taste of Egypt. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Orbitz and Expedia so you can book your Rixos Sharm El Sheikh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Grand Azure Hotel Nabq Bay
Rixos Sharm El Sheikh Egypt - Nabq Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rixos Sharm El Sheikh, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.