We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Holiday and a very well placed Hotel Resort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Oriental Resort Sharm El Sheikh

Save Saved
You added Oriental Resort Sharm El Sheikh to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Oriental Resort Sharm El Sheikh
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Nabq Bay | South Sinai, Nabq Bay, Sharm El Sheikh 002069, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 29 hotels in Nabq Bay
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
“Very Good Holiday and a very well placed Hotel Resort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2010

We have just returned from a great Holiday at the Oriental Resort.
We stayed in the Older part of the Hotel on the 3rd Floor ( there's only 3 ) and found our room to be Large having two double beds and a bathroom with shower. The Room was clean but could have done with a refurb i.e furniture a litle tired and the TV needed replacement. The Air Con worked fine and needed to as every day was 45 Deg. The Room had a Digital safe you can programme to keep you valuables in. The Hotel has a main Lobby where there are Sofa chairs and tables ( there are not enough of these and getting a chair sometimes was difficult ) this is where the main bar is. In the evening there is a que for drinks. If you go outside to the Pool Bar there is no que but it's outside and Hot Hot Hot. We spent time in the Pool Bar mostly at night. The Hotel has a main dining area down the stairs where you eat your meals. There is another restaurant and pub kind of Room but you pay in these. In the restaurant downstairs we found the food to be acceptable although a little repatative very nice. One point to make is that this is not the Med and for great service you need to tip the waiters. We rewarded good service and had water waiting for us and got to know the waiters very well. They are all polite,curtious and we were sad to leave. As far as entertainement goes there was a young team of 6 or so young people entertaining the kids and adults. They have 'mini disco' , water polo and the Hotel has a small amphitheature an puts some entertaineent on (it's not the best but they do their very best and in the case of Femme orchistra its so bad it's good ). There are movies played in the pool bar every night on a projector screen and Nama bay with the nightife and nightclub is only 20 mins away by taxi. Regarding the Taxi's the Hotel has a desk for Taxi's but while we were there a couple of people got let down on the pick up. The Hotel runs a free bus in the mornings. If you walk out of the Hotel Taxi's pull over and ask you if you want one. It's 'wacky races' and I suggest you only get into the Blue and White Licensed ones and agree the price before you get in. That's important ! . If you go into a shop nothing is priced and they don't want to let you out until you buy something... it's hard for us brits but barter hard and don't be afraid to walk out or keep moving. There are two shops in the Hotel very nice no real hassle but there more expensive. Tipping : We started off with the odd pound coin but they will take these and be very greatfull but can't change them. We changed about 15 pound coins back into a English notes for some staff so that they could change the money to Egyption. Don't take loads of pound coins as they are no use to the people there. The Hotel has a Cash Till in the Lobby that took my Visa Debit no problem and at the end of the Hotel drive there's an HSBC on the right and another bank on the left . The Hotel also has a bank in the lobby that will change english notes. The exchange rate there was 9.0 to the pound here it was 7.6 take a few Egyption but I would change my money there as I needed to. Each time we used the cash till we got charged a couple of pounds on our bank statement. Across the road there is a Burger Kind, MacDonalds, Supermarket and some Cafe's and shops. If you get on a Camel in the street you will need to pay to get off it. We booked some trips through Arron Waves on the Beach ( Hotel has it's own Beach section ) had good trip that was much cheaper than the Tour Operator ( Sam the Man you know who you are ). Beach has sun loungers and a Bar serving snacks. You will get approached around the pool , Beach etc for trips , spa and news papers. When we said no it was fine..we found we got more hassle on the Beach but it's ok. Dont go walking on the beach at night. We saw no trouble but it's a little isolated ( 20min walk through the Hotel Gardens ). There are 3 pools and sun loungers go very early but they become free later in the day. In Summary going with an open mind we had a great time in this adequite complex. It's well placed for location and quiet. We had a very good time and would go back again. Enjoy yourself expect to tip for great service and any 'tummy trouble' go to the Chemist again across the road for some medication ( £8) ish for tablets. All in all we enjoyed it very much and were most happy with the Hotel and the location. Some Hotels have nothing around them at all. Don't worry and the money you saved buy the legroom seats..oh one last point on Visa's unless you are going to Cairo or outside the Sinei pennsula you don't need one. You get permission to stay in Sharm stampted in your pasport that's your visa for that area. Check depending where you plan to go if you need one. There £13 each and customs would like you to buy one but if you only plan to stay around sharm and surrounding area you don't need one. Enjoy your Holiday....and a special thank you to Lisa the rep who was great and very very helpful indeed...thanks Lisa

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,993 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    769
    606
    305
    182
    131
See reviews for
617
758
41
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (380)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
KENT
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2010

I travelled to this hotel with my husband and five year old son between the 19th July and 3rd August 2010. This was our first trip to Egypt and having read the reviews contemplated changing hotels more than once. Decided to give it a go and overall glad we stuck with it as for the price we paid (£700 for 3 of us) we got what we paid for. It definately was not as awful as the really bad reviews make out so if you are going and you are not fussy then go with it. If your holiday is about you being spoiled, gastromic delights and class then this place is not for you. Pay a good few hundred more and hopefully you will get what you pay for. If you want a basic all inclusive holiday that keeps you fed and watered but has some nice general facilities then you won't go far wrong if you get it for a good price.

LOCATION: The hotel is spacious with lovely grounds and suroundings. Plenty of shops, restaurants and bars across the road including, TGI, MacDonalds, Burger King, KFC, Chinese, Italian and many more. Good supermarket and banks just outside the hotel. We felt really safe and did not get much hastle. We got totally ripped off by the Camel Man outside the hotel as we did not agree a price before we got on. We ended up paying almost £50 for a trot up and down the road. Felt rather stupid after, but you live and learn.

Lovely beach (shingle) with shallow sea. Great if you want to splash about or for kids not so good if you want to snorkle. I did see a yellow and red sea snake in the shallow water, clearly running away in a frenzied panic was probably not the best solution but made me feel better.

3 swimming pools, the one by the beach was lovely, quiet and our choice for the holiday. The main pool, which we nick named the Dirty Pool was pretty rotten. Rather large, dirty in the pool and outside. The loud music mentioned in many reviews at this pool is no exageration. Having said that those who chose to bathe there appeared to enjoy it, especially the teens, it really depends on your preferred choice. There is another newly built pool, looked nice but we did not try it out. Always a lack of sunbeds at pools but no issues on the beach. You had no choice but to lay your towels out, we hated doing this but this was the only way (other than tipping pool lads) that you would get shade and beds. Drinks often warm, this became a regular theme throughout the holiday. Unlimited bottled water was great but again often warm.

FOOD, RESTAURANT AND SERVICE
Staff were unpredictable. Some polite, charming and even funny staff whilst others were moody and rude. We were often spoken to rudely in the restaurant when trying to find a table with some waiters refusing to allow us a table as they were clearly keeping them empty for guests who were tipping them. Getting a table during most meals was a chore. Unless you get there at opening time for every meal be prepared to hunt for a clean table and cutlery in the main restaurant. None of us became ill during the holiday although my husband had a slightly iffy tummy. The food areas were always clean and food warm. Choice was limited and uninspired. We got bored really early on, some evenings I just ate bread and pasta.

The food is ok for a general base for basic meal times but not a treat as it should be on holiday. The beach bar food was the same every day, chips, burger and salad. Unless you are staying deluxe the buffet is the only restaurant in the evening available to you without charge.

The main pool bar served toasted sandwiches that were nice. This is not the best all inclusive as you have to hunt down a snack or food. In general the food on offer was limited and you had to visit various locations in the hotel grounds depending on what you wanted. Ice cream was only servced between 12 and 3pm at the main pool. No food available at the other pool bars. It is more like full board, with drinks and some extras???

Our room was not one of the new refurbished ones and was in need of it, but was really clean and nice enough. Cleaners did a great job. Our only complaint was we only ever got two towels. The water was always yellow but this did not concern us. Always had hot water and good water pressure in shower. Room large and and five star by any standards but comfortable enough. Shame the beds were to soft with no support, caused us back aches sadly.

If you have booked this hotel and are not fussy then do not worry as it is not that bad. It has some major annoynace points whilst you are there, my husband hated most of it.

My last tip is If this is a special holiday and you go thinking you are going to get spoiled in five star luxury you will be bitterly disapointed. Pay the extra and go somewhere else.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2010

GOOD,
For the whole time we were there the staff could not do enough for us. Always willing to help if there was a problem. The Food and Beverage manager was excellent. We had been given a room in the old block. Yes it needed a little updating but we could not complain about it. The room was massive. Even though there were two of us we had two king size beds. The balcony was facing the main pool. Every day the room was cleaned and fresh towels were provided. We did see the new rooms and they are beautiful so if you can request them then go for it. The food was fine. There was always enough to eat. The waiters were very friendly. (Mahmood "Eddie" & Zakeria) Yes, as we were there for two weeks it did get a bit boring at times, however, it is well cooked and well presented. Alot of people say they had bad stomachs but is was not the food, but purley the heat. At time it went to 50 degrees. If you would like to go out and eat there are plenty of Restuarants. One in particular was the Three Crowns. (10 min walk to the left of the hotel " The steak there is amazing and so cheap. Definately worth going to. They also had a new gym at the resort, excellent facilites for the keen people who want to do some training.
BAD
One of our criticisms of the hotel was the bar situation. Due to one room being damaged there was only one bar with ONE beer pump. Sometimes the queues were terrible. However a new room it being completed and is due to open the second week of August.
TERRIBLE
The one thing that we thought was awful was the entertainement in the evening. The so called "animation" team were simply terrible. There was nothing for the adults and nothing for children. The worst we have ever seen. Seriously, words cannot describe how bad the "ANIMATION" team are. They cannot entertain - they just stand at the top of a flight of stairs smiling and that is it - useless.

Before i forget dont accept drinks (fruit juices) on trays around the pool as you have to pay for them even though we were all inclusive.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2010

This is a great hotel i dont understand how people can say anything bad about the staff you get great service from loads of them from nimo the pool guy also shetah even alex the bar man whos always smiling then youv got eddie murphy the waiter with zac and theyre always happy to help and within one day i had met many people sure theres not much to do at ngiht time but im 15 and once id met loads of people it was great if you want to be doin stuff at night time go to somewhere like namma bay not here im only 15 and to be perfectly honest this is one of the best hotels iv been to the animation team during the day are great playing games like killer pool and water polo i would reccomend this hotel to anyone

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spalding, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2010

We have just returned from a week here and can't wait to go back, the staff are excellent and can't do enough for you, food was brilliant we never went hungry, the beach was fab as were the pools. The shops across the road are good especially Pams because everything is priced and you don't get hassled. I overheard some other guests complaining that they were hungry as the they said the food was bad and you couldn't get a full english breakfast especially bacon!!!! do these people not realise they are not in England or Spain but they are in fact in Egypt which is a predominately muslim country who do not eat pork which includes bacon!!! if these people want a full english then stay in Britain or go to Spain!!!!! If you get a chance to go to the beach party on Tuesday night it's really good. The rooms are spacious and cleaned every day with the towels being changed as well.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timisoara, Romania
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2010

I have stayed at this hotel in the month of July, it is the second time we stay there while being in Egypt. We have chosen this hotel for the beach which rather has sand than stones, the sea ( water is nice and calm , not deep at all - perfect for kids), clean and quiet rooms, and the location (right across LA Strada so no need to take taxis to go to other places for shopping). The rooms are spotless, spacious and pleasant, we have stayed in the new wing this time, but as far as I remember the old part is the same. Swimming pools could have been cleaner, I refer mainly to the fact that the water was not treated properly.The beach is indeed a bit far from the hotel, but it is quiet and nice It is a 10 min walk through the lovely garden to the beach, so it won't kill you.
One thing that I could not stand about this hotel is the food. It is really bad, if you ask me. I mean one can presume a chef can be more creative than that.
The other "problem" if you ask me are the Russians (ignorant, pushy people), and some of the Brits ( kids that lack education with no elementary manners).
As for the employees, they are friendly, and if you tip them ( not much, just from time to time) they become super friendly and willing to help you.
The animation team was poor this time, not too inventive, nor too friendly (lots of Russian animation guys). The minidisco - boring in my opinion, but my kids loved it.

Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2010

Just got back from 2 weeks at the Oriental Resort. Arrived late at night and checked in quickly. We were put in the new block which was stunning. We used the pool at the back of this block which had only been open around a month which was very clean and tidy.

The food was nice although sometimes repetitive but a very wide selection each day.

Went quad biking in the desert.. this was the best part of my holiday, also visited tiran island to snorkel and we also saw lots of dolphins. (BOOK WITH ARRON WAVES DOWN ON THE BEACH) they took really nice photos whilst on the boat and snorkelling for which we paid 150LE (between 4 of us)

You must bargin on the price everytime.. we paid £70 each to do the aquapark, banana boat, quad bikes, sand buggies and the private speedboat to tiran island. Although at fist they wanted near enough £200.

The spa in the hotel is also very good, we had a Coconut scrub on the second day which lasted around an hour for £30 ( You can also use the sauna, steam room and Jacuzzi) Again, in the first instance they wanted £70.

The hotel is very clean, the staff cant do enough for you and the cleaners dont stop ( they even polish the ashtrays!!)

Ignore negative reviews .. some people are never satisfied!!

Look forward to returning!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Oriental Resort Sharm El Sheikh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oriental Resort Sharm El Sheikh

Address: Nabq Bay | South Sinai, Nabq Bay, Sharm El Sheikh 002069, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh > Nabq Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Nabq Bay
#15 Family Hotel in Nabq Bay
#16 Top resorts Hotel in Nabq Bay
#17 Luxury Hotel in Nabq Bay
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Nabq Bay
#18 Romantic Hotel in Nabq Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Oriental Resort Sharm El Sheikh 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oriental Resort offers a unique location facing Tiran island, where natural beauty is coupled with timeless architectural style. This elegant five star hotel is embraced by the spectacular desert land and seascape of the protected area Nabq Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Oriental Resort Sharm El Sheikh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oriental Resort Sharm El Sheikh Hotel Nabq Bay
Oriental Hotel Nabq
Oriental Resort Nabq
Oriental Resort Sharm El Sheikh Egypt - Nabq Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oriental Resort Sharm El Sheikh, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.