We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Oriental Resort Sharm El Sheikh

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Oriental Resort Sharm El Sheikh to your Saves list
Oriental Resort Sharm El Sheikh
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Nabq Bay | South Sinai, Nabq Bay, Sharm El Sheikh 002069, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 29 Hotels in Nabq Bay
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good value for money”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

I have just come back from a holiday at The Oriental in Nabq and as a repeater guest I have noticed that the standards have slipped. The rooms definately need refurbishing and so does the beach bar but theres nothing that cannot be resolved. The main reason we return to the Oriental is because of the staff. The waiters and bar staff are lovely especially Zak from the restaurant a lovely guy who was genuinely nice. However the entertainment was lacking and we especially missed JeJe from the kids club who was fantastic and made our sons holiday last October, he had fallen in love with her. Overall a good cheap and cheerful holiday and to be honest you can't go wrong with the price that you pay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,286 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    932
    685
    341
    192
    136
See reviews for
714
857
54
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (453)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

I have stayed at the Oriental 3 times in the past year - May 2012, December 2012 and January 2013 and have seen standards slip, which is sad!

On our first visit, me and my friend had a fab time, nothing was too much trouble from the staff and as 2 single girls, you could have a laugh with the staff. The staff were really what made the trip. We didn't upgrade our room on the first trip and had no problems, the room was spacious, bit tired in terms of decor but ok, seeing as you don't spend all day in there.

Having had s great holiday in May we decided to go back for Christmas. As you would expect, the hotel was busy, but we noticed more that staff would ask for tips to do things and the hotel wanted you to pay for gala dinners over the Christmas period. This time we paid to upgrade our room and loved the room on the new wing, ground floor, opposite the pool. We had a good 10 days and decided to go back at the end of January.

When we returned at the end of January, many of the old staff had left and those who remained weren't happy. This is apparently all down to a new manager. The hotel is looking very tired, staff uniforms are poor and fraying as are the table cloths in the restaurant.

The food has always been good, there is something for everyone and there is choice. The quality isn't 5 star but we didn't pay 5 star prices so didn't expect is. The Italian restaurant is amazing, food quality really good and service good.

There are 3 pools and we used 2 of them. Didn't use main pool as wanted some peace. The heated pool is good and has the best sun beds but the quiet pool on the new wing was our favourite for relaxation, not so many sales people hassling you.

With regards to the bar, most of the staff are brilliant, apart from Karam. Found him very rude and obnoxious. He would walk away as he saw us coming to the bar and was also rude to some friends we had made. Other guests told us that he is only nice to you if you tip him daily. There seems to be a lack of glasses at the bar so they tend to try and give you plastic tumblers. Refuse and they will find you a glass. This is poor and not what you would expect.

We always sat in the restaurant on the side of Eddie Murphy, Zak and Hany and they really looked after us and not once did they ask for tips. They do filter the guests and tend to encourage the Brits to sit on their side.

One other thing to look out for is the guy that runs around as the sun goes down fumigating the grounds. Great that they do this but the stuff stinks, get indoors when you see or hear him coming.

Over all, the hotel isn't bad if you get a deal, but we have noticed a decline and for my next trip I will try one of the other hotels, don't think the Oriental is as good as it was.

Room Tip: Rooms starting with 4 are in the new wing and are worth the upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanaa W, Manager at Oriental Resort Sharm El Sheikh, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
I would like to thank u for spending time on Trip Advisor for writing down your feedback, and we as Management apologize for any irresponsible behavior raised form any of our staff.
Concerning the matter of tips, we did a report with the Human Resources and the necessary action was taken in this respect as the guy has already warning letter in his file.
Concerning the table clothes and uniform, new collection is already under purchase.
We are looking forward to welcome u again at Oriental Resort, pls in case u decide do not hesitate to send me directly.
Best regards,
Sanaa Aziz
P.A. to G.M
Quality Controller
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I read on trip advisor some of the reports and mostly were good with some poor. Having visited the hotel on Feb 16 2013 for a week I am happy to report the hotel was very good. Good points include ; Value for money, good food with plenty of choice, good location next to the new 'Hard Rock Cafe' and 'Bus Stop' Bars (free WiFi), friendly waiters and garden staff, clean rooms (kept clean) and very nice gardens. A few bad points; free shuttle bus only runs in morning when shops are shut otherwise you pay!!!!, surly staff on hotel taxi counter, beach equipment was rather poorly maintained, generally hotel is starting to look 'tired and needs some renovation and not supplying bottled water in rooms. After checking in we did have a problem with the balcony door missing a lock but moved rooms to another which was OK.
Otherwise I would recommend this hotel as a good value for money hotel.

Room Tip: Try to get rooms facing the pool as any wind noise is reduced as you are in the lee of the buildings
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

Loved this hotel. Loved everyone in it, the staff were amazing. They made everyone feel so welcome and feel safe. Was heartbreaking leaving to go home. Miss the animation team very much as they were fab! I would recommend this to everyone! I want to go back. :(

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

we have been to this hotel once again 21 days away from the lousy english weather first few day were abit naff but the sun came out and we really enjoyed it,met a few more nice poeple some we knew from earlier holidays and new ones having there first taste of EGPYT, SOME WERE DUBIOUS about it due to the television news ref the trouble but we assured them it was ok .Now to the sad part we are not gong back to this hotel our own fault really we became part of the fittings some staff were not so up front with us (to familar) Two imparticular poeple were down right rude ,one made a good night shift manager but a lousy front desk manager ,the reception area is your first call in any hotel but this guy is 6ft tall so he looks down on you in every sense of the word ,passes you and does not nod ,smile, sorry but thats not what we are used to in the oriental hotel,The other one PIT STOP bar employee he was and is the most unliked person i have come across we have been to the Oriental 20 times he shook my hand the day we left when he heard we were not going back even commented you are sure you don'nt come back what time you go.A big let down i must admit but Egpyt is a big place a nice place with really nice poeple shame two poeple had to make the differrence for us .thankyou Oriental Resirt for the good times

Room Tip: ask for new block facing the new pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanaa W, Manager at Oriental Resort Sharm El Sheikh, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
I read your comment on Trip Advisor, I am really very sorry for that u feel not happy with 2 staff attitude.
Dear guest,
I investigated in the matter, The one of Pit Stop named Karam and he defensed himself by saying that it was a kind of joke and u know that the Egyptians like to say jokes maybe it's not understood by other nationalities but he apologizes for u and The F&B Manager gave him a misconduct. For the tall man of 6 feet , it's Mohamed Fahmi , Assistant Front Office Manager he is the palm tree of the hotel, I don't understand what is the problem with him except that he is not smiling, I talked to him and he do apologize for u too.
We are look forward to see u again.
Sanaa Aziz
Personal Assistant to G.M
Quality Controller
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

Travelled to the Oriental last May. It was the first holiday my partner and I had had together and for the price it was fab. I struggle to see what people expect for the price bracket this hotel is in. The food was fine, be careful and stay away from the salads or anything that might have needed local water to be cooked in/made. It's this that gives you a dicky tummy (and the rum&cokes from 10.30am!!!). Basically don't be a 'Brit abroad', it's hot so drink wisely and have lots of bottled water and you'll be fine.

The room was huge, with a lovely view of the sea. We tipped our lovely cleaner every day as he did a fab job - fresh towels, thoroughly cleaned, new toiletries, extra tea and coffee etc etc. The staff in the restaurant were great. We loved Eddie, again we tipped him regularly as he looked after us. We were always given nice tables and served our drinks.

We preferred the quiet pool at the bottom, the staff down there can only be described as amazing. Our sun beds were reserved for us even before we got there, Sherif had it all covered! Our drinks were topped up before we even new they were running low!

The only negative I'd say is that the constant sales patter from the spa, the dive centre and 'Bob Marley' got a bit annoying and Bob Marley doesn't like the word no! We just wanted to relax and he got a little pushy. The bar staff on the beach bar were also quite arrogant and pervy. Other than these guys the staff were fab.

If it's fun in the sun on a decent budget you're looking for this is the place. Just please please please be nice, the staff try hard and don't drink it because it's free and become a plonker!

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontefract / featherstone
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

we visited the oriental for my birthday,ok where do i start,quick check in and we got an upgrade into the new block lovely spacious rooms but ever so quite around the pool and also the pool bar only serves soft drinks (when there is someone there) so you had to go to the reception bar for a beer,the main recepion on first view looks very impressive howvever once in there and sat having a drink you can see its looking very tired and needs some attention buffet breakfast dinner and evening meal extremely un clean in the way that the other guest would handle the food with their hands and not use the tongs provided however the tongs were full of every other food on the buffet you can always find somethung to eat there the meats were not red hot and chicken under cooked the cakes on the buffet were plentiful but again handled all the time by the guests, the service received ws ok but if you were female the service improved ten fold if you are a male waiting to be served at the bar be prepred for a waite the drinks (spirits)are very weak but you can purchase named brands (and i thought this was ll inclusive) the beer and the rd wine was fine though the beach bar and the main pool bar was dirty and had cockroaches the walk to the beach was pleasant however the beach wasnt ,made of grit and not nice, now for the staff male staff were rude and ignorant unless you was female mr eddie murphy looked after us well and i suspect from previous reviews he uses the same story to get tips,the one where he is leaving on the sunday to go to cairo to the british embassy get to papers so he can come with his english girlfriend and live in manchester its always manchester? any way when challenged about why hes not gone the embassy was closed of course it was [--] so be aware if you want to tip its your choice and everyone wants tips especially the coach driver who with leave your case while the end if you dont,just get it yourself,that was maybe my problem i didnt tip and dont tip unless i feel the service warrents it if it does i tip well but be aware they expect it .
out the complex contant hassle from shop owners who dont take no for an answer just be firm with then and rude if you need to be,as they will try and touch the females if you let them its seems that they expect to touch( I Dont think so) outside there are cash machines tgi fridays,burger king ,a steak house,and sports bars

would i go back NO would i recomend this hotel NO

please make up your own mind as i have given a true account of our stay and speaking to others who wouldnt re visit, i dont mean to sound negative as we are not a fussy couple who pretty much can enjoy most things and places

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanaa W, Manager at Oriental Resort Sharm El Sheikh, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Dear Guest,
First, I would like to thank u for spending time in writing down your feedback which is useful for the Management helping us to improve service in case of need.
Concerning the new quiet Pool Bar , we started to serve hot drinks as of March and there is no need to go to the lobby bar to have your hot drinks.
Concerning the tongs, the F & B Manager has been informed to take care of this matter in each meal as it's not acceptable at all.
Concerning the under cooked chicken, the Executive Chef has been informed and he will take care of that matter.
The Pest Control Company has been changed already with another company and we follow up with the new one to improve the service.
Concerning the tips, we already took the necessary action with staff involved in this matter.
I would like to apologize for u but I would also prefer that u mention your comments during your stay in order not to let u go from the hotel with any negative point.
Pls if u decide to come back do not hesitate to send me directly.
Best regards,
Sanaa Aziz
P.A to G.M
Quality Controller
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Oriental Resort Sharm El Sheikh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oriental Resort Sharm El Sheikh

Address: Nabq Bay | South Sinai, Nabq Bay, Sharm El Sheikh 002069, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh > Nabq Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Nabq Bay
#14 Family Hotel in Nabq Bay
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Nabq Bay
#15 Spa Hotel in Nabq Bay
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Nabq Bay
#15 Luxury Hotel in Nabq Bay
#16 Romantic Hotel in Nabq Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Oriental Resort Sharm El Sheikh 5*
Number of rooms: 380
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oriental Resort offers a unique location facing Tiran island, where natural beauty is coupled with timeless architectural style. This elegant five star hotel is embraced by the spectacular desert land and seascape of the protected area Nabq Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Oriental Resort Sharm El Sheikh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oriental Resort Sharm El Sheikh Hotel Nabq Bay
Oriental Hotel Nabq
Oriental Resort Nabq
Oriental Resort Sharm El Sheikh Egypt - Nabq Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oriental Resort Sharm El Sheikh, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.