We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“CRAP FOOD , WAS NOT WORTH THE MONEY !” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Oriental Resort Sharm El Sheikh

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Oriental Resort Sharm El Sheikh to your Saves list
Oriental Resort Sharm El Sheikh
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Nabq Bay | South Sinai, Nabq Bay, Sharm El Sheikh 002069, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 29 Hotels in Nabq Bay
Worcester, United Kingdom
1 review
“CRAP FOOD , WAS NOT WORTH THE MONEY !”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

i have just came back from oriental resort with my family and fiancee 19th september 2012 , my mother michelle homans was apart of the party too!!!

The food at this hotel was appalling and requesting for chips is terrible!! ,We has stayed for a week and me and my partner could not walk down the stairs any time to the resturant all you could smell was calarmari, There were many occasions when myself and my parents or fiancee had to run to the toilet most likely due to waiters washing the glasses out with tap water which is very un hygenic!! We arrived home on the 19th and i still have a dodgey stomach , the resturant needs a chef that can actualy cater for english people , they served chips at dinner time but not night time its ment to be the other way round LOL!

i Would defiantly say eat or even stay at the holiday village red sea there food is amazing we had payed to eat there because we spoke to there manager and they said we couldn't move there because we didn't travel with first choice which we knew we couldn't anyway that why we didn't complain at the hotel as that is the only place we wanted to go ! we had been waited on hand and foot when we arrived at the holiday village it was horrible knowing we were returning to the oriental that night !!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,286 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    932
    685
    341
    192
    136
See reviews for
714
857
54
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (453)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

My wife, daughter & son in law have just returned from the Oriental Resort Nabq Bay. 28/8/2012.14 days of sunshine,good food,first class animation team led by TOTTI &co. Just a little message to Mr Sanaa Wassef , Dear sir I really think some one ought to observe and retrain the bar staff and supervisors in good manners and behaviour around GUESTS trying to enjoy a drink without them removing said glass whilst in use ,my family and I have been in the hotel & leisure industry for25+ years before retirement and never ever have i seen such a poor excuse for so called staff in my life.
Also repeatedleyrunning out ot beer,cups,glasses, & cutlery is poor planning by somebody.

Room Tip: any room you choose will not get you away from climbig a lot of steps totally invalid and handicap...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
durham
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Went first in June 2012, had a great time and went back in September with the family. Its a fantastic hotel, the staff are fantastic, Eddy Murphy and Omar in the restaraunt. Mamoodah on reception (bag handler). The hotel is very clean and tidy (the only thing that needs some attention is, more regular pool cleaning) Food is very good, always something different to eat, it is in a central location, lots of shops outside the hotel with lots of food places available if you want a change. The staff definetly make this one of the best hotels in Sharm, they are friendly, helpful and always happy to help. We took the mother-in-law with us and she uses an electric scooter and there was never a problem getting her between floors to pool/restaraunt/shops etc. We have made some great friends with the staff and they will always have a warm welcome for you. The rooms are very clean and tidy, regular bedding and towels changed, cleaned daily, not a single problem. I can not speak highly enough for this hotel, it was an absolute pleasure to revisit and we will be definelty be returning. we visit Sharm 2X per year and this is the first hotel that we have been back to and would recommend a visit to anyone. We had a great, relaxing holiday and im sure anyone visiting will have an equally good experience.

Room Tip: Good rooms overlooking the main pool. New wing more superior rooms, but may cost a little more. Grou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

This was my 8th visist to the hotel and whilst this is by no means a 5 star hotel, the staff are brilliant.
There has been some upgrades since last year with the promise of a new beach bar soon as this is overdue.
The accondation is pleasent, food exceptional and sunshine all day to boot.
All this for about £25 per head/day..cant be bad

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

I stayed in the deluxe room with a garden view, the room was perfect and spotless! All the staff are so friendly and are happy to help with anything. We didn't use the main pool instead we used the smaller pool with a swim-up bar, it was great as there was not very many other people. Food was nice, and unlike other reviews we didn't get ill off it and there was lots to choose from. Loved the mini disco on a night, and the shops inside the hotel were helpfull:) Amazing hotel!

Room Tip: i would definitely recommend up grading to the deluxe room, very modern and clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

just got back from the oriental resort last night and is still ill , infact we are all ill with bad stomach,s, arrived at the hotel on 12 sept first immpression was good but soon went downhill asked to be in new block had to pay 140 pounds to upgrade 2 rooms which were nice and new with a pool veiw so good, went down to tea there were only 4 hot things to eat vile food we went to burger king over the road which was lush , the hotel doesnt do chips at evenin meal atall strange really , breakfast was ok if you like eggs , dinner was also rubbish , they ran out of glasses and cups on a number of days rubbish hotel cant cope atall and rinsed them out in tap water , the waiters in the resterant seem to have there favourite guests who have proberly tiped to save tables for them ,we could not find one and when we asked for one they just looked said cant help so annoying and damn right rude, we stayed at coral sea in may and went there for a meal paying 77 pound for 4 people so different from the we were staying at, plEASE AVOID THIS HOTEL ITS NOT WORTH THE MONEY,go to coral sea you get treated great there

Room Tip: new rooms a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanaa W, Manager at Oriental Resort Sharm El Sheikh, responded to this review, September 22, 2012
Dear Michelle,

I am very astonished to hear your complaint on Trip Advisor, we did not receive any complaint during your stay at the hotel.
First I would like to state that there is no doubt concerning food hygiene, we have the winner certificate in South Sinai concerning Food Hygiene , the certificate issued by Cristal British Company, u can check your selves on the following website : www.checksafetyfirst.com
Second, u paid for standard room but if you ask for upgrade one it's normal to pay extra.
For the french fries, we serve it in lunch only but if u ask for at dinner ,I am sure they serve a special plate for u but we serve another kinds of potatoes at dinner meal.
We are looking to welcome u again.
Thank u & best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for 2 weeks, 2-16th Sept, already wishing i was back there.

Had a fantastic time :)

Staff there are amazing! Working really hard & always providing service with a smile! Even our room cleaner Mohamed was a star!

Looked after by 4 waiters in the restaurant! 3 Mohamed's & Amir... they look after the restaurant to the left side... highly recommended. Good choice of food most nights & I am a fussy eater :)

Each of our party (of 4) suffered with an upset stomach @ some point during our stay but i don't think its the food.. on my last visit to Egypt i suffered n we werent at the oriental 1st time round.. its probably a combination of things Ie heat, dehydration, water etc

People who have high expectations need to remember how much they paid to stay here... we'd struggle to book a week half board in the UK for the price we paid 2 weeks all inclusive!

Hotels in a fab location for shopping, bars, restaurants! And if ur planning to book any excursions u must see Lido @ happy tours which is not far from the hotel. Read his reviews on here for the evidence! We did 4 fantastic trips with him... My faves were Quad biking (taken in your own private group) & the trip to Aqua Park!! (Not Cleo Park).

Don't worry about the negative reviews (i did & it was unjustified). Have a fab holiday like we did.

Hope to go back to the Oriental in future :)

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Oriental Resort Sharm El Sheikh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oriental Resort Sharm El Sheikh

Address: Nabq Bay | South Sinai, Nabq Bay, Sharm El Sheikh 002069, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh > Nabq Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Nabq Bay
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Nabq Bay
#14 Family Hotel in Nabq Bay
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Nabq Bay
#15 Luxury Hotel in Nabq Bay
#15 Spa Hotel in Nabq Bay
#16 Romantic Hotel in Nabq Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Oriental Resort Sharm El Sheikh 5*
Number of rooms: 380
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oriental Resort offers a unique location facing Tiran island, where natural beauty is coupled with timeless architectural style. This elegant five star hotel is embraced by the spectacular desert land and seascape of the protected area Nabq Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Venere, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Oriental Resort Sharm El Sheikh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oriental Resort Sharm El Sheikh Hotel Nabq Bay
Oriental Hotel Nabq
Oriental Resort Nabq
Oriental Resort Sharm El Sheikh Egypt - Nabq Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oriental Resort Sharm El Sheikh, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.