We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel but not five star” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sea Gardens

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Sea Gardens to your Saves list
Sea Gardens
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Nabq Bay, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 29 Hotels in Nabq Bay
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Good hotel but not five star”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2011

We have just returned from the Sea garden hotel. We booked this hotel almost soley based on the very positive reviews posted on trip advisor. We were looking for a luxurious honeymoon taking our three year old son with us. We were sold this holiday by our travel operator as a five star hotel so we were disappointed with the qualiy of the rooms. The rooms them selves are huge and we had paid for an upgrade to a family suit (Which probably was a waste of money as the normal room is nearly as big with two rooms). They are well appointed but the rooms are tired and dated. The bathroom was of a very poor standard and although the house keeper did his best the room never felt or looked particularly clean. The outside areas however are a complete contrast, with the whole resort immaculatly kept. The pool areas are excellent. The beach is also great with an amazing array of tropical fish to be seen in the reef on it. It is a shame that salesmen for an array of services constantly patrol the pool and beach areas trying to sell you trips etc and as mentioned in other reviews you can just say no politely but this did get tiring given the frequency which you are approached. The snorkeling off the beach is worth staying here alone it was quite incredible. There is a wide variety of food available at the buffet restaurants but it wasnt always of the best quality. It felt like the emphasis was on providing a huge range of food and less on providing quality. I suppose this is understandable as the hotel is trying to cater for the palates of all the nationalities who stay here. We did suffer gastric problems but in fairness it is possible this was due to the heat rather than the food. The staff at the hotel are its biggest asset and In partiular the restaurant staff couldnt do enough for us.
In short this is a good 3/4* hotel and is a good place for families to stay. If we had been sold this as such we would have been more satisfied but that is our holiday providers fault not the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

553 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    339
    152
    40
    15
    7
See reviews for
257
167
7
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011

stayed at sea garden. Everything was clean but sofas in rooms and floor matts were shabby. Most of the staff lovely especially Rusha lady in restaurant and Mina who worked in lobby bar and pool bar. Very helpful. Man who cleaned pool had a serious attitude problem towards women but he was the only one. As soon as friend turned up attitude changed. Lots of different bars in other two resorts so never short of something to do. Only other problem was they would only give you one key per room so if someone went walkabout for a few hours you could not get in your room. Taxi service was good and drivers were reliable. If you booked a pick up they always turned up on time to collect you. Would recomend to others

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ormskirk
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2011

stayed here for a week in june with 2 of my best girlfriends, it was an amazing holiday and that was purely down to the standard of this hotel.

there are three hotels on site, the sea life and the sea gardens and the sea club, the food is pretty much the same in all three and good quality foor considering the price and it being all inclusive, i would recommend the sea club for food choice and all the waiters were lovely, taking the time to learn our names and memorising our drinks each night!!!

there are plenty of pools to choose from, all of them are gorgeous and there are plenty of sun loungers, we didnt have any problems with people 'reserving' loungers, the beach is also lovely but be sure to wear reef shoes as the coral is sharp...the diving here is unbelievable and i cannot recommend a trip with the hotels dive club enough the guys were brilliant fun and we had an amazing day

my friends and i took mostly sterling money which they were happy to accept, most of the prices were given in euro's but like i said we had no problem paying in sterling (just not coins)

the spa is an absolute must,!! all sorts of brilliant massages and treatments that make you feel really pampered and a special mention to the room cleaners who were amazing (ours waited until lunchtime one day to clean our room because we slept in!) always leave little flowers and towel shapes on the beds

there is a good kids club on site (none of us have kids but it looked fun) but for the adults you can get a taxi into naama bay for a decent price, be sure to haggle, we paid 70 egyptian dollars for our journey which the reps said is about right!
overall an amazing hotel with lovely staff who were always pleasent and friendly! my first trip to egypt but most definatly will not be my last and yes i will go back to this hotel!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2011

Upon arrival great hotels a little in the middle of nowhere, so really are limited to the hotels, which there are 3 in total you can use all three during your stay.
Staff friendly, happy and helpful, rooms clean and large with a massive walk in shower.
nice sized pool and a wonderful large beach area and you can walk for miles on the beach as theres no other hotels around, fantastic snorkling although you had to stay on the inside of the reef and wernt able to go onto the sea side, due to the Sharks attacks which were a few months earlier, this didnt detract from any pleasure, a long jetty to walk along to the coral reef and the water was cristal clear so we saw loads of wonderful fish and my faverite puffer fish. one evening a group of dolfins swam right past us a few feet away amazing. plenty of bars around the complex serving all drinks and snakes plenty of shops and well priced products, only downful was the bar stopped serving free drinks on the dot of 11 and then you had to pay. the choice of food wasnt upto the standards of some hotels we have stayed in the salad section was very poor and i struggled to find anything fresh which was a disappointment as i like to try and eat healthily for lunch, some of the dishes just wernt appatising, im not a fussy eater and will eat or try almost anything but even i struggled to find something so stuck to pasta and soup and chips from the kiddies counter for the first few days then we both fell ill on the second day and no tummy tablets from the uk worked so failed to take advantage of the all inclusive as we couldnt eat or drink for the rest of the holiday spent a good part of the time in bed in pain and ill, hotel chemist gave us some tablets for ten pounds they helped but we both needed antibiotics upon return to uk to clear up the bug which took a further week.
we did get out on a boat trip and my partner went diving during the day which he totally loved and it was good value for money, we definately would not go back to this hotel im afraid it was very disappointing, the entertainment was dreadful and it was almost like the animation team couldnt be bothered in the evening although they were fun and got people up and joining in during the day all in all we didnt really have a great holiday which is a shame its one of those things, oh yes and we did get eaten alive by mossies they seem resistant to the uk sprays, sorry i dont usually moan as we go on at least three holidays a year this was difinately the worst

Room Tip: Rooms are all a good standard and lots with sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2011

Good food, clean rooms, clean beach, variety of entertainment. Very good for kids.
Thanks Rasha and Karam for a amazing atmosphere.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2011

Top food, accomadation, Staff and Location.
One of the best hotels I have stopped in, in Egypt.
Recomend.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Far North of England
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2011

We were looking for a good quality and value hotel to relax with good food to relax in for a week. If that's what you're looking for then this one is recomended. There are 3 hotels on one large site all with their own facilities. They are all owned by the Sea Group so if you are staying in any of them you can use all the other facilities. The whole site was underoccupied due to the trouble in the middle east - maybe about third full. We chose Sea Gardens and as a couple were allocated a large family room, the hotel's restaurant was, however, closed for a refurb.
The hotel was sparsely occupied although seemed to be filling up towards the end of our stay (end of March). The hotel's bar was also closed so therefore we used the facilities of the Sea Life hotel which is 50 yards walk away. The restaurant was schehuled to reopen mid April and was a lot smaller than those in the other two hotels. But we were not disappointed in the quality and range of food we sampled at the Sea Life restaurant.
As an all inclusive restaurant you should not expect cordon bleu cooking as part of the package - there are other specialist restaurants on the complex but all incur an extra charge and you woulod need to get a taxi or shuttle bus to get to an off site restaurant i.e. none in walking distance. But, honestly, for the week we were ther we didn't bother with anything but the buffet restaurant and out of the Sea Life and Sea Club would recommend Sea Life's restaurant. We place a lot of store on the quality of the food and service - we always felt there was enough choice and the quality was consistently high.
We have been to a few Sharm AI hotels and this is a good one. Elsewhere the staff we have generally found to be very friendly with a high quality of service - but here they are exceptional - we really noticed the difference.
The grounds are immaculate, the pools clean with comfy beds and the beach has umbrellas and beds. We preferred the beach away from the late afternoon animation around the pools.
So to sum up - we wouldn't hesitate to return.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sea Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Gardens

Address: Nabq Bay, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh > Nabq Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Nabq Bay
#3 Family Hotel in Nabq Bay
#4 Spa Hotel in Nabq Bay
#4 Luxury Hotel in Nabq Bay
#5 Romantic Hotel in Nabq Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sea Gardens 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com so you can book your Sea Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Gardens Hotel Nabq Bay
Sea Garden Hotel
Hotel Sea Garden
Sea Gardens Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt - Nabq Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sea Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.