We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“average accomodations” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Tren Dorado

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Riobamba
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Tren Dorado
Carabobo 2235 y 10 de Agosto, Riobamba 2235, Ecuador   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 13 hotels in Riobamba
Independence, Missouri
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“average accomodations”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011

Stayed here in June of 2010. The room was small as well as the bathroom. It was clean. Once in the front door of the hotel it is a bit of a hike to the room in a secluded courtyard. Stayed one night only. Did not really feel comfortable here, not sure why. The train was not running at the time of our visit.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    13
    30
    12
    1
    2
See reviews for
2
24
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

I have held back reviewing places in South America until I have travelled for several months (inculding 6 weeks in Ecuador) in order to, hopefully, give a fair review, in the context of the city, culture, price etc.

Price: Approx US $30 per night for a matromonial room for 2.

Bedrooms: Away from the street, the rooms are off internal courtyards, so are quiet. Tiled floors, hilariously tacky decor, good beds and bedding, some basic furniture. Good natural light, clean.

Bathroom: Average, clean, continuous good hot water. Towels and soap provided.

Hostel Services: Large dining room, separated from the bedrooms which is good. Buffet breakfast was the usual affair. Hilarious jungle theme. There was a tour agency in the Hostel, we booked the downhill biking day trip down Chimbarazo - it was amazing, professionally run, good value for money ($45 - 3000m decent!) and highly recommended. We also did the Valleys of Chimbarazo hike day trip which was also fantastic. Cable TV in the restaurant, free WiFi but no reception in the rooms.

Room service: Room service was daily and excellent.

Hostel Staff Service: Very good. Spoke a little english and were courtious and helpful.

Hostel Patrons: We didn't see anyone, except at breakfast, so the place was very quiet.

Location: Good central location near the train station (as the name implies), which is a good part of town.

Conclusion: Above average - we would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
257 reviews 257 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
169 helpful votes 169 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights. It is a nice hotel, the room was spacious as was the bathroom. It was clean and tidy. There's no safe in the room but the owner will put things in the safe in reception. The breakfast was adequate. It's central and if you're in the area, for the money you can't really fault it - USD 13 per person per night. I'd stay again if I was Riobamba.
We did go to Riobamba to catch the Devil's Nose Train but this is not going from Riobamba at this time (we were there in May) but from Alaussi, which is a lovely little town about 2 hours away by bus.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hässleholm
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2011

Rooms are spread out on three floors with large spacious courtyards. Plenty of places to sit and read. Can imagine that no two rooms are the same. Breakfast was excellent. Underground car parking was secure and much appreciated (although difficult to move around in -car- and a two person job to exit safely back onto the street !) Some good restaurants in the immediate area and hotel quite easy to find. We were there for 3 days ($25/night with bf for two) and look forward to returning. Friendly staff and interesting guests Will certainly use it as a base in the future.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2011

We stayed two nights in the Tren Dorado in Riobamba and enjoyed the great breakfast buffet.
The hotel also offers tours to the Chimborazzo, but this is a disappointing experience: a guided tour to the Chimborazzo Edward Whymper Refugio for 25 Dollars per person should not be calling a taxi that takes us there!
The rooms in the back surround a little garden and are clean and quiet, the bathroom is very nice and the shower has hot water.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2010

We stayed for two nights in Tren Dorado and couldn't have been more impressed!

In a somewhat grim and dirty city, this little gem stands out. The rooms in the courtyard (where we stayed) in particular were great and provided everything we wanted and more. We loved reading out in the little courtyard in the evenings and found the place very welcoming.

The staff were also very good - one chap in particular spoke very good English and was really friendly and could not do enough for us.

Breakfast was perhaps the only disappointment - it did not seem to include half the stuff it was supposed to (like eggs) but I guess it was just about OK.

All in all, for $10 per person, per night, we could not have been more pleased!

Tip: If you want to get your washing done, there is a really cheap place right next to the hostel who will do your washing for only 50 cents a pound, in just 3 hours.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2010

we stayed at this hotel only for one night, as we originally planned to take the tourist train to the devil´s nose (side note: the train is not running for at least another 3 months due to construction works. sitting on the roof is also no longer permitted). The hotel is conveniently located 1 minute from the train station and close to some restaurants etc. we had a room facing the street which was very noisy, so make sure you ask for a different room. the price for the night was 13usd p.p. including breakfast (granola, yoghurt, bread, fruits, coffee, tea and juice).
riobamba as a city is quite nice, but there is not a lot to be seen. if you do not plan to take the train, it might not be worth a visit...

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Tren Dorado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tren Dorado

Address: Carabobo 2235 y 10 de Agosto, Riobamba 2235, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Chimborazo Province > Riobamba
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 hotels in Riobamba
Also Known As:
Tren Dorado Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Tren Dorado, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hotel Tren Dorado to your Saves list