We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hacienda Abraspungo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hacienda Abraspungo to your Saves list
Hacienda Abraspungo
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Km. 3 1/2 Via Riobamba - Guano, Riobamba, Ecuador   |  
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary bottle of wine
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Riobamba
Luxembourg
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed in this hacienda for one night during our Andes Tour and were very happy with our stay. The rooms are spacious and clean with modern bathrooms and a nice fireplace. The patios are well-kept and the food was good. Breakfast was nice too. Definitely a good place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    52
    15
    9
    4
See reviews for
43
74
9
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

We arrived here late afternoon and left early the following morning for the Devil's Nose trip. It is a lovely setting , with the rooms facing out on to the inner gardens. The room was spacious with a comfy bed. The food was very good , it's a pity that we only had one night to eat here. There was someone playing the pan pipes to a backing track. The only problem was it was too loud but everywhere in Ecuador seems to like playing loud music.
We awoke to a cockerel crowing even though it wasn't dawn. Didn't really sample the breakfast as it was an early start and too early to do it justice.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

This was the only hotel that we stayed at this trip that offered ‘entertainment’ during dinner. It was awful – the singer used a loud backing track for his playing pan-pipes and other instruments with unnecessary amplification. He also sang out of tune. We finished our meal as quickly as possible and retreated.
We stayed one night, arrived quite late and left early in the morning – as did most of the other guests who we saw again on the Devil’s Nose railway. Our room was some distance from the main building and up some awkward stairs. It was comfortable and, for the short time we were there, quite adequate. Service was performed with few smiles and little effort. I would rate this a three star hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
225 reviews 225 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
144 helpful votes 144 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

We arrived in the late afternoon and stayed overnight on our way to the Devils Nose Railway. Our room was spacious, facing the inner courtyard and grass field. We enjoyed the chickens and roosters roaming the grounds and did not find them too noisy. They have a lovely patio area where we ordered a bottle of wine and enjoyed the scenery. The dinner and breakfast were both good and we thought it was a very nice place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willemstad, Curacao
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Beautiful hotel ! We had a huge bedroom ! Very comfortable bed and big bathroom. The hotel is very nicely decorated . We loved the food and in the evening the local handy craft market gave a very pretty atmospher .

Room Tip: We had a double room with two beds , normally we like the kingbed , but the advantage was that we ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

A nice quiet location. Our room faced the courtyard and was a little dark and noisy. Try to get one of the rooms facing the big open yard. The service was very prompt and friendly. Good buffet breakfast.

Room Tip: try not to get a courtyard room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Rooms were large and courtyards etc very romantic. Big fireplace in some rooms. With a fire burning when returning from dinner.
Unfortunately the electrical installations and the shower did not work well.

Restaurant was "famous" and dishes were also a bit extraordinary, but this is Ecuador so it still boils down to some beef or chicken with some accompanying potato/corn and a bit of vegetables.

Had a very early breakfast which probably does not represent what they serve at 6-7 or 8.
Also arrived late so may not be able to appreciate all that there may have been.
Free WiFi all over - at least sufficient for mails and simple surfing.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hacienda Abraspungo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Abraspungo

Address: Km. 3 1/2 Via Riobamba - Guano, Riobamba, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Location: Ecuador > Chimborazo Province > Riobamba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Riobamba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hacienda Abraspungo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The wonderful Hacienda Abraspungo is located at 2,754 metres above sea level and is surrounded by the magnificence of the Ecuadorian Andes. It is named after a glacial valley which is situated between the Chimborazo Volcano and Carihuairazo, in the exact centre of Ecuador.Hacienda Abraspungo, with its comfortable, charming and high level installations offers a personalized service in the ideal spot to enjoy the peace and beauty of the Andes. The architectural style found here offers the best of traditional colonial design often used in the ancestral mansions and haciendas of Ecuador. The Hacienda is adorned with old photographs and illustrations of Andean landscapes, which today constitutes as a testimony to eras gone by. The antiques on display in the social areas give a colonial flavour as well as a feel for the pre-Colombian cultures of the region. The visitor can truly appreciate the richness of the natural resources offered by the Chimborazo Province and Ecuador in general. Each room takes its name from one of the mountains of Ecuador. That mountain is shown in the photographs displayed within the interior design in the room. The owner’s commitment is to create a working environment which allows sustainable growth, enhancing positive image and generating an overall feeling of trust between the working force, the clients, and the community, aiming to become a point of reference within the tourist industry of Ecuador and the city of Riobamba. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hacienda Abraspungo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abraspungo Hotel Riobamba

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hacienda Abraspungo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.