We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hosteria La Andaluza

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hosteria La Andaluza to your Saves list
Hosteria La Andaluza
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Panamericana Norte, Km. 16 via a Quito | HACIENDA CHUQUIPOGYO, Riobamba, Ecuador   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Riobamba
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
90 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
“Loved it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

I stayed here as part of a tour with dinner and room included so cannot comment on price and value for money. The hacienda is stunning, dinner and breakfast were both good and my room was just wonderful. It isn't in Riobamba so not sure how accessible it is without your own transport.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaAndaluza, Gerente at Hosteria La Andaluza, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Jackie,

Thank you for writing to tripadvisor.com with your kind words. We are so pleased to learn you enjoyed our Hotel Hacienda. We hope to have the pleasure to serve you once again in very near future.
About you doubt concerning transportation to the hacienda; I would like to mention that we are only 10 minutes away from Riobamba; and public transportation it´s available every 10 or 15 minutes.
Thank you again Jackie, and we hope we will have the pleasure again to serve you.

Best Regards,

Catherine Gallegos
HOTEL MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    25
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
44
62
7
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ecuador
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We'd driven past this place, which is located on the Pan American highway between Ambato and Riobamba, many times. We always thought that it would be loud, as it is situated right on the Pan-am. I'm so glad we stopped to check it out! From the moment we parked and walked into reception, we knew that it was a special place. The staff was friendly and very accommodating, the ambience was attractive, and the price was right! It was December 30th and we thought we'd just stay for one night..but our room was quiet, cozy, romantic and so comfortable (we had just spend a few nights camping) that we decided to stay longer. The hacienda itself was AMAZING! This place is historic! We enjoyed a very fun and festive New Years Eve with the staff and other guests. The breakfast buffet VERY impressive with heaps of typical ecua-dishes as well as international staples like fruit, yogurt and pancakes. The dinner menu was not huge, but had a bit of everything and was well presented. Their chef, Felipe Rivandiera, is famous, talented, charming and handsome too! :-) I highly recommend Andaluza. Since last year they are under new ownership and managenment, and the goals and service of the Hacienda are only going to improve. It's already a beautiful historic place with friendly staff and great rooms. I can't wait to visit again. Thank you Andaluza for making New Year 2012-2013 special!! Hasta la proxima!!

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaAndaluza, Gerente at Hosteria La Andaluza, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Dear AndesMtnWoman,


We deeply appreciate your comment about our Hotel Hacienda. We informed our team and Felipe Rivadeneira about you lovely compliments and they are really happy to heard them, it is our aim to satisfy all our guests and we are even more cheerful to get back such positive comments! We hope to welcome you soon again,

Cordially,

Catherine Gallegos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Québec
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013 via mobile


We loved this hacienda. It is located on the national road for an express stop on the Quito Cuenca road.
We were afraid of being cold.
On the contrary we slept well, the room was beautiful, well decorated and warm, comfortable blankets.
We loved the heat lamps in the living room, the breakfast buffet is excellent and offers a lot of choice.
We have dinner twice and the ingredients were fresh and well presented.
2 disappointments: we had booked a suite with fireplace and we had a room with 3 beds.
Internet wi - fi does not work. We had (2) I-Pad and none worked to send our messages.
The restaurant is expensive but the room is at a reasonable price.
Therefore the total price is not bad.
We will return to this hacienda.
We had booked on booking.com

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaAndaluza, Gerente at Hosteria La Andaluza, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Dear Sherblanc,

We do very much value the feedback of our guests and we appreciate your feedback about our property. I remember you clearly, It was a pleasure for us to receive you in Hostería Hacienda La Andaluza. All the more we are happy that you had a great time and that you have enjoyed your stay! We hope we welcome you soon as a guest back in our hotel.

Yours,

Catherine Gallegos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South East London
Top Contributor
228 reviews 228 reviews
90 hotel reviews
Reviews in 106 cities Reviews in 106 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Stayed here for one night after a visit to The Devils Nose Train. The building is an old hacienda and really amazing with lots of artifacts. Our room was huge and beautifully decorated. There were rose petals scattered on the bed and a bowl of fruit on the dressing table. It was also very warm which we were grateful for because it was very, very cold in the evening. Lovely log fires in all the communal areas.The internet area was really badly lit and I could not see to send any emails.
We were on a metropolitan touring trip and dinner and breakfast were included in the deal. Dinner was OK but there was no choice which meant I had to eat trout for the 3rd night running. It was beautifully presented though in a very traditional way. Breakfast was not good at all, with no choice of cereal or fruit and terrible coffee. It was probably the worst breakfast I ate in Equador. The hotel is also a long way out of town.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaAndaluza, Gerente at Hosteria La Andaluza, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear Stephanie,

Thank you very much for your comment and for the beautiful description given of our facilities. Your opinion It´s very important for us.
Referring to the problems presented to you, I'm sure there was some misunderstanding about this. Our restaurant menu is varied, has about 60 varieties between entries, main course and desserts. Like our breakfast buffet includes three varieties of yogurt and cereal and a variety of fruits it´s available for our customers. I´m sorry this was not reflected in your stay at our hotel, but we will take the necessary corrective measures about it.

Thank you again Stephanie for taking the time to writing about our hotel, you comments and suggestions, help us to be better everyday.

Cordially,

Catherine Gallegos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

This is a very beautiful place, Very cold during May but wonderful view of the volcanoes. You have a very nice view of the fog over the volcanoes and has a very nice living room with chimney. Rooms are big and cozy. service is nice.

Room Tip: check rooms before you take it some of them may be dirty but they help u with that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quito, Ecuador
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Stayed there for one night, due to it's price I wouldn't expect a lousy room. Beautiful room, clean, elegant, fresh fruit, water and chocolates are there for you. Colonial decorations with tons of antiques, the place is huge and you can spend hours just getting to know the hotel; If you feel like walking there are tons of rural landscapes surrounding the hotel and If you are lucky you can see the Chimborazo Volcano. Although food was a big disapointment I wouldn't recommend the fondue.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaAndaluza, Gerente at Hosteria La Andaluza, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Google Translation
Estimada cliente,


Agradecemos por tomarse el tiempo para comentar sobre Hostería Hacienda La Andaluza, la opinión de nuestros huéspedes es muy importante para nosotros. Tomaremos los correctivos necesarios respecto a sus sugerencias. Esperamos en una próxima ocasión poder satisfacer al 100% sus expectativas.

Cordialmente,

Catherine Gallegos
GERENTE GENERAL
Hostería Hacienda La Andaluza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cuenca
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We love this lovely, sprawling, antique-filled spanish-style hacienda and are grateful for TripAdvisor for leading us to it. The Hosteria sits right off the main PanAmerican highway and yet once you walk in the doors, you're immediately transported into another world. The rooms are spacious and inviting, with the extra-special treat of rose petals and chocolates awaiting on the bed. We stayed here on the way north, but ended up coming back for a night on the way home to Cuenca as well. There was a slight chill in the main dining room and bar both nights, but the staff were happy to light the fireplaces to make them cozy. Definitely a special place for reasonable rates. And the Chimborazo volcano just outside the door made it even cooler!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hosteria La Andaluza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hosteria La Andaluza

Address: Panamericana Norte, Km. 16 via a Quito | HACIENDA CHUQUIPOGYO, Riobamba, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Chimborazo Province > Riobamba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Riobamba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hosteria La Andaluza 3.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Hosteria La Andaluza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hosteria La Andaluza Hotel Riobamba
Hosteria La Andaluza Riobamba

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hosteria La Andaluza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.