We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mansion Santa Isabella

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Mansion Santa Isabella to your Saves list
Mansion Santa Isabella
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Veloz 28-48 entre Carabobo y Magdalena Davalos | 2 Blocks From Train Station, Riobamba R, Ecuador   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Riobamba
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014 via mobile

We stayed only one night in this beautiful hotel in Riobamba, as we were on our way to Alausi. We would have been happy to stay longer. The building and decor were simply lovely, and made us feel as if we were staying in a private home. (The bathtub in our private bath was a very nice touch). The meals were great. We had dinner and breakfast in the restaurant, and a boxed lunch to take with us for the train ride to the Devil's Nose. All were great - especially the wide variety of fruit at breakfast. If you find yourself in Riobamba, I would highly recommend staying here.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    22
    9
    4
    4
See reviews for
29
48
11
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

After a fabulous week in the Galapagos, we returned to the mainland and spent 4 days in Riobamba on the way back to Quito. We were looking for a comfortable and family / authentic Ecuadorian hotel and felt we were very lucky to find Mansion Santa Isabella. As it was the last part of our holiday, we spoilt ourselves and stayed in the 'suite', though the other rooms we looked at are equally lovely, The hotel is beautifully decorated and we were made to feel as if we were at home by the delightful owners who were very helpful in organising tours of the fantastic countryside around Riobamba, including a visit to Chimborazo.The food was really good too - do try the filet steak and the brownies!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
professor of the north
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

Mansion Isabella is a small place with a big heart. From when I was met at the door until I sadly said farewell, my time at Mansion Santa Isabella was completely satisfying. It would be hard to find a better chef or more friendly staff. The owners are in the hotel giving their best to guests often going out of their way to assure a safe enjoyable visit.
The artistic renovation of the mansion was done recently with very good taste in colors and decoration. I will certainly be returning.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Canada
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

Travelling north to Quito via Cuenca, Riobamba and Banos seems good choice to break up this journey. We choose Mansion Santa Isabella for,our stay in Riobamba. As with so many accommodations we've stopped at in South America you certainly cannot judge MSI from the outside street. As you enter the narrow walkway do note the wood engraved sign on the left which informs your this building is over 100 years old and a example of Andalusia archicture. The building is beautifully preserved and cared for as you will note throughout. We had a room at the very top with a small step way up to a roof 'balcony'. Large bed and quite spacious bathroom, and they have crafted the natural lighting rather effectively. Their kitchen prepares an assortment of dishes from their varied menu. I has a meat/steal dish and enjoyed it very much with the usual exception in that I have found there is for some reason far too much salt being used. Why use it at all? Their wine selection is somewhat limited given they are all but adjacent to Chile & Argentina. Breakfast was included and with lots of choices, coffee was so so but a great juice was provided. A big thank you to Ben for his being so very helpful --a great source of information about Riobamba. Do note MSI is very much ' in town' so do expect traffic.

Room Tip: Second or top floor rooms at back would be best n away from street
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Excellent location in downtown Riobamba. Nice colonial house with clean, warm, comfortable rooms. Parking is available but bare in mind that it's located a block away. Cozy underground bar. Buffet breakfast is included.

Room Tip: The suite needs improvement for the price you pay, even though it has a jacuzzi, it doesn't have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lamy, New Mexico
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Beautiful building and courtyard with clean rooms and the best bathrooms in Ecuador. Friendly owners who can and do help out in English. Way above and beyond the secure tickets for us on short notice for El Nariz del Diablo tren in Alausi. In my opinion, the only place to stay in Riobamba. Excellent restaurant and cellar bar, as well.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We stayed for one night as part of our honeymoon trip to Ecuador.
The building is a spotless colonial mansion that has been beautifully restored with lovely clean rooms and amazing bathrooms.
Delightful owners Jenny and Ben went out of their way to help us get the devils nose train and were great hosts during our brief visit to Riobamba.

We would recommend it especially when the devils nose train departs again from Riobamba as it's just a short walk to the station.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mansion Santa Isabella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mansion Santa Isabella

Address: Veloz 28-48 entre Carabobo y Magdalena Davalos | 2 Blocks From Train Station, Riobamba R, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Chimborazo Province > Riobamba
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Riobamba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mansion Santa Isabella 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Mansion Santa Isabella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mansion Santa Isabella, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.