We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and super amazing Owners” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hostal America Inter

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Otavalo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hostal America Inter
Save
You added Hostal America Inter to your Saves list
Sucre y Quiroga | Plaza de Los Ponchos, Otavalo 00593, Ecuador   |  
Hotel amenities
fishonyukon
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great location and super amazing Owners”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

The owners are incredibly helpful and the location to the market js perfect. After a long day of being dragged around shopping, the TV cable and internet in the rooms was a great treat. Super happy with the bandwidth from the comfort of my bed. We also had our laundry done there for crazy cheap. My only little issue was the noise at night (due to the great location) and the heavy bed sheets were not that comfortable.

Room Tip: great internet and TV cable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
10
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Great owners. Friendly, easy going, and more than willing to assist you in your travels. From recommendations about local sites (Cocuicha, Fuya-Fuya, good coffee, etc) and knowledge of the bus system, to laundry and secure bag storage, they have you covered.

If I'm putting on my picky hat I would say there is room for small but meaningful improvements. I thought the bed was slightly uncomfortable - the mattress was thin and I could feel the bed frame (I think it would be better for someone who sleeps on their back). The other improvement I would have liked is a hotter shower, it was warm but not as hot as I like.

The location is right across the street from Plaza de Ponchos and is easy walking distance to the other plazas, food market, and the bus station. As you should expect with such a location there is street noise.
Roof top balcony offers views of the city. I didn't use the kitchen but I believe they have one. Overall, the place is clean, accommodating, with friendly and helpful owners.

Stayed January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cusco, Peru
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

I found this hostel on accident while looking for a diff. hostel my friends were staying at. The receptionist offered to look on his computer to find the other hostel, even said I could leave my bags there while I searched around the square. I ended up staying just b/c he was so nice + it ended up being a great decision! It was my 1st day in Ecuador after 6 months in Colombia + the entire family was so much more than hospitable/helpful..i truly couldnt have asked for a nicer stay. Very affordable, great food as well, very clean place, STRONGLY recommend. muchas gracias por todo! also dont miss cuicocha crater lake while ur there..its beautiful!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

From the outside this looks the same as all the other hotels but once you step inside you are confronted with such friendly people. We stayed for a week and over that time the owners were so helpful. The owners are Columbian and really proud of it. There is a real family atmosphere with all the family working hard to make the place happy, clean and comfortable. There is a restaurant which is spotless and the food is excellent value and really tasty. We have stayed in many hotels in Otavalo over the years and this by far is the most welcoming. We will be back !!!

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beloit wi
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We stayed for 5 nights because the hotel was clean, reasonable, and close to the market. The owner was very helpful and we had a lot of fun talking to him about Columbia, his home country. The breakfast was good and also lunch. We will be sure to come back here next time in Otavalo.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

This hostal offers excellent value for money and besides that, the Colombian owners are very nice and helpful. The hostal has a perfect location at a corner of the plaza de pochos, the center plaza where the permanent market is located.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fuerth, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

I was really glad to find such a nice hostal in the centre of otavalo. Super friendly colombians are the owners, had a great time. Excellent view from the rooftop over the saturday market!!! Although you should book in advance, saturdays might be really crowded.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hostal America Inter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal America Inter

Address: Sucre y Quiroga | Plaza de Los Ponchos, Otavalo 00593, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Imbabura Province > Otavalo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 25 Specialty Lodging in Otavalo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inter America Hostal offers comfortable rooms with a friendly atmosphere you can enjoy a nice time during your visit to Otavalo. All our rooms have 24 hour reception Housekeeping and room (included in cost) LCD TVs and cable tv private bathroom Hot Shower High speed internet in room Parking (included in cost) restaurant Laundry Terrace Game Book Exchange tourist information ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostal America Inter, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.