We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great coffee, great food, great cause” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Casa de Intag

La Casa de Intag
Ca. Colon 465, corner with Ca. Sucre, Otavalo, Ecuador
+593 6-292-0608
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 43 Restaurants in Otavalo
Price range: $2 - $4
Cuisines: Coffee Shop, Ecuadorean, Café
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Description: A fair-trade coffee shop, La Casa de Intag sells delicious coffee (both whole bean and ground) from the beautiful Intag region, an area of cloud forest a few hours north-west of Otavalo. Sit down and sip on a steaming hot cup of coffee, or buy some to take home. La Casa de Intag serves breakfasts, pancakes, lunch, sandwiches, cakes, and chocolates. You can purchase artisan crafts, handmade soap, and natural shampoos and creams, all of which are made by the people of Intag. La Casa de Intag also has wifi available for customers to use. This store and cafe was formed when the threat of mining projects in the biodiverse Intag Valley spurred the Intag communities to develop sustainable economic alternatives to mining. A collaboration of Mujer y Medio Ambiente (a womens' handicraft cooperative), AACRI Coffee (an organic fair trade coffee cooperative), and DECOIN (Defensa y Conservacion Ecologica de Intag) work to make La Casa de Intag possibile. All profits benefit the communities in the Intag region.
Otavalo, Ecuador
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great coffee, great food, great cause”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

This is my favorite place in Otavalo, It is a great place to recharge batteries with shade-grown coffee and a side of yucca. The desserts are delicious and very cheap (get the passion-fruit one if you have to choose only one). The fact that it is run by and supports the vibrant and growing community of Junin is another plus.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    2
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ithaca, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Best coffee shop in Otavalo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

This place is the nicest coffee shop in Otavalo. The ambience is amazing, the food is great and there is so much more to offer. My favorite is the fried yuca with coffee. You can learn about how your purchase is helping a just cause, and there are great bags, chocolates, books, movies, and other things. If in Otavalo, this place is a must!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great food, lovely people!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

I stopped by here to have breakfast one morning - I had the pancakes with nutella which were delicious and I had the coffee too. It was all great. The coffee is fair trade, shade-grown coffee - it's really good. I also tried several of the deserts on different days and they were all super tasty (tried the oreo, tiramisu, chocolate, maracuja). At one point I also tried the fried yucca which was really tasty. The woman who manages the restaurant/store is Ines, and she is super nice. She is from the area of Intag, where most of the products sold in the store come from. I bought some soap and meant to buy some chocolate but I forgot. I would have liked to buy some of the coffee but didn't have space in my bag. They also sell handicraft products (bags, rugs, etc.) made from natural sisal fibers and luffas.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Takoma Park, Maryland
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Really friendly and great coffee!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

The cakes and coffee were super delicious. I didn't try the food besides that. La Casa de Intag carries all local products from the Intag coffee co-op (AACRI) and artisan handicrafts (Mujer y Medioambiente) that you definitely can't find in the markets. The best part of the cafe for me was the atmosphere. Really cool friendly people from all over Intag, including the coffee farmers and women who made the products! We also ran into a handful of other foreigners from all over the globe.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrington, Rhode Island
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great coffee and gifts!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Stop in here for delicious coffee grown in nearby Intag. The fried yuca is also fantastic! They also sell handicrafts like bags, soaps, and luffas that are unique and unavailable elseware in Otavalo! (Very different from many of the "artisan made crafts" in the market)

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Casa de Intag also viewed

Otavalo, Imbabura Province
 
Otavalo, Imbabura Province
Otavalo, Imbabura Province
 

Been to La Casa de Intag? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Casa de Intag, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.