We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go there” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Mojanda

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Casa Mojanda to your Saves list
Casa Mojanda
Apartado 160 | Km. 3.8 via a Mojanda, Otavalo, Ecuador   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary bottle of wine
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Otavalo
New York, New York, United States
1 review
“Go there”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

If you want to go to a magical place with incredible views, incredible people, inspired food all at an affordable price....go to Casa Mojanda. This place is complete with outdoor hot tub under the stars, looking up at both the Northern and Southern constellations at the same time, while smelling the air of the Andes, with breath taking snow capped mountains....dining on local fresh food prepared with love, and charming casitas with fireplaces (it stays around 60F all year round...and a bit chillier at night)....well, you can tell, I want to go back.
Betti and her staff are friendly, smart and helpful. Betti, the owner of this delightful retreat-like place, arranges all sorts of outings and hikes if you feel like being active, (or just hang out and be quiet... The interiors are as beautiful as the sites outdoors.)
I can say it enough. Ecuador and Casa Mojanda brings a sense of beauty to your life.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    9
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
27
43
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Kentucky
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

I have been taking student groups to Casa Mojanda for three years. We keep returning for several reasons. First, it is in a beautiful setting, among the mountains of northern Ecuador. Second, it is a wonderfully peaceful place. This is in part due to design, and in part to the natural surroundings. Third, food and service are exceptional. Any request I have made to staff, particularly Daniel, has always been accommodated promptly and patiently.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

Casa Mojanda is one of my favorite places on earth. It is beautifully sited with incredible views. The hospitality is superb so you feel pampered without intrusion. The food is "to die for." Casa Mojanda is an important part of the Otavalo community. It's close to the city and many interesting attractions while at the same time giving a restful reprieve from hectic pace of tourism. You won't regret staying here and I promise you'll want to return time after time. The trip up the mountain and through the gates into Casa Mojanda is one of my favorite trips.

Room Tip: I've stayed in all of the cabins. Each has a special personality all of its own; but ALL of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

My 17 year old son and I stayed at Casa Mojanda for five days about three weeks ago. The staff and owners are lovely people who genuinely care about you, your experience and the community around Otavalo. Other reviewers have described the charming casitas, and the great services like lighting a fire in the fireplace so you return to a cozy room, and about the food and all else. I agree with all they have said. I'd like to focus this review on the warmth of the entire place, including the other guests.

We were welcomed by Daniel the manager and explained that we had a bit of bad luck when we arrived in Quito with lost luggage. The airline was unable to locate it for several days, and my son and I were in dire need of clean clothes. Betty, one of the owners, showed up after breakfast with two stacks of clothing, one for me and one for my son. Perfect! Then, late in the day, one of the staff drove to Quito (about four hours round trip) to stand there at the baggage counter to work out the situation. Voila, my bags arrived late that evening.

Betty dined with us most meals, offered great tips on where to go and what to do and how best to do it. We learned from her, the staff and other guests about the politics and social situations in Quito and other parts of the country, and we had lively conversations with most of our fellow guests. There is a common area above the office filled with games, a TV and a wall of DVDs (including widely varying choices like Che', the Blues Brothers, Vicki Cristina Barcelona and Wrath of the Titans.) Perfect fare for couples, teenagers and parents alike.

We were lucky enough to hike at the lakes above Casa Mojanda with Gustavo one day. A more pleasant person would be hard to find. We brought along one of the dogs and hit the trail as Gustavo taught us some spanish and we huffed and puffed up a hill. After about two hours, we clambered up to sit atop a small rise and eat the lunch that the kitchen ladies had packed for us. It could not have been better.

There was plenty to do. Horseback rides, hikes, a festival (We had the opportunity to go to town with the rest of the guests to join in on the Inti Raymi festival. This was organized by the staff and we all piled in and drove down the hill), massage therapy with Giovanni, guided tours to Peguche and Agato, a visit to the "real" equator at Cayambe and more.

As I wrote in the guest book, when we arrived, we were guests; when we left we were friends. I will go back and bring my husband next time.

Room Tip: All the casitas are lovely and have great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hot Springs, Arkansas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

My husband and I spent a week at Casa Mojanda and we really enjoyed our time there. We loved our cabin with the wonderful fireplace the was lite every night while we were eating dinner. The food was wonderful and the staff went out of their way to make our stay a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Casa Mojanda in March of 2012 for 3 nights. We had a room with a beautiful view of the surrounding green mountains and valley, and the room had a fireplace that kept us toasty at night. The rooms are very comfortable and nicely decorated, but are simple- so don't go here expecting a Marriott type experience. The main lodge area of the property (housing the reception desk, dining room and kitchen), is beautifully decorated with art and artifacts of Ecuador's diverse cultures and a very comfortable place to relax. The property itself is also gorgeous. It's very expansive and peaceful. It has an organic garden, horses, llamas, and chickens. From the property, you can take a short (30 min) hike up to a lovely waterfall. There are a couple of dogs that live at Casa Mojanda that will happily show you the way. After your hike, take a dip in Casa's own wood fire hot tub that looks out on the serene landscape surrounding the property. It was fabulous!

The service at Casa Mojanda is exceptional. All the staff is so nice and unimposing. They would light our fireplace each night while we were at dinner so that when we returned the room would be warm, the ladies in the kitchen would prepare snacks for us upon request, and they even took us on private tours of the area (tours are reasonably priced -especially since they are private). I don't know if we were just lucky or if March is low season, but for 2 of our 3 nights, we were the only guests there, and then one night there was just one other family. So we literally had the whole place to ourselves.

In addition to the service, I cannot give enough praise for the food and cooking. Food is included in the cost of the accommodation, and just about everything they serve is grown right on the property. The meals are mostly vegetarian, which was great for us. But even if you're not a veg, you would still enjoy this food: fresh pesto with tomatoes over pasta, hand made pizza topped with herbs and veggies from the garden and cooked in Casa's outdoor pizza oven; fabulous quinoa soup; and mint tea, made from sprigs of mint out of the garden. In the morning they gave us choices of what we might like to eat and in the evening the dinners always included 3 courses.

This is a great place to stay if you just want to escape Quito's traffic, noise, and not so clean air or if you want to see the Otavalo markets. It is literally only a 5 minute drive to the center of Otavalo, and Casa Mojanda can take you there (or you can get a taxi).

Room Tip: They all looked nice to us. It is a very peaceful area, so I suppose you can't go wrong. But ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
medford,oregon
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

The staff was wonderful to us. They heated up the soaking tub before we sat out there after dinner. What an amazing spot to watch the stars. The food was great. Sadly, the hiking didn't happen as the rain turned the trails into mudbogs. A totally relaxing place to spend a rainy couple of days. The room was beautiful, the fireplace was lit for us during dinner. We should have taken the hint of extra blankets on a shelf - even with the fire and the space heater - we were chilly while sleeping - our fault!

Room Tip: Use the blankets :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Mojanda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Mojanda

Address: Apartado 160 | Km. 3.8 via a Mojanda, Otavalo, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Location: Ecuador > Imbabura Province > Otavalo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Otavalo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Mojanda operates on the basis of a firm and ongoing commitment to the principles and practices of ecological tourism and contribution to the surrounding community. Casa Mojanda was designed to have a minimally intrusive impact on our local ecosystem and culture. We believe that ecotourism operations must at a minimum “do no harm,” and be sustainable socio-economically and environmentally, as well as harmonious with and actively supportive of indigenous traditions and cultures. When it comes to lodgings and resorts, we believe that small is beautiful. By keeping Casa Mojanda large in vision but small in scale, we are able to interact with our guests personally, and whenever there is interest, we will connect visitors with local schools, clinics and environmental projects. Each guest is a part of this ongoing process and your feedback and participation are most welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Casa Mojanda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Mojanda Otavalo
Casa Mojanda Hotel Otavalo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Mojanda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.