We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing, wonderful two days” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hacienda Cusin

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hacienda Cusin to your Saves list
Hacienda Cusin
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Cale Chiriboga | San Pablo Del Lago, Otavalo 123, Ecuador   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #4 of 21 Otavalo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sugar Land, Texas
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Relaxing, wonderful two days”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

This is a lovely old hacienda with a real hacienda feel. We selected Suite #10, which sits all by itself on a corner of the expansive grounds and I am so glad we paid the little bit extra for that room. It was so very charming with its wood stove that really made it toasty. It was very roomy and comfortable.
Breakfast (included) was quite nice with a different fresh juice each day. My favorite was blackberry!
Take time to enjoy the grounds, but most certainly take a horseback ride up the mountain. It has been too many decades since I last rode (although my wife is accomplished rider) but it was an amazing 2-hour ride up the mountain, passing through several small villages and a wonderful eucalyptus forest.
Oh, don't expect something new as this hacienda dates back to 1602! There is no tv, but you can rent movies to enjoy in their lovely library. Good WiFi in the library and at the recepcion.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
haciendacusin, Guest Relations Manager at Hacienda Cusin, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
On behalf of La Familia de Cusin, thank you so much for such an appreciative review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    298
    69
    23
    11
    4
See reviews for
98
138
34
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Quito, Ecuador
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

The place is very big a pretty, it has lots of historic artifacts like colonial paintings and decorations everywhere, the rooms are charming with a fire place and overall is a very quite place to rest. The food was very good and we got excellent service. Yes you get charged 10% on all services but that´s pretty much common everywhere in Ecuador. IF you want to go horse back riding you need to be there early, rides are for 1 hour or more and it is worth it since it goes around the volcanoes. The Monastery area was very peacefull, very nice. This is one of the best haciendas in the Country.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
haciendacusin, Guest Relations Manager at Hacienda Cusin, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
May thanks for taking such time to write a review with such helpful information. Come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tempe, Arizona
Top Contributor
227 reviews 227 reviews
123 hotel reviews
Reviews in 115 cities Reviews in 115 cities
163 helpful votes 163 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

With the overwhelming stellar nearly unanimous reviews, my expectations were high and therefore sadly quite disappointed.

Property and grounds are very nice, gorgeous. Quiet, lush, peaceful with views of the Imbabura Volcanoes. Yes loved the fireplace and hot water bottles as well.

Found the service to be without great attention, maybe since they automatically add 10% to your room rate as a TIP! They don't have to try. Found this fixed tip bananas as if you were to spend any more money (dinner, or a coffee for example) another 10% tip would be added. Breakfast stuff very indifferent to us. Really disappointed here since the ALL the previous review glow of the service and staff.

Felt with "nice" "higher quality" hotels a charge shouldn't be made from you at every step. Only a DVD /TV in the common room, so hopefully you want to watch the same movie at the same time as your fellow guests. And to charge $3.50 for a DVD rental? Oh you do get popcorn free as part of the package. And sign on room door says they charge $5.00 to reconfirm your flight reservation?!?!? seriously?!? have NEVER had a hotel want to charge for this. Yes there is free coffee, tea and water in the Library.

Wifi?!? Doesn't work in the library, restaurant, nor in my room, which was a cottage at the end of the property. Had to sit on the patio table right in front of the reception to get wifi that was able to actually work.

Lovely building and grounds. Was couldn't believe this was the hotel that so many people loved. For the reviews and price, I was quite disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
haciendacusin, Guest Relations Manager at Hacienda Cusin, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Thank you for your observations, disappointed at times though you were. Any guest's disappointment becomes ours and is always discussed and, whenever possible, rectified.

The Government decried 10% Service Tax ('tip') ensures that ALL staff receive a 'tip', not only the visible staff, and is usual in hotels and restaurants throughout Latin America and most of Europe.

Cusin has four television/DVD viewing areas, including a movie house with a 10' screen and complimentary popcorn. Additionally, a television room with cable-access is available for guests. The vast majority of guests do not want the intrusion of a television program in their room.

There are several, complimentary wi-fi access areas throughout the property. I'm sorry that you were unable to access it.

The '$5 confirmation fee' is a mystery being investigated! There is no such charge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings on Hudson, New York
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

I really wanted to love this place and give it five stars, but i have to give it four It has a rustic charm, and they try very hard. Our first room was dark and had no water. They moved us to a nicer and much larger room immediately. There's no heat in any of the rooms, so they provide electric heaters. The heater in our new room was broken and there was also no hair dryer. They sent someone to try to fix the heater and eventually replaced it. They also gave us a hair dryer. They made a fire in our fireplace every night. The best was the hot water bottles which they put in the bed every night. They stayed warm through the night. The food varied from ok to very good. The grounds are beautiful.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
haciendacusin, Guest Relations Manager at Hacienda Cusin, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
I apologize for the broken heater and lack of a hairdryer. Thank you for your constructive observations. After a thorough room inspection, all heaters have been inspected and work and all guest rooms have hairdryers. You have kept us on our toes!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Tx
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

We left Quito and spend three days in the Northern Highlands. We did all the traditional tourist activities including a visit to the market in Otavalo and leather shopping in Cotacachi, but went beyond that and on the first day did the 4 1/2 hour trek around Laguna de Cuicocha and on the second day walked 3 hours around Laguna de Mojanda. Given we are in our mid-sixties, at the end of the day we were ready for a comfortable rest. Hacienda Cusin provided just that experience.

The staff were very friendly and wanted to be sure we were taken care of. The breakfasts were bountiful and delicious. Always went for seconds on the fresh juice of the day. We did not eat a full dinner there as on the first day we had a late lunch and were not hungry. On the second night after walking around Cuicocha we really were more exhausted than houngry and were delighted to find a lite menu option for dinner. We both had the soup and sandwich, which were
great and all we wanted.

The Hacienda grounds were colorful and hummingbirds were everywhere. The two Llamas were a distinctive added touch. It was the low season/rainy season, so the ground could have been a little more manicured, but given the time of year, we think it was all you could ask for.

Every evening the staff lit the fireplaces in the rooms to give a warm, down home glow to the rooms, and provided all the warmth needed until you went to bed. Then the (we loved them)
hot water bottles took over and provided all the additional warmth you needed throughout the night.

We walked around the Hacienda, the stables and the Monastery (converted for lodging) and had
a wonderful time.

I have to say that the location is a bit off the beaten path, but the old world charm is worth
the journey.

Room Tip: Because it was the low season, out room in one of the multi-room buildings worked out great, but in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
haciendacusin, Guest Relations Manager at Hacienda Cusin, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Thank you for taking time to write such a detailed and appreciative review. Cusin's staff will be inspired.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Dear internet,
My name is Sam. I'm 9 years old and went to Hacienda a week ago.
I loved Hacienda for a few reasons: the first reason is I get access to a basketball court at every hour of the day. Another reason Hacienda is so great is you get ice cream at every meal not including breakfast of course but it does include tea time and you get a chocolate chip cookie made in their own oven. My third reason is that if you love fish you won't ever miss it because at every dinner you can choose to have it. My fourth and last reason is that there is a secret passage in their monastery. My brother, sister and I had a lot of fun looking for it. So overall Hacienda is a great place to stay if you have your kids with you.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
haciendacusin, Guest Relations Manager at Hacienda Cusin, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Many thanks, Sam, for writing such an important and enthusiastic review. Important because so many of Cusin's many young guests enjoy the many facilities but too few write and express their enjoyment. Your enthusiasm is infectious! PLEASE return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

I stayed briefly at Cusin at the end of a six-day trip to Ecuador. Suite #18 was perfect for our group of three as it had three single beds along with a beautiful desk and fireplace. The grounds are striking and beautifully appointed. Both the Monestario and main hacienda have a number of sitting areas perfect for curling up with a book and cup of tea during the late afternoon rain. I highly recommend taking the self-guided tour included in the binder distributed at check-in and absorbing the wonderful (and at times, ironic) details of Cusin.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
haciendacusin, Guest Relations Manager at Hacienda Cusin, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Thank you for such an appreciative review of your stay. With such nostalgic comments, you'll simply have to return! Regresa pronto!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hacienda Cusin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Cusin

Address: Cale Chiriboga | San Pablo Del Lago, Otavalo 123, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Location: Ecuador > Imbabura Province > Otavalo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Otavalo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hacienda Cusin 3.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel. A restored, 400 year-old hacienda with restaurant - organic food, sports facilities - squash, basketball, horseback riding, mountain bikes & games rooms, library, several acres of gardens. 38 Staff. Within 20 minutes of Otavalo's markets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Hacienda Cusin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda Cusin Hotel Otavalo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hacienda Cusin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.