We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended - beautiful and relaxing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hacienda Cusin

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hacienda Cusin to your Saves list
Hacienda Cusin
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Cale Chiriboga, PO Box 123, Otavalo 123, Ecuador   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 21 Otavalo B&B and Inns
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Highly recommended - beautiful and relaxing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We stayed just one night on our way from Cotacachi to Quito, but wish we could have stayed longer. This is not the place to stay if you want to walk out your door to nightlife and shopping - although it's just a short taxi ride to Otavalo. But if you want to relax in an elegant and historic environment, read in the comfortable library or lounge, walk around beautiful grounds and gardens, go horseback riding, hiking or stroll into the small village of San Pablo del Lago, this is it. We stayed in garden cottage 25 and couldn't have been happier with our choice. The adobe cottage was very romantic and private in a corner of the hacienda grounds accessed down a cobblestone path through the gardens. The cottage was spotlessly clean, spacious, with an incredibly comfortable king bed, working fireplace and spacious closet. Even better, it has it's own rooftop terrace with incredible views and a large private garden. Antique furnishings in the cottage and throughout the hacienda make it easy to imagine historical times. Staff were accommodating and helpful with any requests. We look forward to someday returning for a longer stay!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    270
    63
    22
    11
    4
See reviews for
91
126
31
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carefree, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Certainly a destination in the Otavalo area, the hacienda/hotel is set around beautiful grounds in historic buildings amidst an incredible collection of antique art and handcrafts. Rooms have charm and comfort with fires in the evenings.. One should plan to stay more than one night to fully appreciate the .experience. There were groups and individuals there when we were that were trying to figure out how to extend their stays. Excellent restaurant and very friendly staff. We would highly recommend Cusin.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle Rock, Colorado
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

The best of the best. We had cool, rainy weather, but It made our stay even better. The fireplace in our room was lit while we were at dinner for a cozy welcome when we returned to our room. During the day, read a book by the living room fireplace, shop at the nearby Otovalo market, hike or ride horses. This place is really a gem--don't miss it. Also check out the small shop, full of surprises like old church vestments and other odds and ends. The wait staff also was great helping my husband to practice his Spanish. They will arrange a transfer from Quito for only $70 round trip.

Room Tip: Chose one with a fireplace. It adds a lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jerusalem
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

This place is beautiful very calm and very good service.ultimate place for vacation and tranqility. Very beautiful decoration. Antique house with antique paitings.renovated beautifully. excellent food. outstanding garden . Very recomended.A special place !!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Driggs, Idaho
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Fifteen years ago, I visited Ecuador and was fortunate enough to spend part of the trip at Hacienda Cusin. My memories of the Hacienda were part of what drove my enduring desire to return to Ecuador and when the opportunity finally arose, I was eager to visit there again and see if it was really as wonderful as I remembered.

As we drove through the wooden archway and into Hacienda, I realized it was even better than I remembered. The gardens and the buildings among them exist in such beautiful harmony. Each room has its own individual personality, and yet there is a sense of unity between them. There is a wonderful sense of place created by the paintings, textiles, ceramics and furniture that reflect the history of both the land and the people of Ecuador. Also, the valley itself asserts itself on your consciousness. The mountains are always visible, always present. We were lucky enough to get a tour of the grounds and buildings from the owner, which greatly enriched my understanding of the artwork that he has gathered from all over the world and of the thought that has gone into every aspect of the place. I was charmed by the new "monastery" that has been built since my first visit.

My husband and I are avid birders and most of our time in Ecuador was spent pursuing the astounding birds that thrive there. We were most pleased with the birds we were able to see at Hacienda Cusin, even though we were only there for one night. Here is our list:

Blackburnian Warbler
Black Flowerpiercer
Southern Yellow Grosbeak
Black Phoebe
Hooded Sisken
White-bellied Woodstar
Black-tailed Trainbearer
Scarlet Tanager
Summer Tanager
Olive-sided Flycatcher
American Kestrel
Sparkling Violetear
Blue-gray Tanager
Great Thrush

We loved returning to a crackling fire in our bedroom after dinner. We loved waking up in the morning to strange bird songs. We loved walking through the gardens as the morning light slid down the mountains and into the valley. I would highly recommend the Hacienda to anyone visiting Ecuador. For us, it was the perfect stop on the way to a couple weeks of birding in the cloud forest at El Refugio. Thanks to Nick and to all the staff for a glorious time. We hope to return soon!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lunenburg, Canada
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

The Hacienda Cusin has a timelessness about it -- the establishment has been providing travellers with food and lodging for over 400 years -- but it is also modern and comfortable. This is the third time I have stayed here in my trips to Ecuador and I would return in a heartbeat. The rooms are large and cosy. Some have fireplaces while others use space heaters -- but all have wonderfully heavy blankets that take the chill out the Andes nights. the bathrooms have been updated and have large showers and plumbing that works.
Our arrival was met with efficient check-in and we proceeded to settle in, curl up to the fire in the spacious living room and order pre-dinner drinks from the bar. The food was excellent! Even though we were a pre-paid group of 15 people, we were able to select from an a la carte menu and every meal was perfectly prepared. Breakfast was the same. Plenty of food, all made to order and served by very gracious waiters.
The grounds at the Cusin offer peaceful garden walks, including a huge vegetable garden, plenty of flowers and loads of grassy space for kids to play. There is a stable with horses and alpaca.
My biggest regret is that each time I visit, I am only there for one night. This is a great retreat at which to spend several days, taking day trips to see the area.
By the way, there is a great view of the Imbabura volcano (father of the people) from the balcony of the adjoining conference centre.
The current owner, who has sent many years adding loving upgrades and repairs to the hacienda is often on site and loves to give walking tours. If he is not there, you can pick up a walking tour guide from the front desk. It is like spending time at an Ecuadorian living museum.

Room Tip: My favourite room is the garden cottage, originally built as a playhouse for a previous owner's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quito, Ecuador
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

This is a highly personal and extremely attractive hotel crammed full of interesting antiques and local craftsmanship. The owner genuinely seeks to make you feel like a country house guest making use of all sorts of attractive rooms: a well stocked library, sitting rooms with deep chairs and reading lights and complimentary tea and coffee making equipment and a most attractively lit dining room. The staff were very tolerant of my 3 lively grandchildren and I loved finding a hotwater bottle warming my bed!

Room Tip: The rooms are truly individual and vary from single to multi bed family rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hacienda Cusin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Cusin

Address: Cale Chiriboga, PO Box 123, Otavalo 123, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Imbabura Province > Otavalo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Otavalo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hacienda Cusin 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel. A restored, 400 year-old hacienda with restaurant - organic food, sports facilities & games rooms, library, several acres of gardens. 45 staff. Within minutes of Otavalo's markets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Hacienda Cusin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda Cusin Hotel Otavalo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hacienda Cusin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.