We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Market!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Otavalo Market

Otavalo Market
Ave. Amazonas N23-23 y Veintimilla, Otavalo, Ecuador
+593 2-250-1418
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$55*
and up
Otavalo Marketplace with Optional Lunch
Ranked #2 of 15 Attractions in Otavalo
Type: Flea/ Street Markets, Shopping
Activities: Shopping
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This colorful Indian market takes place each Saturday and features some of the finest woven products in the region including ponchos, sweaters, wall hangings and shawls.
hiltonhead SC
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great Market!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

While in Quito we visited the Otavalo Market as a side trip. The trip was about two hours. We stopped at the equator and had photo ops, then continued on to the Market. It was a Friday so it was not very busy. Lots of great textiles, bags and wraps. I did not see any "true" alpaca, (although every piece you pick up the vendors say is alpaca). I already knew this, so was not in the market for that.
Found a nice scarf and a knitted wrap.
Go for the scenic ride, the colors and the people, you never know you may get lucky and find a real treasure!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    100
    41
    14
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
london
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Animal market worth seeing but the rest is pretty standard across south america”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Otavalo market only seems to cater for the tourists these days - who for some bizarre reason seem to go mad here!!

You have to be very careful to check the quality as seeemingly identical items seem to have very different quality. There are many things to se and do in the area so its wirth coming to the region but i'm not sure i would come just for the market.

the animal market however is a real eye opener as the idingienous people shop here, stuffing chicks, guinea pigs, hens, rabbits , etc all into one bag!!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, South Carolina, USA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Irresistible! Great products at great prices.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

I lived in Otavalo over 20 years ago and the market has changed with the times in a good way. I was back visiting my in-laws and wasn't planning on buying anything, but we went with our kids, and well, I filled a suitcase! I saw a cushioned chair hammock that I had been planning on buying from a catalog back in the U.S. for $90- got it for $17! They also have gotten into making some magnificent jewelry from native seeds and coconut. One of the seeds, called tagua, resembles the ivory from elephants, but actually comes from a palm tree. The seeds can be carved, polished, and dyed to make beautiful and artistic pieces of jewelry. I bought 3 for $5 one day, and found another vendor with very beautiful styles priced a little higher, ($5-6 per necklace). However, if you buy several items from one vendor you can negotiate them down on price quite a bit. I also bought several scarves- but you need to ask which ones are made in Ecuador as we found ones with Made in China tags.
I speak fluent Spanish but my husband is native to the area and he did the bargaining. They use the dollar now (it used to be sucres!) and it's easy to see you are getting a great value regardless of how much you get them down on price.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurieton, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Make the time to visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

I visited here on market day...Saturday. Takes about 2 hours from Quito. It is an indigenous town and the market is huge. Great buys particularly for jewellry, textiles and leather work. You must bargain. I do not speak Spanish, but was able to make myself understood...just be patient, as the vendors are very accommodating. One tip.........if you like something..get it, as this was the best valued market I visited between Ecuador, Peru and Argentina. If you love markets, a trip here is very rewarding!!!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
190 helpful votes 190 helpful votes
“Outdoor market with a pulse”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

The sights! The sounds! The food! The trek from Quito was L O N G but scenic and well worth it as this was our first stop on an adventure packed day outside the city. We walked and shopped, sampled some fresh juices and ate some GMO- free corn. Yum. The sun was shining and the weather was sweet. Perfect day indeed.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Otavalo Market also viewed

Otavalo, Imbabura Province
 
Quito, Pichincha Province
 

Been to Otavalo Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Otavalo Market, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.