We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Step back in history in this oasis of calm” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hacienda Pinsaqui

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hacienda Pinsaqui to your Saves list
Hacienda Pinsaqui
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Hwy 35 - Panamericana Norte km. 5, Otavalo, Ecuador   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Otavalo
Williston, Vermont
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Step back in history in this oasis of calm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2007

The Hacienda Pinsaqui is a lovely, historic property, well-maintained, and an oasis of calm if you're coming from Quito or have been in the Otavalo market the same day. It's better maintained than some other similar haciendas, and the service was friendly and attentive. The welcome drink with history of the hacienda in the atmospheric bar before dinner was a nice touch. The buildings and grounds are lovely, and interesting to explore, including a chapel, gardens, and various lounge areas.

The rooms vary a great deal, and some were a a bit cold, but all seemed pleasant (we peeked in some in the morning.) We slept well in our queen-sized poster bed, but our friends, on the other side of the building, were woken up by the peacocks screeching at ungodly hours! I loved the fact that the water in the shower had good pressure and lots of hot water.

The hacienda is a few miles north of Otavalo, just after the turn off to Cotocachi. Expensive (for Ecuador) but worth it for a weekend get-away.

  • Liked — Historic ambience, location
  • Disliked — Our friends disliked the peacocks screeching!
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    32
    10
    6
    3
See reviews for
28
50
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2007

The Haceinda Pinsaqui experience is very historic - you're staying a centuries old house where Simon Bolivar visited during the independence movement. It's grand - our room (#8) had a queen size bed, a large sitting area with fireplace, a bathroom and a jacuzzi. The common sitting areas and the gardens are elegant. Evening cocktails and appetizers are served at a sort of social hour giving all the guests a chance to interact. But it is also cold - both literally (since the only warmth is from the fireplace, you tend to be cold during winter evenings unless you are under the covers) and figuratively, too - it's hard to explain, but I didn't find the hacienda that inviting. Additionally, lthough grand, it is not luxurious. There are occasional flies, maybe an insect or two in your room, and the showers are not that hot or forceful. You clearly feel that you are staying in an old, but historic and elegant house.

I also felt strange that all the girls on the help staff where Otavaleno, which gave me the impression that they I was in some way supporting the continuation of the exploitation of the native people (the Otavalenos were once working almost as slaves in the hacienda's textile sweat shop).

The manager of the hotel, Andres, was very helpful and personable. We found Monica to be quite unhelpful. Upon arrival there was no explanation of the house and the many pictures adorning the walls, and when we asked for a tour we were told to just "walk around". Later we learned that explanations of the history of the hacienda were offered on Fri and Sat nights during the cocktail hour. There is also an Andean band during lunch and dinner during the weekends. Breakfast is quite good - eggs, fruits, coffee/tea, juice, bread and tortillas and is included. Lunch and dinner are quite expensive compared to dining in Quito or Otavalo.

If I were in Otavalo again, I would not be a repeat visitor at the Hacienda. It was an interesting one time experience, but it's just not for me.

Stayed May 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2007

We took the bus from Quito to Otovalo, climbing up through the desert
and the arid canyons into the mountains and fields. With each mile it
became greener, and more fertile. Otovalo is the prosperous market town in the centre of this agricultural heartland.

Hacienda Pinsaqui was one of our highlights in Ecuador, a fabulous base from which to explore the surrounding area. We borrowed horses on the first day, and rode up the mountains through the fields of strawberries and tree tomatoes. The view was breathtaking - the mighty Andes rising almost vertically into the clouds in all directions around the flat, lakeside valley of Otovalo.

The hotel itself is deceptively relaxed and rustic, but the service was efficient and friendly, the rooms clean and comfortable, and the food hearty and delicious.

  • Liked — The views
  • Stayed December 2005, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2007

A fine taste of hacienda life. Larg, comfortable rooms, good food and very friendly staff.

Stayed December 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, MA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2007

I stayed at the Hacienda Pinsaqui for a very beautiful wedding last summer, and while the grounds and facilities were quite beautiful and the rooms very comfortable and spacious, I couldn't get over the fact that I was paying $100/night IN ECUADOR! After the wedding, I traveled with a friend and stayed just outside Otovalo at small hotel/hostel for about $5 US, so $100 is quite a lot by comparison. But my room was lovely, with big windows opening out to a balcony with a view of the grounds, which really are lovely. The food was excellent too, and the staff were incredibly friendly and happy to be a part of the festivities.

Plus, the Horse Bar is fabulous! Well, I'm not sure if that's actually the name of the place, but it's a small tavern-y place within the hotel grounds with a bar, wood burning fireplace, and some really ancient and scary looking horse-related paraphernalia. It was kind of a time-warp, the kind of place where you could imagine a bunch of well-heeled plantation owners, a hundred years ago, gathering to drink themselves to death at the end of a long day of horse-wrangling, or something like that. Anyway, the Horse Bar was great - and if you're into horses, the Hacienda definitely has them. In fact, a baby horse was born during my stay! Pretty cool, and I'm not even a horse person.

Overall, this isn't an economical choice, but it's beautiful, the food is realiably delicious, and the place feels much more like a plantation with a small hotel business, rather than the other way around. This is the best part about it, although I'm not sure I'd pay as much next time, if I ever get to go back to beautiful Otovalo.

  • Liked — the staff were incredibly helpful, food was good, the grounds
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Italy
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2006

Loved this Hacienda. You would think Zorro made a few stops there way back when. The staff is pleasant and speaks english. The food was great with a large selection of Ecuadorian cusine as well as some basic American fare. Breakfast was included. We took advantage of the horseback riding and a wonderful 45 minute massage--both very reasonably priced. The grounds were beautiful. The bus to Otavalo will pick you up right in front of the Hacienda and is a 15 minute ride straight into town (or a $3 taxi ride). I really recommend this place, especially with the unbelieivable fireplaces in all the rooms and some of the bedrooms.

  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2006

I agree with the previous reviews: lovely surroundings, peaceful atmosphere, attentive & responsive staff and management. Otavalo is a quick drive away, but you can see many lovely sights-- the byways and waterfalls of Peguche, the raptor zoo and others--on horseback that the Hacienda will gladly arrange. This is a nice place to just hang out for a few days, e.g., after a demanding tour of the Andes or Galapagos. It is also a delightful base for local exploration of the lakes, volcanoes, markets and pueblitos between Otavalo and Ibarra.
One caveat: we were originally booked into the cabaña, a rather large separate building on the grounds of the hacienda. By email this sounded perfect for our family of two adults and three adolescents. But rooms were large, drafty and under-furnished. Every door locks and there is an electronic alarm system...'amenities' not present in the hacienda proper; but then there is no direct communciation with staff (i.e., no phone). We were moved to much finer quarters that did cost a bit more each night.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hacienda Pinsaqui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Pinsaqui

Address: Hwy 35 - Panamericana Norte km. 5, Otavalo, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Imbabura Province > Otavalo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Otavalo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hacienda Pinsaqui 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hacienda Pinsaqui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda Pinsaqui Otavalo
Hacienda Pinsaqui Hotel Otavalo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hacienda Pinsaqui, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.