We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely food in a beautiful setting!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Pachamama

Cafe Pachamama
Calle Quito y Miguel Egas | (inside hotel La Posada del Quinde), Otavalo EC100450, Ecuador
+593 6-292-0750
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 43 Restaurants in Otavalo
Cuisines: Vegetarian, International, Organic, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Scenic view, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Dessert
Description: Cafe Pachamama is located inside hotel La Posada del Quinde, just five blocks from the Plaza de Ponchos market. Our fireplace lounge, outdoor patio and garden provide something extra for travelers, as well as our freshly-prepared, organic food with local ingredients. To top it off, we offer more vegetarian options than any other restaurant in town and many delicious meat options as well.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Lovely food in a beautiful setting!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

The cafe has an extensive menu with a great range of choices including many vegetarian options. The meat and seafood are also very tasty, we enjoyed the quinoa crusted prawns and the fillet mignon. The staff are able to accommodate dietary needs and were very helpful. The setting is beautiful, with views into the large and colorful garden.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    21
    11
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel with staff who go above and beyond!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

While we unfortunately did not have a chance to stay here during our short time in otavalo, the reason for this review is to give special mention to the staff of Posada del quinde, especially the manager, Suzie. Whilst dining at their delicious cafe we mentioned that we had been unwell and Suzie organised for an English speaking doctor to come to the hotel. She also let us use her office to consult with the doctor for privacy. The doctor was excellent and we were so grateful for Suzie's help in this matter. From our time spent at the cafe and on the grounds we can also say that the hotel is beautiful, with a lovely garden and cosy lounge area. We definitely plan to stay when we are next in Otavalo!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best food in Ecuador!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

We absolutely loved every single item we ate. We tried all the vegetarian entrees and they were AMAZING. We are VERY health conscious and particular about what we eat and Cafe Pachamama met our very high standards with flying colours. The chocolate volcano dessert was to die for!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Bravo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

Cafe Pachamama is not only the premier restaurant in Ecuador, but stands among top establishments world wide. Environment, stunning; staff, incredible & food phenomenal. The experience is perfect - warm, charming and so healthy for you.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Pleasant place ofr a bite to eat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

This restaurant is owned by an American living in Otavalo. We found the food to be good, but not exceptional.. There was lots of English spoken here. The most English we had heard during our stay in Otavalo. The fireplace is absolutely delightful.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Pachamama also viewed

Otavalo, Imbabura Province
 
Otavalo, Imbabura Province
Otavalo, Imbabura Province
 

Been to Cafe Pachamama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Pachamama, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.