We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hosteria Cabanas del Lago

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hosteria Cabanas del Lago to your Saves list
Hosteria Cabanas del Lago
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Lago San Pablo Otavalo Imbabura Ecuador | Otavalo Lago San Pablo, Otavalo 0000, Ecuador   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 21 Otavalo B&B and Inns
Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Fun Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

I stayed here for one night in October on a tour of Ecuador. I really enjoyed this place. There is not much in the immediate area surrounding the hotel so be prepared to stay near the property. First off, you should know that there is a bunny garden. Yes, that's right. Bunnies. Even baby bunnies, that you can pick up and hold. They also had a mini golf course, but it was pretty expensive so we decided to skip that. Second, the lake is really pretty, especially during sunset. Third, the Otavalo staff working in the restaurant are some of the nicest and hardest workers that we met in Ecuador. The food was pretty good too. Fourth, the rooms were basic but adequate. Our room was a decent size and the fire place was a nice touch. Unfortunately, my room did not have any hot water in the morning despite keeping the shower running for over 10 minutes. Needless to say, it was a very cold morning for me.

Room Tip: Try to get one with a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cabanasdellagoadm, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hosteria Cabanas del Lago, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear guest:
Thanks for your comments. We are sorry for the late response. By the time you wrote them, we didn't have a good performance in social networks and also, we didn't have a assigned person to do that labor. Thanks for take the time to write them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    29
    8
    4
    3
See reviews for
33
40
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockton, California
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

This was our second trip to Otovalo but the first to the lake. We would probably never have found this gem if it were not for the tour company. As others have said, the rooms have fieplaces which are lit each night for heat not just ambiance. The hot water bottle was a real treat in keeping the toes warm throughout the night; something to think about for the upcoming winter chill. the bathroom was quite adequate with plenty of hot water and a skylight that let in copious amounts of light. Overall, we were delighted with the accommodations and wish we could have prolonged our stay.
The restaurant was very good with a delightful view of the lake. The bar was ok and a bit pricey.
There appeared to be many things to do at the resort during the "season" but not at this time of year.
This location merits a repeat visit.
Gate 1 finds great, out-of-the-way places!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cabanasdellagoadm, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hosteria Cabanas del Lago, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear guest:
Thanks for your comments. We are sorry for the late response. By the time you wrote them, we didn't have a good performance in social networks and also, we didn't have a assigned person to do that labor. Thanks for take the time to write them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

I really liked this hotel. It sits on the bank of the river. It is really beautiful. After dinner we returned to our room to find that they had turned on the fireplace and the fire wood was fully stocked inside the room with more right outside our door. My favorite thing was when I slipped into the bed and found a hot water bottle in the bed to keep the bed warm. It is located high up in the Andes and it can get really cold at night. There is no air conditioning or heater in the room so you are reliant on natural resources like the fireplace for warmth. The hotel and the grounds were beautiful. Great place for families and couples alike. We went as part of a Gate 1 tour of Ecuador.

Room Tip: Bring warm clothes. It is very cold up in the Andes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cabanasdellagoadm, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hosteria Cabanas del Lago, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear guest:
Thanks for your comments. We are sorry for the late response. By the time you wrote them, we didn't have a good performance in social networks and also, we didn't have a assigned person to do that labor. Thanks for take the time to write them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Our tour group, Gate 1, stayed here one night...wish it was longer. The area was very beautiful, peaceful, and relaxing, deserving of 5 stars as other reviewers have commented. I just wanted to add to the consensus.

We were impressed by the lit fireplace in our room and the hot water bottles in our bed at night.

Loved the serene and beautiful lake scenery. The landscape was wonderful, a fishpond with koi and a cascading waterfall was located just outside of our room.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cabanasdellagoadm, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hosteria Cabanas del Lago, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear guest:
Thanks for your comments. We are sorry for the late response. By the time you wrote them, we didn't have a good performance in social networks and also, we didn't have a assigned person to do that labor. Thanks for take the time to write them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Located in a remote area of the Andes Mountains, Cabanas del Lago sits on a pristine lake, where guest have access to water crafts, perfectly appointed log cabins, and a lovely dining room & bar area over the water. The flowers and landscapes are a wonder...more like a Disney Park, than a remote location in the mountains of Ecuador. This lovely resort is perfect and replete with sweet critters in lovely enclosures and Indigenous People making their wares in a hut in the center of this garden in paradise. One might also visit a local grammar school, (with permission of course) which is located down a dirt road just west of lodge. There, the children receive, not only the "three Rs", but life skills and vocational training. The young students were dressed in Indigenous costumes and performed several lovely dances for us. This is such a peaceful country and the Andes Mountains are cloaked in misty beauty. The Cabanas del Lago was one of five excellent and remote lodges we enjoyed while traveling through Ecuador.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cabanasdellagoadm, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hosteria Cabanas del Lago, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear guest:
Thanks for your comments. We are sorry for the late response. By the time you wrote them, we didn't have a good performance in social networks and also, we didn't have a assigned person to do that labor. Thanks for take the time to write them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluffton, South Carolina
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

What a beautiful hotel. As you are driving in, you have no idea what is there. Go around the corner and there is this great resort on a lake. It was very cool and while we were at dinner, the staff lighted a fire in the fireplace and put a hot water bottle in the bed to warm it up. Really enjoyed this hotel and it is highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cabanasdellagoadm, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hosteria Cabanas del Lago, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear guest:
Thanks for your comments. We are sorry for the late response. By the time you wrote them, we didn't have a good performance in social networks and also, we didn't have a assigned person to do that labor. Thanks for take the time to write them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

2 bedroom huts tucked in between the Andes, on a lake. UNBELIEVABLE. Gets chilly in the mountains so you can choose to have the staff light your fireplace during a delicious dinner. When you get back to your room there are hot water bottles in your bed to keep you warm! The staff was great, the views were AMAZING. Beautiful flowers, very clean. Gate 1 did it again! Another FANTASTIC location!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cabanasdellagoadm, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hosteria Cabanas del Lago, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear guest:
Thanks for your comments. We are sorry for the late response. By the time you wrote them, we didn't have a good performance in social networks and also, we didn't have a assigned person to do that labor. Thanks for take the time to write them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hosteria Cabanas del Lago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hosteria Cabanas del Lago

Address: Lago San Pablo Otavalo Imbabura Ecuador | Otavalo Lago San Pablo, Otavalo 0000, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Imbabura Province > Otavalo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Otavalo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hosteria Cabanas del Lago 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An awesome lakeside hotel offers a traditional and international cuisine. Comfortable and cozy cabins decorated with a unique andean-contemporary style. Beautiful and peaceful gardens in the middle of a typical andean scenery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hosteria Cabanas del Lago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hosteria Cabanas Del Lago Hotel Otavalo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hosteria Cabanas del Lago, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.