We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pictureque but maintenance staff haven't a clue” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hosteria Cabanas del Lago

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hosteria Cabanas del Lago to your Saves list
Hosteria Cabanas del Lago
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Lago San Pablo Otavalo Imbabura Ecuador | Otavalo Lago San Pablo, Otavalo 0000, Ecuador   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 21 Otavalo B&B and Inns
Toronto
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Pictureque but maintenance staff haven't a clue”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Beautiful location, breakfast and dinner right on the water. Meal okay, mediocre.
Entered cabin and heard smoke detector beeping. Called staff who tried to tell me the beeping was from his radio but eventually convinced him otherwise. He took it down but didn't know how it worked so I showed him where the battery was and that he need a new one. He came back with the smoke detector in a rattan tray and reinstalled it. I said he should test it but he didn't know how. I tested it and it didn't work. Checked and he had replaced the battery the wrong way around ( negative to negative etc) I corrected it and it started beeping again. Eventually they did find a new battery and got it working but I was told it is mainly for visitors as they don't use such things in Ecuador. Then a pot light didn't work and we went through the same thing so I managed to fix it myself. The fireplace has a grate that doesn't stop the wood from rolling out and of course it did for me falling onto the hardwood floor. Then the smoke detector went off and there were no fireplace tools to pick it up. Very dangerous with no hearth, wouldn't be allowed in North America. Room was also very noisy, could hear everything the adjoining cabin was saying. What a night!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cabanasdellagoadm, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hosteria Cabanas del Lago, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear guest:
Thanks for your comments. We are sorry for the late response. By the time you wrote them, we didn't have a good performance in social networks and also, we didn't have a assigned person to do that labor. Thanks for take the time to write them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    29
    8
    4
    3
See reviews for
33
41
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Larkspur, CA
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Totally wonderful and charming place. Comfortable rooms with a wonderful fire lit in the fireplace when you return from dinner. the flowers all around the grounds are stunning and all the staff are friendly and helpful.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cabanasdellagoadm, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hosteria Cabanas del Lago, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear guest:
Thanks for your comments. We are sorry for the late response. By the time you wrote them, we didn't have a good performance in social networks and also, we didn't have a assigned person to do that labor. Thanks for take the time to write them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Augustine, Florida
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

This hotel is located right on the shores of Lago San Pablo, and the cottages are just so cute, little porches to sit on, flowers surrounding the whole grounds. It was really a beautiful place. Fireplaces are lite while you are in dinner and you come back to a toasty room.

Room Tip: Just an awesome place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cabanasdellagoadm, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hosteria Cabanas del Lago, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear guest:
Thanks for your comments. We are sorry for the late response. By the time you wrote them, we didn't have a good performance in social networks and also, we didn't have a assigned person to do that labor. Thanks for take the time to write them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Greenwich, Rhode Island
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Beautiful views, cozy restaurant and the best touch was the lit fireplace when we returned to our room from dinner. Nice touch, and loved the rooms with their own little "porch". The only complaint is the wine was a little pricey at $29 per bottle. Similar bottles are $8 in town.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cabanasdellagoadm, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hosteria Cabanas del Lago, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear guest:
Thanks for your comments. We are sorry for the late response. By the time you wrote them, we didn't have a good performance in social networks and also, we didn't have a assigned person to do that labor. Thanks for take the time to write them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

What a beautiful and unique boutique hotel in such a nice location. The rooms are very comfortable and are surrounded by well maintained gardens on the shore of a serene lake. You can see the mountains in the distance and we had a stunning sunset.

Many have already commented on the fireplaces in the rooms. It is remarkable how nice it is to return from dinner to a lit fire.

We were on a guided tour. The following morning we visited a school located very close to the hotel. The hotel combined with the visit to the school made this a very special place and one of our most memorable stops in Ecuador.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cabanasdellagoadm, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hosteria Cabanas del Lago, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear guest:
Thanks for your comments. We are sorry for the late response. By the time you wrote them, we didn't have a good performance in social networks and also, we didn't have a assigned person to do that labor. Thanks for take the time to write them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osage Beach, Missouri
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

A beautiful place on a beautiful lake - Good food - we had a very short stay so were not able to see the area or any facilities but would love to return for a couple of days - Nice bar and great views form the dining room

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cabanasdellagoadm, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hosteria Cabanas del Lago, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear guest:
Thanks for your comments. We are sorry for the late response. By the time you wrote them, we didn't have a good performance in social networks and also, we didn't have a assigned person to do that labor. Thanks for take the time to write them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quito
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

This is an small Hotle located, in a lake of Ecuador called San Pablo .
THe hotel mantains the architecture of Old Indian Houses, but it has all the modern amenaties.
You can enjoy very good food, they have special tour artound the lake, and the mountains and the scenary surrounfding the Hotel transmits to you peace,.
rooms are very comfortable, pleas be sure to ask for the new rooms, and if they have one with looks to the lake it will be superb,
Prices are reasonable, and food is very good

Room Tip: Please ask for a new room with a llok to the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cabanasdellagoadm, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hosteria Cabanas del Lago, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear guest:
Thanks for your comments. We are sorry for the late response. By the time you wrote them, we didn't have a good performance in social networks and also, we didn't have a assigned person to do that labor. Thanks for take the time to write them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hosteria Cabanas del Lago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hosteria Cabanas del Lago

Address: Lago San Pablo Otavalo Imbabura Ecuador | Otavalo Lago San Pablo, Otavalo 0000, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Imbabura Province > Otavalo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Otavalo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hosteria Cabanas del Lago 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An awesome lakeside hotel offers a traditional and international cuisine. Comfortable and cozy cabins decorated with a unique andean-contemporary style. Beautiful and peaceful gardens in the middle of a typical andean scenery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hosteria Cabanas del Lago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hosteria Cabanas Del Lago Hotel Otavalo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hosteria Cabanas del Lago, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.