We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place with great views all around” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hosteria Rose Cottage

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hosteria Rose Cottage to your Saves list
Hosteria Rose Cottage
Mojanda, Otavalo, Ecuador   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
White Rock, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Amazing place with great views all around”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

We initially booked for 3 nights including the Saturday market. Breakfast is earlier that day and one of the staff drops you off at the animal market. Quite an experience this market. We ended up staying 6 nights.
We were captivated by the views and enticed into walking in the countryside and a trip to laguna Mojande is a "must do".

The owner and ALL the staff were all very welcoming and all trying to make us feel at home. Always having a smile ready.
We only ate one night in town and all the other meals were at the cottage restaurant and delicious.!

We will definitely recommend it to anybody we meet on our travels.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    15
    12
    5
    3
See reviews for
7
38
20
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

We had an amazing stay at Hosteria Rose Cottage. We were lucky when we were there that the owners were also visiting as they normally live in the UK and they were so welcoming. In saying that the manager and staff could not be nicer or more helpful and work extremely hard to ensure that all guests have a wonderful stay.

Everything you can think of is catered for. They serve meals at night should you wish to eat here and not head into town and the cooking is superb. We ate here on all three nights that we stayed and the meals were wonderful, one night they even had shepherds pie (my favourite) but my partner doesn't eat mash so the manager kindly made him a chicken curry instead and both were delicious.

The communal area has books you can read and games. There is a plethora of animals around including the cutest dogs who are so enthusiastic and a lovely little donkey!

We were there when the weather was sunny in the day but cold at night and they made sure we had plenty of blankets but you can also hire a hot water bottle and they make you very comfortable.

The room was quaint and very clean abeit a little small. They did offer us other rooms but we were happy where we were and remained.

There is good internet up in the communal lounge and the office area which is great.

There are also plenty of chill out areas and hammocks outside including a childrens one so you can take in the breath taking scenery. They will also give you maps to go for local walks which are beautiful.

The night the owners were there, they ate dinner with us and made us so welcome that we felt we could be visiting friends. It was a wonderful night and really made our stay.

I cannot recommend Hosteria Rose Cottage enough!

Room Tip: The little cottages are gorgeous but we also had a simple double room and it was also quaint and com...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vilcabamba, Ecuador
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

Views, staff, rooms, meals, hikes ... everything is awesome !

We stayed here for 4 days and in 3 nights. This is the perfect place to rest after hikes, market days around the city of Otavalo.

Already recommanded to all the travelers we met during our world trip !

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quito, Ecuador
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

I stayed here for a month and I had the most incredible time. The views are beautiful, like nothing I have ever seen. The staff are so so friendly and it has a really nice family meal to the place. Dinner was delicious too! I did not want to leave.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv, Israel
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

we stayed here for 1 week, the views are amazing, the staff is very friendly, the internet is working great and the vibe is awesome... thank you Carlos and Guadeloupe for an amazing experience ! it could get cold in the night and not all the rooms have a heater... its the only minus all the rest was super good !

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
224 helpful votes 224 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

This hostel has gorgeous views, nice dinners, comfy warm beds, and french press coffee at breakfast, but we wished we would have known the following things before we arrived:

1) The wooden cottage is too small for tall/large people. Ceilings are around 6" tall on the lower level and bathroom is too small for a tall person to be able to sit on the toilet. My husband (6'4") couldn't stand up on the bottom floor and kept almost hitting his head on light bulbs. If only staying for 1 night, this could be fun/funny, but if staying for a longer term, I'd opt for another room. I'll attach a picture of my husband with the cabin to give it scale.

2) Internet is unreliable. Talking on Skype is difficult/delayed and normal webpages often won't load -- if it works at all. We had only a few hours of slow internet on our first day even after they called the company twice. They explained the reason for this (and why it can't be better/fixed anytime soon) but still, if you need reliable internet, do not stay at this hostel. Some rooms have Wifi, others don't so be sure to read the room description carefully to be sure that it says Wifi.

3) As mentioned in other recent reviews, there seem to be issues with hot water. Our gas tank was almost out when we arrived, so we had a few minutes of hot water each day until the tank finally ran out. We didn't realize this that this could be fixed in a few minutes by changing the gas tank; assumed that the tiny cottage had a tiny water heater/this was the norm. The two other couples visiting at the same time as us also reported hot water issues. The hostel has said that they are working on it.

3) Breakfast includes bread/rolls, jam, butter, coffee, and juice. To add eggs, it costs $3... which is ridiculously expensive. A ham and cheese omelet costs the same price ($3), so might as well get more for the $$. My husband says he's about to go on a crusade against hotels calling cold bread "breakfast". ;)

4) Hard to find someone if you need help/have a question. They have a bell to ring in the middle of all the buildings, but it feels obnoxious. Only Spanish spoken and the owners are in England (but can be reached by email).

5) Ride into town for the animal market is provided, but they piled 8 of us into a small SUV with 2 in the cargo/trunk area and people sitting in others laps... seemed a bit strange/disorganized since they knew how many people they would need to transport and should have known that we wouldn't all fit into the one vehicle. If transportation is promised to guests, they should think in advance to be sure that everyone can fit in the transportation or call a $3 taxi.

7) Bring a flashlight and layered clothing. Nighttime is very dark and very cold! Our cabin had a heater, but other rooms didn't. None of the public spaces (including the restaurant) is heated... COLD!

We felt like the total price of the room once we factored in tax (+12%), taxis (+$6 per day), and breakfast (+$6) was too expensive. It ended up being way over our budget for a wooden cabin that we didn't fit in + bad internet + hot water issues... which was very frustrating for us, but we sent these experiences/concerns to the owners in England, and they explained/addressed many of them. They said that they can't fix the internet, but were planning on working to improve some of the other things, which we appreciated. The owners seem like they are doing their best to manage the hostel from afar... but maybe it's difficult to know/address the issues if you aren't around.

Room Tip: The wooden cottage is too small for tall/large people. Ceilings are around 6" tall on the lower...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HosteriaRoseCottage, Owner at Hosteria Rose Cottage, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
We are delighted you enjoyed the relaxing nature of our hostel. It is designed to be a place to unwind and relax in a hammock and we are glad you took advantage of the good weather you had whilst you were there. We are disappointed that you were unhappy with Cabana Cayembe for the duration of your stay. This is regularly one of our most popular rooms as it has wonderful views of the sun rise and couples regularly find it a romantic place to stay. However, we do take on board that it is not suitable for everyone, especially those over a height of 6’2”. It's a shame you did not let us know of your problems till your 5th day with us as we'd have been able to accomodate you in one of our other houses far sooner.

We are pleased to offer our guests complimentary early morning lifts down to the animal market each morning and are encouraged that so many of the guests took up this opportunity to see an authentic Andean animal market.

As a family run hostel in a rural community we aim to offer our guests a beautiful relaxing environment whilst improving the welfare of local people by training them in the tourism industry. We are very protective and proud of the work our staff do at Rose Cottage considering they all joined us with no prior experience. We like to think this keeps our place authentic but know that this can present challenges and areas for additional training for our staff. We will be taking on board your comments and will also be making clear that the management are always contactable at info@rosecottageecuador.com if there is a problem that cannot be resolved directly with our team.

Hosteria Rose Cottage
Mojandita
Otavalo
Local Tel:0997728115
www.rosecottageecuador.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Beautiful senery, lovely place, good dorm and single beds (bad U-mattress), warm enough, spacious room with shared bathroom with warm water. Everything is clean. You'll hear the waterfall in the room which is a relaxing sound.There is wifi at the receptionhouse and in/near the restaurant (I had problems loading internetpages). Dinner is really good. Breakfast is included and probably that's why it's only 2 breadrolls, butter and jam. Coffee/tea and juice comes along. If you like snacks, bring your own, it's a pretty isolated. The opening times of the restaurant vary, so ask when it's open or you'll wait for a closed door...There's a dog and lots of farmanimals. On Saterday they bring you to the market, which is huge. So plan a couple of hours to stroll along the streets and buy your souvenirs. A part of it is also on Sunday. Lots of hiking opportunities and horsebackriding (I felt sorry for the horse...)
Owners are not around and staff only speaks spanish. They are friendly but typical ecuadorian. They kicked us out of the restaurant at 8.30pm and immediately turned of all the lights. No compassion that is totally dark than and dangerous because we had to walk through the garden and down the stairs to the dorm. If there is a problem (like no hot water) there's no one around to ask to fix it. Another disappointment is that the prices are excl tax.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hosteria Rose Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hosteria Rose Cottage

Address: Mojanda, Otavalo, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Imbabura Province > Otavalo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 25 Specialty Lodging in Otavalo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HOSTERIA ROSE COTTAGE - A retreat in the heart of the Andes, and the perfect place for exploring the region’s attractions!Rose Cottage is an idyllic Hosteria with wonderful views in a rural setting overlooking the town of Otavalo, 3 kilometers away. Situated at an altitude of 2,800 metres, you’ll find it easy to forget that ten minutes down the road is the hive of activity of Otavalo, home to Ecuador’s most celebrated indigenous market. Our relaxed atmosphere and large open spaces make us popular with backpackers, couples and families alike.With seven different houses we have accommodation to suit all budgets. We offer a fully equipped family house, romantic chalet and a luxury apartment as well as double and single rooms and a comfortable dorm. Campers are also welcome. As well as a being an ideal base for independent travellers visiting the region, we are ideal for groups, parties, meetings, weddings, educational tours and learning Spanish.HOSTERIA ROSE COTTAGE OFFERS –- Attractive, affordable accommodation- Comfortable dormitory with TV room, safe storage & book exchange- Beautiful family house with stunning view & fireplace- Luxury cottage/suites with private fireplaces- Attractive restaurant with fireplace, terrace and live music- Spacious Library/meeting room with seating for 30- Hammocks, camping & outdoor log fire- Painting materials and musical instruments available- Friendly animals on site- Picturesque walks/horserding from Hosteria- Tennis court/table-tennis ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Hosteria Rose Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hosteria Rose Cottage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.