We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Internet is not reliable; Hot water issues; and the wooden cabin is only for [very] little people.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hosteria Rose Cottage

Save Saved
You added Hosteria Rose Cottage to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hosteria Rose Cottage
Mojanda, Otavalo, Ecuador   |  
Hotel amenities
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
“Internet is not reliable; Hot water issues; and the wooden cabin is only for [very] little people.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

This hostel has gorgeous views, nice dinners, comfy warm beds, and french press coffee at breakfast, but we wished we would have known the following things before we arrived:

1) The wooden cottage is too small for tall/large people. Ceilings are around 6" tall on the lower level and bathroom is too small for a tall person to be able to sit on the toilet. My husband (6'4") couldn't stand up on the bottom floor and kept almost hitting his head on light bulbs. If only staying for 1 night, this could be fun/funny, but if staying for a longer term, I'd opt for another room. I'll attach a picture of my husband with the cabin to give it scale.

2) Internet is unreliable. Talking on Skype is difficult/delayed and normal webpages often won't load -- if it works at all. We had only a few hours of slow internet on our first day even after they called the company twice. They explained the reason for this (and why it can't be better/fixed anytime soon) but still, if you need reliable internet, do not stay at this hostel. Some rooms have Wifi, others don't so be sure to read the room description carefully to be sure that it says Wifi.

3) As mentioned in other recent reviews, there seem to be issues with hot water. Our gas tank was almost out when we arrived, so we had a few minutes of hot water each day until the tank finally ran out. We didn't realize this that this could be fixed in a few minutes by changing the gas tank; assumed that the tiny cottage had a tiny water heater/this was the norm. The two other couples visiting at the same time as us also reported hot water issues. The hostel has said that they are working on it.

3) Breakfast includes bread/rolls, jam, butter, coffee, and juice. To add eggs, it costs $3... which is ridiculously expensive. A ham and cheese omelet costs the same price ($3), so might as well get more for the $$. My husband says he's about to go on a crusade against hotels calling cold bread "breakfast". ;)

4) Hard to find someone if you need help/have a question. They have a bell to ring in the middle of all the buildings, but it feels obnoxious. Only Spanish spoken and the owners are in England (but can be reached by email).

5) Ride into town for the animal market is provided, but they piled 8 of us into a small SUV with 2 in the cargo/trunk area and people sitting in others laps... seemed a bit strange/disorganized since they knew how many people they would need to transport and should have known that we wouldn't all fit into the one vehicle. If transportation is promised to guests, they should think in advance to be sure that everyone can fit in the transportation or call a $3 taxi.

7) Bring a flashlight and layered clothing. Nighttime is very dark and very cold! Our cabin had a heater, but other rooms didn't. None of the public spaces (including the restaurant) is heated... COLD!

We felt like the total price of the room once we factored in tax (+12%), taxis (+$6 per day), and breakfast (+$6) was too expensive. It ended up being way over our budget for a wooden cabin that we didn't fit in + bad internet + hot water issues... which was very frustrating for us, but we sent these experiences/concerns to the owners in England, and they explained/addressed many of them. They said that they can't fix the internet, but were planning on working to improve some of the other things, which we appreciated. The owners seem like they are doing their best to manage the hostel from afar... but maybe it's difficult to know/address the issues if you aren't around.

Room Tip: The wooden cottage is too small for tall/large people. Ceilings are around 6" tall on the lower...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HosteriaRoseCottage, Owner at Hosteria Rose Cottage, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
We are delighted you enjoyed the relaxing nature of our hostel. It is designed to be a place to unwind and relax in a hammock and we are glad you took advantage of the good weather you had whilst you were there. We are disappointed that you were unhappy with Cabana Cayembe for the duration of your stay. This is regularly one of our most popular rooms as it has wonderful views of the sun rise and couples regularly find it a romantic place to stay. However, we do take on board that it is not suitable for everyone, especially those over a height of 6’2”. It's a shame you did not let us know of your problems till your 5th day with us as we'd have been able to accomodate you in one of our other houses far sooner.

We are pleased to offer our guests complimentary early morning lifts down to the animal market each morning and are encouraged that so many of the guests took up this opportunity to see an authentic Andean animal market.

As a family run hostel in a rural community we aim to offer our guests a beautiful relaxing environment whilst improving the welfare of local people by training them in the tourism industry. We are very protective and proud of the work our staff do at Rose Cottage considering they all joined us with no prior experience. We like to think this keeps our place authentic but know that this can present challenges and areas for additional training for our staff. We will be taking on board your comments and will also be making clear that the management are always contactable at info@rosecottageecuador.com if there is a problem that cannot be resolved directly with our team.

Hosteria Rose Cottage
Mojandita
Otavalo
Local Tel:0997728115
www.rosecottageecuador.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    51
    9
    9
    3
    3
See reviews for
5
32
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Beautiful senery, lovely place, good dorm and single beds (bad U-mattress), warm enough, spacious room with shared bathroom with warm water. Everything is clean. You'll hear the waterfall in the room which is a relaxing sound.There is wifi at the receptionhouse and in/near the restaurant (I had problems loading internetpages). Dinner is really good. Breakfast is included and probably that's why it's only 2 breadrolls, butter and jam. Coffee/tea and juice comes along. If you like snacks, bring your own, it's a pretty isolated. The opening times of the restaurant vary, so ask when it's open or you'll wait for a closed door...There's a dog and lots of farmanimals. On Saterday they bring you to the market, which is huge. So plan a couple of hours to stroll along the streets and buy your souvenirs. A part of it is also on Sunday. Lots of hiking opportunities and horsebackriding (I felt sorry for the horse...)
Owners are not around and staff only speaks spanish. They are friendly but typical ecuadorian. They kicked us out of the restaurant at 8.30pm and immediately turned of all the lights. No compassion that is totally dark than and dangerous because we had to walk through the garden and down the stairs to the dorm. If there is a problem (like no hot water) there's no one around to ask to fix it. Another disappointment is that the prices are excl tax.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Comfortable beds, hot showers, good food and wonderful hospitality. Rose went out of her way to take care of us - she started a fire for us so we could roast marshmallows, she drove us to and from the market multiple times at no charge, and she even cooked for us at a separate dining time so we could eat before going to the airport. She was so lovely. Beautiful views and hiking around the cottage.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

We planned to visit the Otavalo market for one day only and arrived the day before in order to get there on time. Luckily, Hosteria Rose Cottage offers transportation to the market as it is some distance from the town.

The owner is very welcoming and upon our late arrival (8 pm) we were still able to get a very good tasty meal at the hosteria's restaurant, which we very much appreciated!

Both the meal and the transport to the market we liked very much about this place and its location and view on the mountains itself is worth the stay. Also our room was very clean!

There were a number of things we were less enthousiastic about and we think that Rose Cottage can easily improve these. At first, in the evening we wanted to take a shower, the shower became steeming hot for two seconds to turn into ice cold water afterwards, we gave it a second try in the morning, but again ice cold..... Thus we didn't shower and didn't consider it possible with this temperature (if it would have been really warm outside... it wouldn't have been an issue of course, but it was about 10 degrees Celsius!).

The second thing we disliked was the breakfast, two dry pieces of bread with one type of marmelade, we would have liked some more options for the breakfast and a toaster or something would have helped for the bread.

We booked our stay via Hostelbookers, which gives an amount due to be paid upon arrival, in some strange way we were told on-site that this doesn't include the taxes, so bear in mind that prices might be 10% higher when paying on-site.

For one night we didn't really mind about the cold shower and the breakfast, but we would not be wanting to go back there for more nights than 1 and wouldn't recommend others doing so at this moment.

We hope the showers and breakfast will improve as we are sure that the stay would have been rated far much better by us with these two items in order.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HosteriaRoseCottage, Owner at Hosteria Rose Cottage, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
We were glad you enjoyed your short stay at our Hosteria and had a good dinner as well as appreciating the free transportation to the town. We want to assure you and other readers that the items you were not so happy about will of course be taken care of. On the breakfast, the complimentary continental breakfast should include fresh rolls, fresh juice and coffee or tea, and then for extra payment you can order eggs, pancakes etc if required. And as for the showers, that has been easily fixed, the gas water heater needed a new gas tank which of course we have done.

Finally it is quite correct that we add 12% Ecuadorian sales tax to all amounts due, this is clearly stated on the confirmation email that Hostelbookers or ourselves send out as well as on their and our websites.

We hope that answers your points , and that you will come back for a longer stay next time. Meantime we were very pleased to read today that Tripadvisor has just awarded us a certificate of excellence for being the #1 Hostel in Otavalo,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

We went for with intention of staying a day or two and ended staying five. We were extremely sick our first day and Guadalupe was wonderful checking on us and helping arrange for supplies to be delivered to us. Gorgeous view, friendly staff, lots more to do and see in the area than the market.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

The very friendly owners are here to help you with services. The best thing about this stay, is the spectacular view. Very good restaurant in house too. Its a 3USD taxi ride, or 1 hour walking, from Otavalo.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quito
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

My wife and I live in Quito and were looking for a place to chill out during the easter holiday weekend. Normally during national holidays it's a mess to go somewhere as the entire country seems to be moving in every possible direction at the same time.
However, we found out about Rose Cottage and made reservations two days ahead. The place is fantastic.

With several different accommodation types to choose from it makes a good fit for any kind of traveller that doesn't mind a location that is a bit remote. However, the staff were happy to help us to order a taxi whenever we needed one to go downtown (about 15-20 minutes taxi ride).
There are plenty of hammocks, amazing views, a restaurant where you can get some meals (and beers and other beverages), a common room with boardgames and a DVD collection, etc.

Defientely recommend it and will defientely stay next visit to Otavalo.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hosteria Rose Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hosteria Rose Cottage

Address: Mojanda, Otavalo, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Imbabura Province > Otavalo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 19 Specialty lodging in Otavalo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HOSTERIA ROSE COTTAGE - A retreat in the heart of the Andes, and the perfect place for exploring the region’s attractions!Rose Cottage is an idyllic Hosteria with wonderful views in a rural setting overlooking the town of Otavalo, 3 kilometers away. Situated at an altitude of 2,800 metres, you’ll find it easy to forget that ten minutes down the road is the hive of activity of Otavalo, home to Ecuador’s most celebrated indigenous market. Our relaxed atmosphere and large open spaces make us popular with backpackers, couples and families alike.With seven different houses we have accommodation to suit all budgets. We offer a fully equipped family house, romantic chalet and a luxury apartment as well as double and single rooms and a comfortable dorm. Campers are also welcome. As well as a being an ideal base for independent travellers visiting the region, we are ideal for groups, parties, meetings, weddings, educational tours and learning Spanish.HOSTERIA ROSE COTTAGE OFFERS –- Attractive, affordable accommodation- Comfortable dormitory with TV room, safe storage & book exchange- Beautiful family house with stunning view & fireplace- Luxury cottage/suites with private fireplaces- Attractive restaurant with fireplace, terrace and live music- Spacious Library/meeting room with seating for 30- Hammocks, camping & outdoor log fire- Painting materials and musical instruments available- Friendly animals on site- Picturesque walks/horserding from Hosteria- Tennis court/table-tennis ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and HostelBookers so you can book your Hosteria Rose Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hosteria Rose Cottage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.