We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent place on the main drag” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mi Otavalito

Mi Otavalito
Sucre 11-19, Otavalo, Ecuador
+593 (0)6 292 0176
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 47 Restaurants in Otavalo
Cuisines: South American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Reservations
Quito
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Decent place on the main drag”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

We had lunch at this rest. during the week. They have a menu and also have a daily offering which will change every day. Prices were reasonable, and the place was nice, good service and good standard fresh food. I ordered the Corvina which was done well. The place is nice inside, and the workers were dressed in authentic clothing. I could recommend this place.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    26
    12
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Go upstairs for fresh fun lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

They were roasting a huge pork roast on the sidewalk out front. We walked into the white table cloth dining room and asked if we could have the pork and they said it was only served upstairs. So we went up there. There was no menu but they brought us each a plate of pork from the roast, a piece of the carmelized skin, mote and salad. It was heaven.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere and great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We had a great meal the evening before the market here. The place is cozy and the service was impeccable. We had a great pork chop in spicy sauce, grilled chicken breast. Both dishes were prepared very and quite well presented. The Chilean Carmenere was quite good and a live band was playing in the background Andean music. Our waitress was very alert to our needs, friendly and on top of everything. She suggested a Pina Flameado (a great pineapple dessert with a brandy sauce) that was incredibly good. The morning after the restaurant was open during the market offering a great "lechon asado" for both inside consumption or as carry-out food.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powell River, Canada
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Not prepared for Saturdays”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

This might have been a beautiful interlude in Otavalo's hectic market day, as the restaurant is cozy and attractive, with a menu sporting such oddities as Pineapple Flameado and Ceviche Otavalito, not to mention a long-awaited cappuccino. However, the espresso machine was not working, there was no toilet paper in the bathrooms, the water for tea was tepid, the somewhat tasty consomme was tepid, too, and the service was incredibly slow since the poor waitress had far too many tables to serve--all this to the accompaniment of the live but middling Ecuadorian-music band who played El Condor Pasa excruciatingly slowly about six times while we were there. Trying to save time and serve us better, our waitress tried to deliver a global verbal amount rather than take the time to write a bill. Interesting, but once was enough.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

The restaurant is cozy and decorated with original table sets and there is a life band playing traditional music. The selection on the menu is average but the food is good and the portions are on the bigger side.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mi Otavalito also viewed

Otavalo, Imbabura Province
Otavalo, Imbabura Province
 
Otavalo, Imbabura Province
Otavalo, Imbabura Province
 

Been to Mi Otavalito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mi Otavalito, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.