We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful views, spacious rooms and delightful staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hostal Chasqui

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hostal Chasqui to your Saves list
Hostal Chasqui
Piedrahita 141, Otavalo, Ecuador   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful views, spacious rooms and delightful staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

Hostel chasqui has a great location, a few minutes walk from the main plaza, and the rooms and balconies have beautiful views across the town and the surrounding mountains.

Milton and Roberto, the owners, were so kind and welcoming, and the level of helpful tourist information that they provided on arrival, alongside a detailed map surpassed that of any other hostel in Ecuador. Even when we had some trouble with kitchen water pressure due to street construction, they were very responsive in fixing this issue as quickly as possible.

Great value for money - large double room with private bathroom and TV and DVD player!

Excellent facilities, clean kitchen with two stoves, free laundry (!), strong wifi, large DVD selection and great drying facilities on roof.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    28
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
45
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

The GOOD : We arrived to Chasqui with such a warm welcome and were given an ensuite room with a TV and DVD player! The rooms were comfy and upon arrival we were given all necessary information such as tourist spots and good restaurants. They even do laundry for free which is brilliant!

They have hundreds of DVDs and when we asked if we could stay longer, it wasnt just a "yeah, sure", like most hostels would say, it was a "of course, were happy to have you in our home and can we get you anything - clean towels etc?" which I thought was really good customer service.

Additionally, whilst the building is on the outskirts of the main central area, its only a 5 minute walk to the main plazas. The building is slightly on a hill and the views from the kitchen are just brilliant.

The BAD: We explored the hostel a little bit, its huge with what looks like a projector TV, a bar, an outside area and loads of rooms. This could be such a brilliant hostel for young people, rather than a hotel and its a shame most of the space is wasted/not being used. The only one criticism we have of the hostel (and its not major) is that the staff are sparse. We could have quite easily walked out without paying (but we didnt!).

The UGLY: Nothing!

This place was a really nice place to stay and explore the town with a really affordable price. If we are ever in Otavalo again, we will definately be staying here. Also, the statue of Bender (Futurama) in the lobby is awesome!

Room Tip: we were on the outside lower floor. The shower was hot and powerful and the views were great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

We had a large double room with private bathroom for $12ea per night. The room was clean and nicely decorated. The bed was very comfortable and with good pillows (which is rare!). There is a big kitchen with two cookers and three fridges. There are multiple sun decks (some hammocks/ comfy hang out furniture would be a nice addition and we just might not leave). There is a TV and DVD player in the room with some DVDs. The shower was hot. There are sinks and a washing machine you can for free. The rooms ate quiet and dark at night.
The best thing about this place though is Roberto the owner. He couldn't be more helpful. Every person that arrives he gives a full very useful orientation with a map describing all the highlights of the town and what to pay for each part. He is super helpful with everything and could not be more attentive. He genuinely enjoys helping people which means its a pleasure for all concerned. Absolutely top rating from me for a hostel.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jena
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We stayed several nights at Hostel Chasqui ($12 per night per person) in a double room with our own bathroom. Both were clean and comfortable. The hostel is a short walk from the main plaza and has a huge communal kitchen on the roof top with a view on Otavalo and its surroundings. Owner Roberto is a great guy, helpful and always up for a talk or a story to tell. He makes you feel more than welcome.
There is Wifi and a washing machine that you can use free of charge.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

we stayed 2 nights in a double room with private bath.

+ wilson is a nice guy and informed us well about otavalo as well as the things to do
+ free and reliable wifi
+ well situated in a quiet corner (5' walk to the market, center, atm, and supermarket)
+ common kitchen for use
+ huge rooftop with great view
+ free use of laundry facilities

what could be improved in our view:
- refurbish the rooms a bit and make sure that there is warm water all day
- provide a few nice chairs on your fantastic rooftop
- make sure that the entry does not look abandoned (we felt as it would not exist anymore)
- bathroom and common could have been cleaner (but have not been dirty either)

our conclusion: okay place with good value for money. but the place could be much better with a few minor improvements (and then you could easily charge a few dollars more...)

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We had a pleasant stay at Hostal Chasqui but this was mainly down to the staff. When we arrived Milton gave us a tour, a map and loads of information about the town and excursions that we could do. Both he and Roberto were always friendly and tried to fix things straight away for us. We had a double room with a bathroom for $24 a night. It was very cosy, the beds were comfortable and it was very clean. The wifi didn't work in the room, but worked just outside the room where there were some chairs. There was a DVD player in the room and they have a massive collection of DVDs (many in English) so that was great. The shared kitchen is massive, but could do with a bit of a clean and at times the fridge was unplugged.
The main issues we had was that we only had hot water on one of three days, there was no water at all two of three mornings and there seemed to be only one gas canister, so every time we wanted to use the kitchen or the shower we had to ask for the gas...
An advantage of the hostel is it's location. It's close to the centre of town but far away from the noise.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

After a 15 hour bus journey over the colombian border, I really could care less what the hostel was like as long as it had a bed- Hostel Chasqui was SUCH a welcome sight! They welcomed us in late at 11:30, and gave us our choice of two 2 rooms.The owner (Roberto?) and main staff guy (Milton) were always so kind to us, and every suggestion they made was great- food, outings, etc. the room was spacious enough for us and the shower hot, we added 4 days on to the itinerary and stayed a week! They will come clean the room and change linens, but asked us first. The kitchen is totally decent for cooking, plus has beautiful views. You can easily walk all around town safely, I think we only took a cab one time. I can't say enough nice things about these guys or Otavalo!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hostal Chasqui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Chasqui

Address: Piedrahita 141, Otavalo, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Imbabura Province > Otavalo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 25 Specialty Lodging in Otavalo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Hostal Chasqui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostal Chasqui, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.