We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but overpriced” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riviera

Riviera
V.E. Estrada 707 y Ficus, Guayaquil, Ecuador
042883790
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 173 restaurants in Guayaquil
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Guayaquil, Ecuador
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good but overpriced”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

I went to Riviera a few weeks ago with my wife and kids. We had a decent lasagna and beef raviolis and paid over $50 bucks. Paying over $50 for pasta is a crime. Good food but come on- $50 bucks.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

92% Recommend
    113
    36
    9
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“fun and yummy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

I happened to be here with family on Valentines day and they restaurant was very festive and fun. We enjoyed the food very much and felt that the service was friendly and accommodating. Seemed like a family style genuine restaurant with good food and staff.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, BC
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Long time restaurant with great menu and cuisine!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

I have been visiting Guayaquil for many years and Riviera is a restaurant in the Urdessa neighbourhood that I always return to. The extensive Italian menu has something for everyone and all of the cuisine is always delicious. Service can be a bit inconsistent, but the cuisine is worth it. They also have a Slow Food menu of which I chose two items; their rendition of Tuna Tonnato which was made with thin slices of tender pork and sprinkled with peanuts as opposed to capers, then a gnocchi made with yucca flour (a staple in Ecuador) with a rich cheese sauce. My friends have been going to Riviera for years and always love the cuisine. One had a cheese plate then gnocchi with tomato sauce. The other had a portobello mushroom appetizer followed by lamb chops. It was a great lunch with nice wine!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guayaquil, Ecuador
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Best Italian in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

This is one of the best choises u can make for eating, expensive though, but u get the best deal for your money. Bon Apetit!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent Italian Food with Exceptional Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Excellent Italian food. Moderate portions. My husband is a huge eater, so we ordered a pizza margerita as an appetizer which did the trick. He had the seafood pasta and I had the lasagna - both excellent. An assortment of breads before the meal and then at the end, a couple of handmade chocolates and a little gift bag with a souvenir Xmas ornament to finish off with. Best service I've seen in a long time. The whole meal set us back about $50 - very reasonable.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Riviera also viewed

Guayaquil, Guayas Province
Guayaquil, Guayas Province
 
Guayaquil, Guayas Province
Guayaquil, Guayas Province
 

Been to Riviera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riviera, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.