We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel in a central location that is a good value too!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Palace Guayaquil

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Palace Guayaquil to your Saves list
Hotel Palace Guayaquil
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Chile # 214 entre calle Luque y calle Velez, Guayaquil 090110, Ecuador   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Breakfast & Minibar
Ranked #3 of 53 Hotels in Guayaquil
Morristown, New Jersey
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
“Nice hotel in a central location that is a good value too!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

We spent a few nights here taking in the local sites. The hotel is primarily for business clientele and the rates are higher during the week. Check their website for specials, which are a good deal. The rooms are well equipped. Our king sized bed and pillows were very comfortable and I slept well. There was free internet which was fast. The bathroom was small but there was decent space for things by the tub/shower and sink counter. Shampoo and conditioner and soap were provided, no lotion so bring your own. Our room had a safe and lots of nice hangers. The rooms were very clean. I needed a band aid while there and the front desk supplied. All the staff were welcoming and helpful. Cabs were arranged, boarding passes were printed from the free computers in the lobby and local directions and maps were supplied.

Breakfast was served in a loft-like area over the main dining room. There were always 2 hot dishes to choose from and a long list of items you could order every day in addition. Fresh fruit was ripe and sweet and there were a lot of different pastries to choose from. There was also yoghurt, cereal, juice and meats and cheeses. Coffee was good too. We didn't get bored with the food over our three days.

I would recommend this hotel if you are staying in Guayaquil. The location is central and safe.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorena G, Director General at Hotel Palace Guayaquil, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you very much for your nice and complete comment about the Hotel. We are very happy to read it.

We are glad to know that our staff were helpful with you, also it is nice to read that you enjoy our breakfast buffet and the internet service.

Your comments about our room cleanliness will be shared with our houskeeping department to motivate them to keep on track.

Please come back soon to Guayaquil, the staff of the Hotel Palace will be waiting for you.

Best Regards,

Lorena de Bianchini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    121
    29
    5
    1
See reviews for
69
104
30
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
vancouver, BC
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

We stayed here for two nights while we were on our way to Quito and after we returned from Quito and had to catch our flight the next day. We left on a Monday morning to Quito and they were kind enough to let me store my bags at the hotel until I returned on Friday. Their service is excellent, the staff is friendly and the rooms are very clean.I will stay here again should I find myself in Guayaquil.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorena G, Director Comercial at Hotel Palace Guayaquil, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you very much for your nice comments. We appreciate your intention of sharing with others your experience at Hotel Palace.

We are looking forward to your next visit, Hotel Palace is your home in Guayaquil.

Best Regards,

Lorena de Bianchini
Hotel Palace Guayaquil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

The Palace Hotel is nicely decorated, quiet, and well run. The breakfast buffet is excellent as well. It is located within a couple of blocks of the Malecon 2000 and within easy walking distance of the major sites. Our stay here was totally pleasant.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorena G, Director Comercial at Hotel Palace Guayaquil, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear Guest,


Thank you very much for sharing your good comments about the Palace Hotel. It is lovely to read that you appreciate our decoration and location.

Thank you again for trusting your Guayaquil Experience to us.

We hope to have you here again soon.

Best Regards,

Lorena Garay C
Hotel Palace Guayaquil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

We had a lovely stay here before and after our trip to the Galapagos. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The welcome cocktail was nice, as was the welcome back one too! The hotel is located just a stone's throw away from the wonderful iguana park and Cathedral, the Malecon (promanade) and the airport is only 15 minutes away.

The breakfast buffet was ok, but the halloween treats really made us smile!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorena G, Director Comercial at Hotel Palace Guayaquil, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Palace Hotel and comment about our conveniente location.

We are glad of being part of your Galapagos Experience and hope to have a new opportunity to serve you in your next visit to Guayaquil.


Best Regards,

Lorena Garay C.
Hotel Palace Guayaquil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

We only spent one night in the Hotel Palace Guayaquil and were totally pleased with our experience. The hotel is centrally located. The front desk staff are friendly and very organized. We received complementary cocktails upon arrival. Because we had a very early flight, the front desk offered to have a boxed breakfast ready for us. They took great care of us and made sure we got a taxi to and from our restaurant. The room was spacious, clean, with free WiFi and complementary water.
There are not a lot of choices for a place to stay in Guayaquil. If you are looking for good service at a reasonable price, this is a good choice.

Eileen

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorena G, Director Comercial at Hotel Palace Guayaquil, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for your nice comments about our Front Desk Staff. We are happy to have had the opportunity to serve you.

The boxed breakfast is an option for our guest who have an early flight and we are satisfied to know that you take advantage of it.

Please come back soon, Hotel Palace is your home in Guayaquil!

Best Regards,

Lorena Garay C.
Hotel Palace Guayaquil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

We chose the Hotel Palace over other larger hotels, based on great reviews and were not disappointed. I booked directly and all communication was clear and helpful. Love the location downtown, has feel of a boutique hotel - nice rooms, comfortable beds, and made us feel very welcome. We stayed one night both on way to and from Galapagos. After long day of travel, it was comfortable room, nice (included) buffet breakfast, and easy transport to airport. Return trip we had a bit more time, enjoyed the Malecon on Sunday afternoon/evening, then went back on Monday morning again. We wish we'd spent at least 2 nights so we could have enjoyed a full day in Guayaquil - we didn't have time to see much of the city and explore. We had dinner at the hotel both nights, food was very good, restaurant service was average. Staff helped me print out boarding passes for return flight.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorena G, Director Comercial at Hotel Palace Guayaquil, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for choosing Hotel Palace over than other hotels chains. Your comment makes stronger our service commitment to our guests.

We are very happy to of being part of your Galapagos Experience and also hope that you have the chance to return to Guayaquil to visit all the places you didn´t see.

Looking forward to your next visit.

Best Regards,

Lorena Garay C.
Hotel Palace Guayaquil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Upon returning to Guayaquil, we stayed here for the evening. Though driving to this downtown location was a bit harrowing, once we arrived we were able to park in the lot around the corner, though it was not valet parking. The multi-lingual staff was helpful and able to arrange travel to the airport next day, as well as allowing us to park the car for a few days at $8/day, which is far cheaper than airport parking.

The downtown location is a bit difficult to find given the traffic, but once there, it is close to the Malecon (nice walking area with shops, banks, restaurants, etc.) and we walked around for a few hours before dark. A very pleasant location to be in.

The rooms were clean and well-maintained, with AC, an mini-bar/fridge, TV, and nice bathroom. The lobby had a seating area, computers, and a restaurant is attached. We dined at the restaurant for dinner, which offered good food though slightly elevated prices for the area.

The biggest disappointment of this hotel was the noise level. There is either a dance club next door or there was a wedding reception the evening we stayed. Whichever it was, we could FEEL (and hear) the music until 430 am. Despite the comfort of the room, the noise level was difficult to handle and definitely detracted from our stay. It would be worth inquiring about noise and parties before booking a room. We did not get a chance to check around the hotel for a club.

The next morning, breakfast was supposed to be at 630, but come 700 am, the restaurant remained close. This was a shame as it was included, but we had to leave for the airport to catch a flight.

The value of this hotel is good and offers some nice amenities. However, the downtown location is possibly an issue due to noise.

Room Tip: Ask for something away from the street and not above the events location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorena G, Director Comercial at Hotel Palace Guayaquil, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you very much for sharing your opinion with us.

We are sorry to read your comments about the noise that night. Please rest assure that I will check this and look for an inmediate solution.

Best Regards,

Lorena Garay C.
Hotel Palace Guayaquil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Palace Guayaquil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palace Guayaquil

Address: Chile # 214 entre calle Luque y calle Velez, Guayaquil 090110, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Location: Ecuador > Guayas Province > Guayaquil
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 53 Hotels in Guayaquil
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Palace Guayaquil 3.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A landmark seven story hotel situated in the heart of the Guayaquil city center, Hotel Palace Guayaquil is considered to be one of the most traditional and well known hotels in town. Its ideal location is within easy walking distance to the city’s main attractions, financial and shopping areas. The hotel offers ninety five spacious, comfortable and charming guestrooms, all fully carpeted with high ceilings, individually controlled air conditioning, black out draperies, three telephones, including one in the bathroom with international direct dial... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Palace Guayaquil reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Palace Guayaquil, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.