We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just the way it should be!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Palace Guayaquil

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Palace Guayaquil to your Saves list
Hotel Palace Guayaquil
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Chile # 214 entre calle Luque y calle Velez, Guayaquil 090110, Ecuador   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$75 (USD)
Ranked #3 of 55 Hotels in Guayaquil
Lilburn, Georgia, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Just the way it should be!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We made a reservation on line and requested a pick up at the airport for another $8.00 since Taxis are known to be dangerous in Guayaquil... Just to make sure we called from Orlando a few minutes later to confirm everything and were told that the reservation was not processed in the system yet but not to worry... Nobody showed up! we had find the help from a couple inside the airport to have them call the hotel.
Since the lady who was helping did not want to spend $ on her phone she asked the hotel to call right back which they did and offered to send a driver but we decided to take a chance a take a taxi anyway ... Let me tell you that the lady who called was 100% from Equator and she really was not nice with the staff at the hotel on the phone, demanding , rude etc JUST THE WAY YOU SHOULD BE IN THIS KIND OF SITUATION IN SOUTH AMERICA most of the time if you want to get anything done when you pay for extra service= BE LOUD!!!We speak spanish very well and just were amazed how she handle the situation.

The rest of the stay at the hotel was all and more that it was suppose to be, super clean and comfy room, amazing breakfast, very nice staff, well worth the $$.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    143
    33
    5
    1
See reviews for
78
129
33
70
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Nice hotel for the price. Rooms were renovated and are very comfortable. Staff is helpful and friendly, helping you on transportation once taking a taxi looks like tricky. Allow you some time for check out process that is a kind of slow.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney Australia
Top Contributor
258 reviews 258 reviews
116 hotel reviews
Reviews in 129 cities Reviews in 129 cities
414 helpful votes 414 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We were met at the airport as prearranged and driven into town, all for $5.00. Check-in was quick and we were given a photocopied map of the city, plus a coupon for two welcome drinks in the restaurant. Wifi is complimentary and the sign in details were provided at check-in along with a card detailing (common sense) things to do to make your visit safe and enjoyable.

The hotel is in the older style (a sign in the lobby says it is being refurbished) but very clean and well care for. It is conveniently located a short stroll (5-10 minutes) from Malecón 2000 and in what felt like a safe part of town.

Our room, 216, had views over the street and windows that opened. The room was spacious with wide comfortable twin beds, two arm chairs and round table, desk, chair, flat screen tv, mini bar, in-room safe and air conditioning that worked well and could be adjusted. The furnishings are older style but everything was very clean and not worn. Wifi always worked in our room. We did not hear any street noise and only the occasional slammed door or loud tv inside the hotel.

The bathroom had bath/shower, and soap, shampoo, conditioner, facial tissues and hair dryer were provided.

All the staff we encountered were very friendly and eager to help or provide advice. All the reception staff and some of the other staff we met spoke English. They always let us know what we should be paying for a taxi (between $2 and $5 everywhere we went!) and offered advice such as where to find good quality Panama hats and what we should expect to pay.

Breakfast had a nice buffet selection of juices, fruits, cereal, yoghurt, cheese, cold cuts, breads and pastries. Hot dishes included pancakes, French toast, eggs and omelettes all of which were made to order. We also were able to enjoy dinner when we arrived after 21:00 as the restaurant remains open until 22:00.

Highly recommend this hotel for location, friendly staff and good value for money.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorena G, Director of Sales at Hotel Palace Guayaquil, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear Guest:

We love you opinion!! You have enjoyed completely all our effort to serve you in the best way, noticing our dedication in cleaning and maintenance of our rooms, location and general services.

Our friendly staff will be more than happy to have you in Hotel Palace again. Looking forward to your next visit.

Best Regards,

Lorena Garay de Bianchini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, FL
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

We stayed here one night only on the way to Galapagos. This was our first experience of Ecuador, and it was a good one: clean, comfortable, with great staff, very accommodating. They arranged wake up, taxi to the airport in the morning, and we also had a breakfast there (quite good).

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorena G, Director of Sales at Hotel Palace Guayaquil, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear Guest:

We appreciate a lot your opinion about our facilities and service. Thank you very much for sharing it with us and with the tripadvisor community.

Our team is looking forward to the next opportunity to serve you again

Hotel Palace is your home in Guayaquil!


Best Regards,

Lorena Garay de Bianchini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cuenca, Ecuador
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

This hotel is well run with English-speaking staff whenever we needed them, even in late evening. Staff was always friendly and very helpful. Clean and adequate rooms. #214 had two full size beds. Linens were fantastic and the beds were very comfortable. We had to call twice for ice upon arrival and when it did come it was not in cubes but a block. About 15 minutes from the airport. I had difficulty in obtaining a taxi at 10:30PM, but the staff insisted that I not flag one down. This was good advice because this city has a crime problem with express kidnappings working with taxis. There was a small refrigerator in the room. Breakfast was fine with scrambled eggs being the only hot item.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorena G, Director of Sales at Hotel Palace Guayaquil, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Dear guest,

We highly appreciate your opinion. Thank you for sharing your nice comments about the hotel. We are very happy to read your qualification of our bedding as fantastic!!! Comments like yours definitely encourage us to enhance our product for our valued guests. Please accept our apologies about the delay in your ice request, we will follow up with the room service department to avoid this happen again.

We look forward to welcome you again, Hotel Palace is your home in Guayaquil.

Best Regards,


Lorena Garay de Bianchini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soyapango, San Salvador, El Salvador
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

I went down to Guayaquil for business and stayed here. Good service, nice location 2 blocks from new Malecon 2000, pretty near to any thing in downtown. If you need taxi the hotel works with line companies and for your safety you can call them and they will send a taxi for you. Rooms are good enough to sleep and work. Loved the staff. They have to improve their wifi. if you have a router you can take it and connect it to the wire.

Room Tip: Room with view to the street are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cuenca, Ecuador
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

We were in Guayaquil on personal business. The staff arranged translators for us. When one night turned into 2, it was no problem at all to keep our room for another night. The staff was wonderfully efficient in every way.

The bed was comfortable. If you don't want to use the higher priced items in the refrigerator in your room, there are tiendas and pharmacies within safe walking distance.

Hot water with great pressure. Clean bathroom - no mold or mildew.
Air conditioning was just right - not too loud.
The television in our room had a frame built around it. While it looked nice, the frame distorted the sound somewhat.

The complimentary breakfast is a full breakfast; you will not be disappointed. We had one meal at the restaurant on-site. It was priced a bit more than usual, but the quality was worth it.

Well lit area at night. We had a street front room yet the traffic was not too noisey.
A short walk gets you to the Malecon 2000, US Embassy, Cedulaccion, and several eateries, day and night.

The hotel employs a great car service. Guests are able to call the hotel from any location within the city, and the hotel will dispatch a car to your location. If you are new to Guayaquil, this is a huge plus in both convenience and security.

When we need to stay in Guayaquil, the Hotel Palace is now our new go-to place.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Palace Guayaquil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palace Guayaquil

Address: Chile # 214 entre calle Luque y calle Velez, Guayaquil 090110, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Location: Ecuador > Guayas Province > Guayaquil
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 55 Hotels in Guayaquil
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Palace Guayaquil 3.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A landmark seven story hotel situated in the heart of the Guayaquil city center, Hotel Palace Guayaquil is considered to be one of the most traditional and well known hotels in town. Its ideal location is within easy walking distance to the city’s main attractions, financial and shopping areas. The hotel offers ninety five spacious, comfortable and charming guestrooms, all fully carpeted with high ceilings, individually controlled air conditioning, black out draperies, three telephones, including one in the bathroom with international direct dial... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, T4B, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Palace Guayaquil reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Palace Guayaquil, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.