We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for connections” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Hotel Guayaquil

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Howard Johnson Hotel Guayaquil to your Saves list
Howard Johnson Hotel Guayaquil
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Juan Tanca Marengo Avenue | Abel Romero Street Plaza Del Sol, Guayaquil 09 01 5879, Ecuador   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 53 Hotels in Guayaquil
Playas, Ecuador
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great for connections”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

Hotel has perfect setup for the traveler -- free airport pickup, hot breakfast, good beds and quiet rooms. The staff is very accommodating, even anticipating needs which is unusual in Latin America countries.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    95
    24
    5
    12
See reviews for
37
39
15
130
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2011

This hotel had a comfortable bed and up to date furniture. There was a problem with the TV but it was immediately addressed by the staff. Close to the airport and lovely breakfast in the morning. The hotel also offered a city tour which was cool. 2 blocks away from a huge mall which had everything you could need.

Room Tip: The king size bedroom was nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2011

we liked the ubication, perfects beds, clean rooms and the best price!!!

Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

We stayed in the hotel two times one nighy each times. It is very good located if you need to stay near the airport. It provides the shuttle to and from the airport free of charge. The room are confortable. The staff is very kind. We lost our international flight and they was so flexible to change our booking free of charge. Intenet connection is available, fast and free of charge. We suggest to avoid the internal restaurant expensive and the quality is not comparable with rest of the hotel

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

Guayaqui is no tourist town, but the accommodation at Howard Johnson Hotel Guayaquil made ​​my stay more pleasant in Guayaqui.
Important to note that I stayed for 3 months (yes three months) in one of the Flats, the hotel offers, with kitchen, laundry room, bathroom and bedroom.
The weakness of the hotel is the training employees that make the storage room. Never stole anything, however, stirred several times in my personal belongings, set up my puzzle and not cleaning up the room properly.
The breakfast is very complete, with options ranging from hot and cold dishes.

Room Tip: With a small difference in price, choose the Flats, which has the comforts of home, are larger and n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011 via mobile

Last night in the middle of our 8.5 hour flight home we heard the captain make an announcement that we would have to land in Ecuador....
I panicked! We were already stressed with our 5 young children on an international flight! We would be in a foreign country for 9 hours at some random hotel!
I didn't expect much from a Howard Johnson hotel; but I was extremely refreshed from the time we walked through the doors.
The staff all greeted us with warm smiles and were more than willing to help us with our luggage. They were very quick to check everyone from the flight in and we had our room within 30 minutes even though we were one of the last in line.
I held my breath as we lead our children up to the room. As soon as I opened the door; my husband and I both breathed a sigh of relief and smiled at each other. This hotel was very welcoming afterall!
We stayed in room 704 and had a nice view. The only issue we had was with a slightly wet carpet where the runoff of the ac was. Nothing enough to complain about but we requested extra towels to fix the issue ourselves and they arrived within 10 minutes. We made a side comment to the man who delivered them and He checked out the issue right away without hesitation.
The beds were very comfortable and there was free wifi and a flat screen television with digital cable.
The bathroom had what we needed and the water was nice and hot right away.
There was said to be free breakfast buffet but we were too tired to check it out.
Overall we were very impressed with this location and if we ever end up in Ecuador again for whatever reason... We would definitely stay here!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2011

so i stayed here couple of times again, on july with a rush 1 day trip and last week.
still very good for its value compare to the rest around it, foods great, place is great, lots of places to go and the mall is just 5 minutes walk from it

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Howard Johnson Hotel Guayaquil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Hotel Guayaquil

Address: Juan Tanca Marengo Avenue | Abel Romero Street Plaza Del Sol, Guayaquil 09 01 5879, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Guayas Province > Guayaquil
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Guayaquil
#6 Business Hotel in Guayaquil
#6 Romantic Hotel in Guayaquil
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Howard Johnson Hotel Guayaquil 3.5*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the main commercial and financial area of Guayaquil, at Plaza del Sol, this hotel offers modern accommodations and free airport shuttle to all guests with wifi internet access on board. Rooms at Howard Johnson Guayaquil are luxuriously decorated. They come with air conditioning, flat screen cable TV, a coffee machine and a work desk and free wifi internet access. Room service is available 24/7.Spa facilities include a jacuzzi and a sauna. Guests can work out in Howard Johnson's gym.Restaurant La Ria, serves a continental buffet breakfast, a la carte lunch/dinner and sushi bar. National and international dishes can be ordered for dinner, accompanied with a selection of tasty wines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Howard Johnson Hotel Guayaquil reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Guayaquil Hotel Guayaquil
Guayaquil Howard Johnson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Hotel Guayaquil, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.