We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Returning to Guayaquil” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Guayaquil

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Wyndham Guayaquil to your Saves list
Wyndham Guayaquil
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Numa Pompilio Llona S N | Ciudad del Río, Puerto Santa Ana, Guayaquil EC090313, Ecuador   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead & Save 15%
Ranked #5 of 55 Hotels in Guayaquil
Miami, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Returning to Guayaquil”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

I have been to Guayaquil many times but not for many years. I was pleasantly surprised to see thiw hotel with modern facilities. They are still a little rough around the edges but hopefully with time they will get their complete act in order. I had a junior suite which was large with a comfortable king size bed. The furniture is not high end and the room lay out is not really efficient but it was kept very clean and the service staff was good..but very noisy..the walkie talkies were blaring throughout the day..room service was quite good. the breakfast included in the price was pedestrian and the omelet chef was the worst I have experienced in some time.

The area of the hotel is developing. Hopefully in the future there will be more to do nearby. Right now the economic contrast is enormous as one side is luxury and the other side are colorful slums.

The best part of the stay was the spa service by Miss Tanya Ponce Arriaga a young but very accomplished masseuse. She is a professional at a level usually not found in hotels in Latam.

I'm sure management will sort out the small stuff. Highly likely that i will return.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alejandra S, Guest Relations Manager at Wyndham Guayaquil, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

Please receive warm regards from Wyndham Hotel Guayaquil; thank you for sharing your opinion on tripadvisor.com. We really appreciate your comments about our location, cleanliness and our the service of our associate Tanya. Your feedback is very important; because this is the best way to realize our strengths and work on the continuous improvement of our property. Thank you again for your comments and we are looking forward to your next visit in our City.

Best Regards,

Ma. Alejandra Saltos
Quality Assurance Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    64
    18
    5
    3
See reviews for
55
72
9
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Portugal
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

This is the place to go if you are on business or just passing quickly by Guayaquil (which was the case). It is a new hotel with all modern facilities, impeccably clean, great service and a nice view over the water. The breakfast buffet has a variety of inter nation and local specialities.
Do not stay here if you are looking for character or history or if you want to get out and check out shops, restaurants or just scroll through the city center.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alejandra S, Guest Relations Manager at Wyndham Guayaquil, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

I was very pleased to read how much you enjoyed your stay with us and I would like to thank you for letting us know how impressed you were with the service you received. Your kind comments are greatly appreciated.

Our team read your appreciation and they feel very happy having given you an unforgettable experience.

Wyndham Hotel Guayaquil is always at your service. We are looking forward to see you soon.

If you have any question, suggestion or additional request, please do not hesitate to contact us.

On behalf of our team, thank you very much.

Best Regards,

Ma. Alejandra Saltos
Quality Assurance Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Talkin in general, the hotel compare to the others in town, is probably one of the best.
The staff is fine, most of the time kind and helpful. The pretty much all speak english.
The view is ok, still some buildings and other under construction.
The city center is like 10-15min by cab.



The downsides, however, were the bathroom which was blocked for like 2 nights and the carpet in the room was dirty.

I recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: I guess all standard rooms are ok (no noise)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alejandra S, Guest Relations Manager at Wyndham Guayaquil, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear Guest,

I was very pleased to read how much you enjoyed your stay with us and I would like to thank you for letting us know how impressed you were with the service you received. Your kind comments are greatly appreciated.

Wyndham Guayaquil is always at your service. We are looking forward to see you soon.

If you have any question, suggestion or additional request, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Best regards,

Ma. Alejandra Saltos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Many of the staff spoke English, which was helpful. Great view of the water. Loved the pool on top of the hotel. Enjoyed the breakfast buffet and dinner there. There is a nice promenade and we did the walk to the top of Santa Ana hill, which is close to the hotel with great views, 444 steps. Not a lot was open along the promenade when we were there, and the staff kindly warned us not to wander around at night. We stayed in Guayaquil on our way to a cruise in the Galapagos.

Room Tip: View of the river was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alejandra S, Guest Relations Manager at Wyndham Guayaquil, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure to have you as our guest, thank you very much for all your description of our service.

Read that our hotel exceeded your expectations, is something that makes us really proud for what we are doing, because our main goal is to make feel our guests better than home. We hope to see you soon, remember that we are always at your service.

On behalf of our team, thank you very much!

Best Regards

Ma. Alejandra Saltos
Quality Assurance Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

Driver waiting with our name at the airport. Convenient location on the river. Food was very good. Great service. Next to Santa Ana Hill which was nice for a quick morning hike. Enjoyed room with view of Santa Ana Hill with colorful houses.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alejandra S, Guest Relations Manager at Wyndham Guayaquil, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure to have you as our guest, thank you very much for all your description of our service.

Read that our hotel exceeded your expectations, is something that makes us really proud for what we are doing, because our main goal is to make feel our guests better than home. We hope to see you soon, remember that we are always at your service.

On behalf of our team, thank you very much!

Best Regards

Ma. Alejandra Saltos
Quality Assurance Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Normally I stay in the Hilton but what a nice change to spend six days on the river in Guayaquil. A well appointed business hotel where everyone knows you by names and everyone cares about your well being. I highly recommend this new hotel in Ecuador.

Room Tip: River front
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alejandra S, Guest Relations Manager at Wyndham Guayaquil, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear Mr. Harris,

I was very pleased to read how much you enjoyed your stay with us and I would like to thank you for letting us know how impressed you were with the service you received. Your kind comments are greatly appreciated.

Our team read your appreciation and they feel very happy having given you an unforgettable experience.

Wyndham Hotel Guayaquil is always at your service. We are looking forward to see you soon.

If you have any question, suggestion or additional request, please do not hesitate to contact us.

On behalf of our team, thank you very much.

Best Regards,

Ma. Alejandra Saltos
Quality Assurance Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

My 18 and 20 year old children and I spent a week in the Galapagos, and we decided to spend three days in Guayaquil before returning home to the U.S.A. We had an exceptionally wonderful time on our Galapagos cruise and were happily exhausted! The Wyndham had a driver wait for us at the GYE airport with our names - a wonderful sight as we exited the terminal area. The shuttle bus looked brand new or was just kept incredibly clean. When we arrived at the hotel we were greeted by Mr. Kramer with a tray of wine glasses filled with a refreshing drink. Such a great surprise and much needed refreshment! Everyone from the reception, to the bell captain, to the spa attendants, to the drivers, to the cafe and restaurant people were very helpful and courteous. We really felt well taken care of. At least 50% of the staff we interacted with spoke English which was helpful since we don't speak Spanish.

The cafe and restaurant had a tasty and diverse menu. The breakfast buffet was wonderful. The service was much slower than in the U.S., and much like that of Europe. Lunch and dinner for most people at the eateries started much later, and timing was slower paced.

We had a river view room. From our floor to ceiling windows we could see the river, the bridge, The Point high rise, the brightly colored hill filled with local houses, really such a diverse sighting of architecture and nature from just one hotel room! Since I had binoculars from the Galapagos trip I was able to taken in the sights from my window to see what was going on around the area.

From the Wyndham we walked the Malecon 2000, and took two taxi rides. One to the traditional market and one to a restaurant. The taxi fair is very inexpensive. $4 to the market.

The only 'wish' I had, was for a more firm bed since I'm very picky in that regard but for most other people the bed is probably fine.

As for the spa: the hotel booklet in the room doesn't give you information. The spa is on the 9th/top floor. Guests can use the pool, the steam room, the sauna, as part of your stay. You hand in a little card you get upon checking in, at the spa desk to pick up a towel. Then I believe you hand your towel back in to the spa desk and get your card back. If you don't hand in your towel, you may get charged $10. Since I didn't understand this because of my inability to speak or read Spanish I didn't have to pay $10! There is also a menu at the spa desk but you have to ask for it. My daughter and I finished our stay with aromatherapy massages. My massage was lovely and I really enjoyed it, for such a good price. The massage table is a little different than the ones I've been on before. The head cradle is actually a hole in the table and it was a little uncomfortable so I suggest padding the hole with towels or requesting that before you get comfortable for the massage on your backside. Otherwise, the massage was lovely.

I highly recommend The Wyndham in Guayaquil as a home base for your travels in and around Guayaquil, or as a stop over before or on the way back from the Galapagos.

Room Tip: I recommend river side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alejandra S, Guest Relations Manager at Wyndham Guayaquil, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience at Wyndham Hotel Guayaquil. It's always important for us to receive feedback about our services.

We feel very grateful for your kind words regarding our Hotel and Staff, We really appreciate your percepction, we will do everything to mantain and improve our service each day.

Wyndham Hotel Guayaquil is always at your service. We are looking forward to see you soon.

If you have any questions, suggestions or additional requests please contact us, it would be our pleasure to assist you.

Best Regards,

Ma. Alejandra Saltos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wyndham Guayaquil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Guayaquil

Address: Calle Numa Pompilio Llona S N | Ciudad del Río, Puerto Santa Ana, Guayaquil EC090313, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Location: Ecuador > Guayas Province > Guayaquil
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 55 Hotels in Guayaquil
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Wyndham Guayaquil 4.5*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wyndham Hotel Guayaquil is located 4.8 Km (3 miles) away from Jose Joaquin de Olmedo International Airport, right next to the majestic Guayas River. The historical Santa Ana Hill and its famous Lighthouse, the amazing Malecon 2000 and the traditional Barrio Las Penas, are within a few minutes walking distance from the hotel. Featuring a swimming pool, spa and a fitness center equipped with jacuzzis, steam bath, sauna and gym. This property offers rooms with free high speed Wi-Fi and flat screen TVs. Fully carpeted rooms at Wyndham Hotel Guayaquil have large windows, minibar, coffee maker and digital safety box. All of them have heating, air conditioning and private bathrooms with luxurious amenities, its Junior Suites have a jacuzzi inside the room. Some rooms offer panoramic river views. Breakfast buffet is served daily for an extra fee. International dishes can be ordered at the property's restaurant, whereas drinks and snacks can be enjoyed at the bar. You can also have your meetings or social events in the premises, it features 4 meeting rooms and 3 ballrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Wyndham, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Expedia, getaroom.com, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Wyndham Guayaquil reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham Guayaquil, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.