We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not trust a paid, confirmed booking with this hotel.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Colon Guayaquil

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Colon Guayaquil to your Saves list
Hilton Colon Guayaquil
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av. Francisco de Orellana, Mz. 111, Guayaquil 5934, Ecuador   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Instant Getaway!
Ranked #7 of 53 Hotels in Guayaquil
Hervey Bay, Australia
Top Contributor
221 reviews 221 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
158 helpful votes 158 helpful votes
“Do not trust a paid, confirmed booking with this hotel.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

My wife were doing an extensive tour of South America which was arranged through South America Travel in Australia. We were picked up at the Guayaquil Airport at about 7 pm by our guide Jorge from KleinTours . Both were very good. We had booked and paid for our accommodation at the Hilton Colon, Guayaquil some 5 months earlier and it was confirmed. On our arrival our Guide approached the reception and was advised that we did not have a reservation. While he was at the reservation desk, we spoke to another couple who were on their own and had the same problem . They did not know what to do. Our guide contacted his company who were surprised at this information. They then made a reservation at a much better Hotel , the "ORO VERDE" which was a great choice and in a great location. It was very daunting at the time being in a foreign country. We were very thankful for the help of our guide and his company. We travel extensively and vow as a result of this experience we will never book at a Hilton again. I also agree with the last comment of ohdoggy in that the management of this hotel does not have a grip on their staff or bookings.

Room Tip: Be careful and make sure you room is actually booked and available before travelling as if you are n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

533 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    253
    185
    58
    24
    13
See reviews for
90
127
43
216
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

The staff was extremely attentive. The security in the hotel was very apparent. The rooms were very clean and as well as comfortable. We had hotel transportation to and from the airport, which was about 10 minutes away.

Room Tip: The pool area and bar allowed for total relaxation. Rooms in the rear overlook the pool area. Rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, Canada
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

I gave the hotel two stars because they did upgrade me to an executive room upon arrival (I requested the room and was prepared to pay an upgrade fee). Otherwise it would be one star. This is the most expensive hotel in Guayacuil and for the price of rooms there should be an expectation of excellent service. NOT.

We arrived to do Lindblad Islander Galapagos - but on separately booked flights. It took over an hour to check in and extend our return to two nights, not one. If you do have to stay here, do not under any circumstance deal with the 9th floor -- totally incompetent. In view of this poor service, they offered us a very nice room on our return. This room they had given away, so instead they gave us a crappier view room not on the executive lounge floor. Usually if the room you've specifically booked is not available, you get a better room, not a worse room. Then, returning to our room mid-afternoon, our keys didn't work. They wanted to switch us yet again because we were in a room with two queens so they just booked us out without telling us. This meant our pool bar charges didn't go through so we got a frantic phone call to come down and pay with cash. Just not what you expect at a high-end hotel. Nice property but whoever is running it does not have a grip on their staff.

Room Tip: Even numbered -- ending in 26 or 24 -- are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We stayed at the front and back end of a Galapagos trip with about 40 other fellow passengers. It's one of the few luxury choice hotels in town. Rooms were spacious and clean, service was up to par. Buffet breakfast was good with adequate choices, restaurant even set up buffet much earlier than posted time to accommodate passengers departing at dawn.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltonguayaquil, Hilton Colon Guayaquil at Hilton Colon Guayaquil, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your nice comments. We are glad you enjoyed our hotel and hope you come back soon. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond, Washington, United States
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

I stayed two separate nights at different ends of my Lindblad/National Geographic Galapagos trip. Staff got our group of 90+ in and out quickly both times. Rooms were huge, immaculate, with beautiful bathrooms (full bath tubs). I even liked the shampoo/conditional/massage bar bath soap a lot.

I think they charge for WiFi Internet but it came as part of our package and worked in common areas like the bar, as well as in room. Bar was good and their breakfast buffet at the cafe was excellent with lots of variety.

Concierge helped with taxis and restaurant recommendations outside of the hotel which I am told are good too.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltonguayaquil, Hilton Colon Guayaquil at Hilton Colon Guayaquil, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Ronald, thanks so much for your nice comments. We are glad you had a wonderful stay. Hope you return soon. Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

The Hilton Colon is for sure one of the best Hotels in Guayaquil, all in all is is very comfortable. The rooms are quite big and the beds are huge, but the best thing is the service. In all my stays there the staff was superfriendly and they tried to make your stay as good as possible. In addition the location is very convenient.
The food in the different restaurants (Vereda, Café Colon, Portofino) is good, but nothing spectacular. For that you better go to Samborondon where you find many different restaurants, for example in Plaza Lagos.

Room Tip: Executive Floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltonguayaquil, Hilton Colon Guayaquil at Hilton Colon Guayaquil, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear sir, thank you very much for your nice comments about our Hotel. We always do our best effort to make our guests feel comfortable and at home. Our city offers a wide variety of restaurants. There is always a good one in every area. We are glad you had a great stay with us. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
575 reviews 575 reviews
92 hotel reviews
Reviews in 159 cities Reviews in 159 cities
467 helpful votes 467 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Just another Hilton as far as I am concerned, so not very special and rather impersonal - perhaps I had been spoiled by the other amazing hotels we had stayed in during our South American adventure? Our room was fine, but not the best view.
We used the Cafe Colon for an evening meal with fellow travellers arrived from The Galapagos - the food was pretty good but the service & ambience were far from special.
Not sure I would return but I supect it mat be the best option in Guayaquil.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltonguayaquil, Hilton Colon Guayaquil at Hilton Colon Guayaquil, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear sir, thank you very much for your nice comments about our Hotel. We always do our best effort to make our guests feel comfortable and at home. Our city offers a wide variety of restaurants. There is always a good one in every area. We are glad you had a great stay with us. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Colon Guayaquil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Colon Guayaquil

Address: Av. Francisco de Orellana, Mz. 111, Guayaquil 5934, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Location: Ecuador > Guayas Province > Guayaquil
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Guayaquil
#2 Business Hotel in Guayaquil
#4 Luxury Hotel in Guayaquil
#8 Romantic Hotel in Guayaquil
#9 Family Hotel in Guayaquil
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Colon Guayaquil 4*
Number of rooms: 294
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in Ecuador, a strategic point of South America, just few minutes from the international airport, Hilton Colon Guayaquil provides relaxing experiences for business and leisure guests alike.Our fully renovated hotel offers comfort, world class dining, elegance, hospitality, detailed service and lot more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Colon Guayaquil reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Colon Guayaquil Hotel Guayaquil
Hilton Hotel Guayaquil
Hilton Guayaquil
Guayaquil Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Colon Guayaquil, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.