We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable Stopping Point for a Galapagos Trip” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn by Hilton Guayaquil-Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn by Hilton Guayaquil-Downtown to your Saves list
Hampton Inn by Hilton Guayaquil-Downtown
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Av 9 de Octubre 432 y Banquerizo Moreno, Guayaquil 7524, Ecuador   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15% by Booking Now!
Ranked #10 of 53 Hotels in Guayaquil
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Comfortable Stopping Point for a Galapagos Trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

My family stayed here for two nights before leaving for the Galapagos. The hotel was well run and comfortable. Great breakfast room. The staff was helpful and made arrangements for taxis and restaurant reservations. Perfect location in the center of Guayaquil, a short walk to El Malecon and the lizard park and walking distance to Las Penas.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorraine-Akel, Room Division Manager at Hampton Inn by Hilton Guayaquil-Downtown, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Dear Stephen L

Thanks for share your comments about your stay in our hotel, it is our main concern that our guests feels like home and the support of our staff in all of their requirements that they have, we feel so pleased that you decided that Hampton would be your home in Guayaquil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    153
    42
    24
    5
See reviews for
64
130
40
64
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cuenca, Ecuador
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

Poor Check in it took over thirty minutes to process me at the front desk and two others in front of me as they had not prepared any of the reservation paperwork in advance. They had no rooms available according to the reservations for me or the two individuals in front of me they tried to get me to take a smoking room when the reservation was for non smoking. The room was smelly room though it was very clean and well prepared. The noise from the street went on through the night. The breakfast was very poor dry breads and an unrecognizable omelet you could get a better breakfast at a $16.00 hostel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorraine-Akel, Room Division Manager at Hampton Inn by Hilton Guayaquil-Downtown, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Dear Travler1960:

Thank you the review of your recent stay at our hotel. I apologize that we were unable to accommodate you in the non-smoking room you reserved. Although we strive to accommodate our guest with exact reservations, at times we do not have the same availability due to guests extending their stays with us. I understand that you were disappointed with your breakfast and we will review our offerings, keeping your recommendations in mind. Your satisfaction is very important to us and we appreciate your feedback about the outside noise and check-in. Your comments will help us to improve our guest experience. We hope you will consider staying with us again the next time you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asuncion, Paraguay
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

Friendly and attentive staff, great facilities. Very small pool/jacuzzi. Gym was a little stuffy and hot. Great breakfast and egg station. Sushi bar is comfortable with reasonable prices. Most staff spoke English well and were more than willing to help. They were also very concerned for guest safety and went out of their way to arrange safe transportation to and from the hotel. It is also very centrally located and not far from the Malecon and Parque San Martin (aka the Iguana Park).

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorraine-Akel, Room Division Manager at Hampton Inn by Hilton Guayaquil-Downtown, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Dear karnold1979:

Thank you very much for share your comments and for choosing us like your hotel in Guayaquil, we feel so pleased to be part of a great memories of your trip in Ecuador, please let us know when you decide to visit us again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

We were really pleased with our stay at the Hampton due to it's high quality customer service and the comfortable reprieve we felt, right in the heart of downtown. One really great part about this hotel was the airport shuttle: our flight arrived past 1AM and they were there waiting to pick us. The front desk staff are really friendly and helpful, they speak English (and Español of course). Our room was very clean and had great wifi reception. Everyday it was nice to come back to a clean fresh smelling room after the cleaning service had discretely visited.

I have stayed at a few different Hampton Inns and I was thoroughly impressed by the breakfast buffet at this one. The food was incredible, consisting of: a variety of breads, eggs, jam, cereals, yogurt, fresh fruit, juices, coffee, tea, waffles, meats, and omelets upon request. Not to mention the staff at the breakfast buffet are super friendly and always smiling. One of the staff members, Monica, was always providing great customer service specific to our needs and style of traveling.

This hotels location is very central, located in the business district and only a few blocks from Malecon 2000. There are some good restaurants nearby, but inside the hotel there is also a lunch buffet and a dinner restaurant if you feel like staying close to home.

We felt very safe while staying there, and were pleased that Hampton offers their own taxi service that is readily available right out on the curb. It's the same price as a normal taxi too, but guarantees your safety and can be on call to pick you up.

Room Tip: The rooms on the street side of 9 de Octubre (front of the hotel) are the only ones with a view, all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorraine-Akel, Room Division Manager at Hampton Inn by Hilton Guayaquil-Downtown, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Dear RKtravel1:

Thank you very much for your lovely and detailed review about our hotel, service and staff, it is very thoughtful of you all the comments that you made and we feel so pleased and grateful that you chose us like your hotel in Guayaquil, remember that we love having you here
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

Stayed in June 2013 for 2 nights. The hotel shuttle picked us up from the airport in the evening and took us right to the hotel. No problems with check-in, the staff at the desk spoke English well enough to communicate our room information, as well as information about breakfast, the restaurant and the free wifi. Had no issues with the room or staff the entire stay, very helpful and were attentive at all points of our stay. The hotel is located downtown, close to the Malecon and other sights- very easy to walk practically everywhere. It is a busy street at night but the noise was not bad and we felt safe the entire time.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorraine-Akel, Room Division Manager at Hampton Inn by Hilton Guayaquil-Downtown, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Dear Katherine H:

Thank you very much for taking part of your time to share with us your comments about your stay in our hotel, we feel so pleased that you have a great impression about our service and staff, please come back soon!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

Stayed here on a Saturday night at the end of April. It is a Commercial part of the City and probably okay if your there on business during the week. Not a lot of restaurants or bars for the tourist to enjoy on a Saturday/Sunday.
Also, much to our disgust, the Hotel ran-out of Tonic Water after our first G & T!! Not acceptable in a quality establishment!
Especially as we had just climbed the 444 steps to the Church on top of the hill and walked back, we could and probably would, have sunk 2 or 3 more! Also had to have a change of room late on as the Air Con, which was v. noisy, could not be controlled or switched off! Alternate room was better but could not stop the extcactor in the Bathroom.

Room Tip: Make sure the Air Con system works in your room when you check-in. You don't want to be packing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorraine-Akel, Room Division Manager at Hampton Inn by Hilton Guayaquil-Downtown, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Dear S P:
Thank you very much for share your comments and recommendations, we will work about it, sorry for the issues that you had, please let us know when you decide to come back!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muskego, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

We stayed at the Hampton Inn for a pre-night, and post-night to our Galapagos adventure. The rooms were exceptional! Very spacious, and very clean! The breakfast buffet was fabulous! Our final departure was prior to the breakfast buffet serving time, so the hotel had "to go" breakfast bags for us at checkout! There are many restaurants within walking distance of the property, and they offer transfers to the airport. If we return to Guayaquil, we will definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Since the street out front of the hotel is very busy, I suggest an upper floor for a little less str...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorraine-Akel, Room Division Manager at Hampton Inn by Hilton Guayaquil-Downtown, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Dear Colette J

Thank you very much for taking the time to share details about your stay in our hotel, we feel very pleased that you have a great memories about our service & staff, thanks for gave us the opportunity to be your home in Guayaquil, please come back soon!! remember that we love having you here
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn by Hilton Guayaquil-Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn by Hilton Guayaquil-Downtown

Address: Av 9 de Octubre 432 y Banquerizo Moreno, Guayaquil 7524, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Location: Ecuador > Guayas Province > Guayaquil
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Guayaquil
#5 Romantic Hotel in Guayaquil
#6 Family Hotel in Guayaquil
#11 Business Hotel in Guayaquil
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hampton Inn by Hilton Guayaquil-Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Business-oriented hotel - Downtown, 2 mi from airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn by Hilton Guayaquil-Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn By Hilton Guayaquil-Downtown Hotel Guayaquil
Hampton Inn Guayaquil
Guayaquil Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn by Hilton Guayaquil-Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.