We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice respite before Galapagos getaway” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sonesta Hotel Guayaquil

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Sonesta Hotel Guayaquil to your Saves list
Sonesta Hotel Guayaquil
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Joaquin Orrantia Av. and Leopoldo Benitez Street | (next to Mall del Sol), Guayaquil, Ecuador   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 55 Hotels in Guayaquil
Cocoa Beach
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Nice respite before Galapagos getaway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

I only stayed 9 hours at Sonesta as it was a night's sleep between the USA & the Galapagos. However, they accommodated my sister the following night in my room which I prepaid. My sister & I arrived on different days in Guayaquil & Galapagos.

The staff was there at the airport to collect me even though my flight was late. They also collected my sister the following night. Transport back to the airport was immediate and gracious.

The room was clean and very comfortable. Just wished I had selected it on my return trip to the States. I selected another Guayaquil hotel to compare; Sonesta was better than Howard Johnson's. Sonesta was cleaner, but both hotels had wonderful customer service.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonesta H, Gerente at Sonesta Hotel Guayaquil, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for preferring Sonesta Hotel Guayaquil. We are very glad of your comments about the experience with our employees and the shuttle service. They are extremely important because they help us to continue providing the best service that our guests deserve.

Sonesta Hotel Guayaquil is always at your service. We sincerely want you to come back soon.

If you have any question, suggestion or additional request, please do not hesitate to contact us.

On behalf of our team, thank you very much.

Best Regards

Jorge Gutiérrez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    100
    12
    0
    3
See reviews for
40
37
17
81
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Stayed here for 3 weeks in December 2012.

Everything was perfect. Modern, immaculate rooms with a big TV and fast wifi. The breakfast buffet every morning was brimming with hot food and an immense selection. The hotel staff were incredibly polite and couldn't have been more helpful.

The hotel is located within the Mall Del Sol so shops are just a few floors below in the lift plus plenty of bars and restaurants very close by. Also the Mall has a big food court if you need a quick snack and there is a big supermarket located within the Mall too.

Make sure you use the taxis that work for the hotel as Guayaquil can be dangerous. Their taxis are still very cheap. Take their number and don't be tempted to flag one down on the street.

Perfect for business or leisure. Will stay here if I return to Guayaquil.

Room Tip: The hallway looks down on to the bar, so if you are in a lower room there might be some noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonesta H, Gerente at Sonesta Hotel Guayaquil, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
We are delighted and excited to greet you and express our gratitude for preferring the Sonesta Hotel Guayaquil

Thank you for writing us. Your comments are extremely important because they help us to continue providing the best service that our guests deserve.

Sonesta Hotel Guayaquil is always at your service. We are looking forward to see you soon.

If you have any question, suggestion or additional request, please do not hesitate to contact us.

On behalf of our team, thank you very much.

Kind regards,

Santiago Galárraga C.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Stayed there on Feb 2013, the reservation girl messed up my arrival shuttle thinking i was arriving at noon when i did in the morning and left me waiting at the airport for over 30 minutes. When i finally got to the lobby there where no apologies nor any tries for a compensation for the mistake, and BTW there is no complementary breakfast. The hotel is next to Mall del Sol with it's own entrance from the hotel to the mall, you will immediately get into the food court from the hotel, where you can get cheap breakfast and fill you more for the buck. On your first stay they will gift you a ONE person, ONE time only "foot cleaning?" at a SPA on the first floor, not a pedicure or a massage if that's what you expect.
The entrance and exit of the hotel is very private for the guests, you wont pass by the lobby every time you walk in or out and nobody will notice if you get to your room accompanied by someone of the other sex if you know where im getting to. Other than the mistake and no breakfast, its just another normal hotel with high price but well placed, clean and elegant. Just make sure to check for the lowest prices in TripAdvisor or Expedia since the hotel's page itself can be a real rip off.

Room Tip: Try to get the rooms at the top floors, the higher you are, the less noise you will here from the bi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonesta H, Gerente at Sonesta Hotel Guayaquil, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear guest

Thank you for writing us and let us known your comments, they help us to detect those details that need to be improved.

First of all we thank you for the information you supply about the situations presented with the shuttle service.

We sincerely regret for the inconvenience caused, we will take steps to make sure it does not happen again.

Please accept these apologies and our gratitude for your patience and tolerance. If you have any question, suggestion or additional request, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Sonesta Hotel Guayaquil is always at your service. We are looking forward to see you soon.

On behalf of our team, thank you very much.

Best Regards,


Jorge Gutiérrez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centreville, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Sonesta Hotel Guayaquil is a modern first class facility with a friendly and helpful staff. Many staff speak some English in support of travelers like myself who don't speak Spanish. For those just stopping over for the transit to the Galapagos, the hotel is within five minutes of the airport and the Sonesta will be at the airport to greet you when you arrive, if requested, and it is suggested that you beware of the taxi service as there are a few bad guys.
The hotel rooms are spacious and well furnished. The king size bed and four large pillows exceeded comfort standards of most all major hotels I have stayed in. There is free WiFi in the room. The large flat panel Samsung TV on the wall offers a huge bundle of channels to include news, movies, sports (soccer), and variety in both Spanish and English. The room also includes a mini-fridge, iron, and hair dryer. Oh, the breakfast buffet is among the best, but you need to work a bit to get it included with the room rate. If not, it is worth the expense if you enjoy a good breakfast to start your day. And, you can shed those calories in the hotels well equiped Life Fitness gym, the saunas, or pool.
If you have forgotten to bring something or just needed to stay under the airline luggage limits, not to worry, one of the stops on the hotel elevators leads to the Mall del Sol, one of the largest malls in Ecuador. The mall has one of the largest food courts with all of the popular franchises along with local fast foods. There are a few sit down restaurants or if you just want to grab some treats for the room there are delis and a Super Walmart type store with all the wine and groceries. And, there is the movie theater with the latest films.
In summary, a great center city hotel and you don't have to worry about rainy season if you just want to get out of the room or find something different for lunch or dinner.

Room Tip: Suggest rooms above the 1st level to avoid the minor vibration of the drums from music in the night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonesta H, Gerente at Sonesta Hotel Guayaquil, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are delighted and excited to greet you and express our gratitude for preferring the Sonesta Hotel Guayaquil.

You enjoyed each service of Sonesta and we really appreciate that you share your commentaries about your great experience with us.

Sonesta Hotel Guayaquil is always at your service. We are looking forward to see you soon.

If you have any question, suggestion or additional request, please do not hesitate to contact us.

On behalf of our team, thank you very much

Kind regards,

Santiago Galárraga C.
Gerente General
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Hotel Sonesta building is quite recent and an excellent option for business travelers .
Rooms are ample enough, well equipped and wifi connection is good in the whole hotel.
Breakfast is varied and well presented ( maybe they should not charge n extra if you ask for an expresso) . lunch buffet is excellent , available during various hours and nevertheless well presented .
Direct access to the extra large Mall del sol( can be a god point when it is pouring tropical rain outside )
Surroundings and landscape not especially attractive.

To be improved :
Gym limited opening hours from 6 30 in the morning ( effectively 6 45 )
Air conditioning controls in the room neither obvious nor effective .

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonesta H, Gerente at Sonesta Hotel Guayaquil, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear guest,

We really appreciate that you give us your comments and suggestions because our guest are the most important for Sonesta Hotel Guayaquil.

We are looking forward to see you soon.

On behalf of our team, thank you very much.

Kind regards,

Santiago Galarraga
Gerente General
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Just spent a night here on the way back from the Galapagos to New York. Very nice hotel and very convenient to the airport which was good for us as we had an early flight. Welcome drink when you arrive and we had the hotel shuttle waiting for us to pick us up when we landed in Guayaquil. Highly recommend it!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonesta H, Gerente at Sonesta Hotel Guayaquil, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing us. Your comments are extremely important for us.

Sonesta Hotel Guayaquil is always at your service. We are looking forward to see you soon.

If you have any question, suggestion or additional request, please do not hesitate to contact us.


Best Regards

Santiago Galárraga C,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 5 days. High class but you don't pay for it. $140 nightly with free wifi (on every device), free breakfast (not sure if we were on a special) but worth paying for it has all you want and the Ecuadorean coffee that's amazingly rich, greet you at check in with watermelon juice, they are happy to have you here... Speak fluent English, cater to the international crowd English, German, European and obviously American..... Great fitness room, room views are great considering next to airport and mall attached for shopping.... U shouldn't need more at all..

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonesta H, Gerente at Sonesta Hotel Guayaquil, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are delighted and excited to greet you and express our gratitude for preferring the Sonesta Hotel Guayaquil

Thank you for writing us. Your comments are extremely important and we are really happy that your experience with us had been be wonderful.

Sonesta Hotel Guayaquil is always at your service. We are looking forward to see you soon.


On behalf of our team, thank you very much


Best Regards

Santiago Galárraga
General Manager
.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sonesta Hotel Guayaquil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta Hotel Guayaquil

Address: Joaquin Orrantia Av. and Leopoldo Benitez Street | (next to Mall del Sol), Guayaquil, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Guayas Province > Guayaquil
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 55 Hotels in Guayaquil
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sonesta Hotel Guayaquil 3.5*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, T4B, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia and Despegar.com so you can book your Sonesta Hotel Guayaquil reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sonesta Hotel Guayaquil, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.