We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible service” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Cocolon

Cocolon
Entrerios, Centro y Av. Fco. de Orellana, Guayaquil 5125, Ecuador
53946007075
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #92 of 253 Restaurants in Guayaquil
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: Ecuadorean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night Food, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Quito
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Terrible service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

I visited this place today at plaza San Francisco. Potato Locro had no potatoes at all and served cold, no dishes were served for eating fried rice and white salsa in the beginning (also, banana chips were cheesy, not crispy). After waiting for ages, all the food was served all together at the same time, so the 2 person little table couldn't hold all the dishes. Fishy smelly restrooms... Terrible service so I left no tip, but maybe they don't care anyway... Wouldn't come back ever. For Typical Ecuadorean food I recommend you Grand Hotel Guayaquil cafeteria, which is also less expensive.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    65
    43
    15
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johnstown, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
179 reviews 179 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
218 helpful votes 218 helpful votes
“You Get Your Money's Worth Here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

A receptionist in the hostel in which my boyfriend and I were staying in Guayaquil highly recommended that we check out Cocolon, especially if we wanted to sample traditional Ecuadorian food. So that's exactly what we did: even though it seemed to be super busy, we were given a comfortable table for two upstairs. I ordered pineapple juice, and it was both huge and very tasty. My boyfriend ordered a traditional Ecuadorian soup, while I went ahead and ordered "La Pechugona," which is chicken smothered with a delicious creamy sauce, served on a bed of rice. When I received my order, I couldn't believe how huge it was. So, if you're going to Cocolon anytime soon and this dish sounds appetizing to you, just know that it can be eaten by two people. Overall, the general atmosphere of the place was appealing; there were many families, friends, and groups of co-workers enjoying food and libations. Like my title says, you definitely get your money's worth, so stop by and give this place a chance because I doubt you'll be disappointed.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karlsruhe, Germany
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Delicious food and good service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

I like many of the dishes they offer here. I have gone many times and my favorites are locro de papa, sango de camaron and fritada. The smoothies are also really good. Prices are regular and the decoration of the place is really ecuadorian style

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Good hearty food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We ate in restaurant Cocolon during a recent stay in Guayaquil, we ate in the one down town located at Pedro Carbo y 9 de Octubre across from Plaza Vicente Rocafuerte, we came across Cocolon by chance whilst looking for somewhere to eat in the area, in fact as we were walking past they were just opening up for the evening

I think it was all traditional dishes on the menu, I cant remember the names off the dishes on the menu but I had a dish which consisted of rice, beef, egg, sweet corn, plantain and cheese, there was also a bit of avocado served with it as well, my girlfriend had a similar looking dish which consisted of rice, chicken, egg, sausage and plantain

The restaurant was starting to get busy with locals as we were leaving, always a good sign when you see locals eating in a place!

If I was in the area again and struggling to find a restaurant I would go back there

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“A nice introduction to Ecuador”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

After 14 hours of travel, the cold beer and delicous food -- including an interesting appetizer of thinly sliced crispy plantains, with dip and "cocolon" (tasted like uncooked, fried rice) -- was a wonderful introduction to Ecuador.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cocolon also viewed

Guayaquil, Guayas Province
Guayaquil, Guayas Province
 
Guayaquil, Guayas Province
Guayaquil, Guayas Province
 

Been to Cocolon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cocolon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.