We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel in Guayaquil” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Manso Boutique Guesthouse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Manso Boutique Guesthouse to your Saves list
Manso Boutique Guesthouse
3.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Malecon 1406 y Aguirre, Guayaquil, Ecuador   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Fort Lauderdale, Florida, United States
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel in Guayaquil”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

This hotel is close to the airport (10 min by taxi). The taxi is very inexpensive, it only costs 5 to 8 US$ to get to the hotel. It is very close to downtown and main restaurants. It is close to malecon (tourist area). The staff is friendly. They have bikes for rent. The breakfast is nice. There is an ATM very close to the hotel. The room was clean and spacious, I stayed in one with a view to the Malecon and River. It has nice sitting areas in the common places. It has a small restaurant.

I would gladly stay here again.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    103
    30
    13
    7
See reviews for
32
91
66
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Located right across the street from the Malecon riverwalk /boardwalk and only a few short blocks to the central plaza behind it, Manso Boutique is in an ideal location if you want to see a bit more of Guayaquil. We had a nice, clean room, more stylish and modern than most hostels, with bench and barstools at the window to view of the river. The fresh pitcher of water was anice welcome, as Guayaquil is warm and humid. WiFi routers on each floor (a bit slow in the room but no problem in the hallway). The walk to the renovated colonial district is only a few minutes south down the boardwalk. Staff was helpful and people like Eniko went out of their way to make sure everything was in order, even looking into lodging options in the remote destination we were departing for. Our only negative would be to note a shower curtain too short which contributed to water on a slippery floor outside of the shower (seems to be a common malfunction in many hostels). Location, room, staff, price were all good. As hostels go this would rank above the majority in my own personal opinion, and would stay there again.

Room Tip: In addition to their web site they have a US based number that will connect you directly, where you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

I acknowledge that this hotel is more expensive than the average in Ecuador, but it was worth it for the excellent location and the fact that it's much nicer and more modern than many pet-friendly hotels in the country. My husband and I stayed here with two of our friends (and our pup) in two private rooms that were comfortable and clean. Having A/C was wonderful given the heat in Guayaquil in March, and the WiFi was reliable to get work done. We also enjoyed the small balcony and hammock, and bottles of wine available for purchase in the rooms. The breakfast was adequate and standard as far as what's offered in Ecuador when breakfast is included in the hotel price. If it's not sufficient for you, other options are available on the menu for $1 - $4. With the Malecón 2000 right across the street, there are plenty of food options if you'd rather not eat at the hotel. Drawbacks were that there's no parking (but parking is available in a lot across the street for $10/day) and when we asked to extend our stay for one more night we were told there wasn't room...but when we looked it up online 5 minutes later we were able to book for another night on Expedia. No biggie, but a little weird.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ricaro, Propietario at Manso Boutique Guesthouse, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thanks for your nice comments about us. Though I feel I need to clarify that we are not really pricey. Guayaquil is a way more expensive city than the rest of Ecuador. However, we try to give everyone the chance to stay with us with a range of room categories. This year we opened our Super-Economy Rooms @ US$18 p/p (based on double occupancy). Water, Electricity, Taxes and everything are quite expensive in Guayaquil. Besides, companies that meet all legal and labor requirements in Ecuador have a very heavy burden.

It was surprising for me to read us "pricey" because the general comment is that, despite our prime location and quality of service, we have very nice rates =)

Regarding the situation of the booking for your extra night, when you found space in Expedia, sometimes hotels get bookings through the phone or through another travel agency, and until the availability is blocked in all outlets another booking comes in. But I am sure that our staff did not deny a room to you for personal reasons but because there was actually not space =)

Thanks for staying with us and hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, AB
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

We only stayed one night as a stopover before getting on an early morning flight. The hotel is in a great location, directly across the street from the Malecon boardwalk area. The front desk staff is sufficiently bilingual and was very helpful. We had an economy room with our own bathroom and it was clean, the bed was comfortable, it had an interesting theme and decor and was a reasonable size. The hotel itself has really comfortable common areas and a nice, funky vibe.

We got a great price on Expedia so shop around before you get there if you can.

If you want to shop there is a huge mall a short taxi ride (about $5) away. The shopping in the area around the hotel is pricey and spread out. There are lots of little restaurants and cafeterias in the area so you have food options.

I will admit I am not a fan of Guayaquil but if you have to stay and don't need a pool this hotel is a great option.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cuenca, Ecuador
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

I arrived on a midnight flight, was a bit horrified at the claustrophobic, stifled nature of the girls' dorm. It took more that four hours to fall asleep due to the incessant wiggling of the inhabitant in the bunk below me. The steps to the top bunk were covered with metal tubing, which was loose and would spin when pressure was applied. I found this out the hard way. The boys' dorm was a totally different caliber, very nice and spacious. And the private rooms seemed very nice, peaceful. I would stay here again but never again in the girls' dorm. And I would skip the desayuno. It is very underwhelming and about twice the price of the restaurants just around the corner.

Room Tip: Avoid the girls dorm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ricaro, Propietario at Manso Boutique Guesthouse, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Dear, I am sorry that you had a hard time sleeping in our shared dorm, but I have to say that there is always a risk involved in taking a shared dorm. It is not fair to blame the hotel when there is a roommate who does not let you sleep. I personally checkd the "skeaky-ness" of the bunkbeds, and I am sorry to contradict you but they are in the normal range. However, we will tighten the screws to make them more firm.

Thanks for the info about the loose stair steps in the bunk bed. We will have that fixed.

Regarding the "claustrofobia-ness" of our female dorm, well, we switched dorms recently. What was the girls' dorm is now the guys' dorm and vice-versa. We made this change because we realized what you also did: girls care more about the cozyness of the spaces they live in. In our surveys women were more unhappy with the small room than guys are now with the same room.

I have to add that despite being that a small room we have lots of common area, many of them right outside of the "claustrophobic" room we are talking about. So, unlike many hotels, you have many common areas to choose to hang out.

Regarding breakfast, I am sorry to hear that you didnt like our breakfasts. Just for the records and to clarify it, we have a Continental breakfast (all-you-can-eat including bread, butter, coffee, tea and fruit plus one glass of juice) for US$3.05. In the corner there is a streetside juice bar where you would end up spending probably $1 less if you don't care sacrificing the nice ambience. It's your choice, but it is not a fair thing to label us "overpriced".

Also, we have the Ecuadorian breakfast with local delicacies, many of them organic, or the MansoMix breakfast with quinua tortillas, plus the all-you-can-eat fruits, bread, coffee and tea. Any of those goes for US$5. Or the traditional American breakfast for $4.27. Do you really find our rates high? Quality has a price; we are not a cheap place, but caling us overpriced and giving us a 2-star rat, honestly, is not fair.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Guayguil has class! this place was an awesome stay for one night while waiting on planes. $5US cab ride from airport, this hostel is situated opposite the boardwalk with great views. Breakfast was included and with a private bathroom the total was about $80 for the night. A great deal and we were 100% satisfied with our stay and we slept extremely well

Room Tip: Lotus flower room was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We had just had 5 hours in the Guayaquil airport after having a Visa problem and a major hiccup in our plans!! We were tired, upset and hungry so were pleased to find a clean comfortable bed and an alcoholic drink and dinner. The place is pretty darn nice. The staff were great and very helpful - the food was delicious - served even at a late hour. I felt very pleased we had booked this place - it was atmospheric and very very comfortable - I would highly recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Manso Boutique Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manso Boutique Guesthouse

Address: Malecon 1406 y Aguirre, Guayaquil, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Guayas Province > Guayaquil
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 35 Specialty Lodging in Guayaquil
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Manso Boutique Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Guayaquil city centre on the west bank of the River Guayas, this hostel offers free Wi-Fi access throughout the property and a restaurant, serving freshly-prepared local and international dishes. Guests can relax on the balcony, offered with some rooms, and take in the view of the city. Private bathrooms are offered in some rooms of Manso Boutique Hostal while others have access to shared facilities. Simon Bolivar Airport is just 5 km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotels.com, HostelBookers and HostelWorld so you can book your Manso Boutique Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manso Boutique Guesthouse Hotel Guayaquil

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Manso Boutique Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.