We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredibly disappointed” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Lo Nuestro Cafe - Restaurant

Lo Nuestro Cafe - Restaurant
Av. Estrada 903 | Higueras, Guayaquil 00000, Ecuador
593 4 2386 398
Improve this listing
Ranked #33 of 253 Restaurants in Guayaquil
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $10 - $15
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Incredibly disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

After dining here tonight, I am completely shocked by the overwhelmingly positive reviews found on tripadvisor, In fact, it makes me wonder if they are truly written by patrons of this restaurant.

The service was gruff and unfriendly. The food was awful - I had the shrimp and coconut sauce which was obviously made with frozen cooked shrimp as it was completely lacking in flavor. The chocolate cake we had for dessert was essentially indelible. How others rave about this food, I know not. To top it off, it is ridiculously expensive by local standards. Avoid at all costs!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    61
    21
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Astoria, New York
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Wonderful Ecuadorian food in a Guayaquil from yesteryear.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

If you want to try delicious cebiches or cazuela in an old-fashioned ambience, have dinner at Lo Nuestro. The waiters are pro's. I loved that they wear guayaberas. If you are Julio Jaramillo fan, ask to sit in his salon.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Guayaquil of the past”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

Looking for authentic local flavor of regional food in a traditional old fashion atmosphere? This is the place to visit. A large variety of staple Ecuadorian dishes to choose from, friendly service that will take you back to Guayaquil of the past. I definitely recommend it.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guayaquil, Ecuador
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Tipical Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

If you wanna have a truly Ecuadorian Food, you better go here, The restaurant is decorated like ancient time Guayaquil, and the food is awesome.. You gotta go!

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Just perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

This restaurant was recommended to us by a local so we took a cab over. We were eating early by local standards so the place was almost empty. Really lovely atmosphere inside. Sort of old world in a good way. We ordered a shrimp dish with some sort of coconut sauce on it and a chicken dish served with rice. The shrimp dish was served with four really large and tender shrimp and the sauce was delicious. Rich but not gloppy or too greasy. The chicken dish was almost like some sort of stew and the flavor was very good. Even the rice was good (surely all the real butter helped). We also had some of the sangria and it was really good too. All in all, a great meal in a really charming setting with nice service.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lo Nuestro Cafe - Restaurant also viewed

Guayaquil, Guayas Province
Guayaquil, Guayas Province
 
Guayaquil, Guayas Province
Guayaquil, Guayas Province
 

Been to Lo Nuestro Cafe - Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lo Nuestro Cafe - Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.