We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent in Cuyabeno” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cuyabeno Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cuyabeno Wildlife Reserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cuyabeno Lodge
Save
You added Cuyabeno Lodge to your Saves list
Av. Los Shyris N36-188 and Naciones Unidas, Shyris Park, Office 608 | 100 Meters South of the Mall "Quicentro Shopping", Cuyabeno Wildlife Reserve, Ecuador   |  
Hotel amenities
París, Francia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent in Cuyabeno”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Professionnal guide, excellent accomodation, great program and marvellous food....
and the surronding is abolutely lovely, the laguna is peaceful and quiet, and so beautiful
I waana go back to cuyabeno Lodge

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    17
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
17
28
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

To get there requires a flight to Lake Agrio, a two-hour bus ride, and a two-hour motorized canoe ride, but it is well worth it. The guide was great, as were the activities (day and night hikes, bird and animal watching from the canoe, swimming in the lagoon, a trip to an indigenous community). My only complaints are that the shower was too hot (scalding) and the vegetarian meals were not satisfying. The manager told me he would address these problems.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

We spent 4 days at Cuyabeno Lodge in July. We stayed at the top floor, 3rd floor, at the tower, which was very clean and private. Food was very hearty and great. One of the highlights of our stay was the guide, Roberto. He was very knowledgeable and passionated about being a part of nature conservation as a guide. He was very friendly and also had a great leadership. Everybody in our group was very nice people, but Roberto really brought everybody together and we were very happy to have him. He was very thorough to look for animals and birds all the time. He always gave us clear instructions about our next activities and he was very efficient. We certainly enjoyed our jungle tour, but we also had a great time as a group lead by him. After we were dropped off at the airport, there were many people from different jungle tours, but we were the only people who were still together talking while waiting for our flight. Just before our last dinner at Cuyabeno Lodge, one of the couples in our group got engaged! We were very happy and had a little "party" at the dining room drinking beer together after our dinner and Roberto joined us to celebrate. I believe that a part of the trip to Ecuador is meeting people. Many people who chose Ecuador to visit are super world travelers. Robert definitely helped us to be friends and we were all glad to meet him as well.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Cuyabeno Lodge was the highlight of my four month trip around South America. I echo all of the positive comments already made. And after speaking with people who stayed in other lodges in Cuyabeno, the difference here seems to be the passion that the guides and the staff have, as it is one of the first established lodges in the jungle.
Gilbert has superman-vision so we saw so many types of animals and fauna, day and night.
In addition to the previous comments, just one other reminder. This is a rainforest, so it may rain. Bring extra bags to protect your luggage, just in case. A thick poncho will be provided. All of this and more is advised in the packing list which you will receive via email pre-trip, but some guests seemed strangely surprised by the weather. Read the email. You will get sun, humidity...and rain!
Muchas gracias Gilbert for the education (and helping us city girls become nature lovers), Luis for hosting and Lucia and Laurie for the great organisation!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

This is a great lodge and the guide (Guilvert) was amazing. We saw tonnes of wildlife. The food was very good and plentifull. Swimming in the lagoon was great.

Just a word of caution, don't bother paying extra for the tower rooms. They are far from luxurious. We did not have hot water (except briefly after we complained). The furnishings were basic. The dorms and other rooms were adequate and were significantly cheaper.

Room Tip: Don't bother with a tower room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quito
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I work as a free-lance bird-guide and decided to take advantage of the low-season to visit this remote part of Amazonas in Ecuador. The lodge is perfectly situated at the edge of Laguna Grande with easy access to nearby forest trails. Also the beautiful flooded igapó forest is just next to the lodge. The lodge also sports a sturdy canopy tower which is invaluable for birdwatchers. One afternoon an adult Ornate Hawk-Eagle was teed up only 300 m from the lodge and seen well from the tower! There was also a bit cel-phone reception at the top of the tower.
Food was great and I could have pre-dawn breakfast. Usually people have breakfast at 8 am but as a birdwatcher you want to be out in the woods in the morning to take advantage of the better activity and nicer temperature.
The down-side is that there are too many people and lodges in this part of the vast Cuyabeno NP which makes it a bit noisy with motorized canoes and you meet other groups on the trails etc.
Best of the trip - a Harpy Eagle seen and photographed at 20 m distance! Awesome!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bremen, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We had a great time canoeing along the various river channels, looking for birds, forest walks, night walks, swimming in the lagoon and relaxing in the hammocks. Staff were very friendly, our guide Gilver was enthusiastic and knowledgeable about the culture, flora and fauna of the region. We also enjoyed the range and authenticity of the local food. Also, we felt is was good value for money compared to the prices of the other lodges.

Room Tip: The tower!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cuyabeno Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cuyabeno Lodge

Address: Av. Los Shyris N36-188 and Naciones Unidas, Shyris Park, Office 608 | 100 Meters South of the Mall "Quicentro Shopping", Cuyabeno Wildlife Reserve, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Sucumbios Province > Cuyabeno Wildlife Reserve
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Cuyabeno Wildlife Reserve
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1989, the Cuyabeno Lodge was the first lodge in the park; the owners believed that the rainforest traveler should be accommodated in conditions which would be both in harmony with the surrounding environment and attuned to the needs of the modern visitor. At Neotropic Turis, we, the owners of the Cuyabeno Lodge, are the pioneers in the tourist operation and we built the first Eco friendly lodge in the Cuyabeno National Park. We are a group of conservation biologists with 4 decades of experience in national parks management in developing countries.The Cuyabeno Lodge one of two lodges located right on the lake and one of the few lodges that never is flooded. We recently built a canopy watch tower and 3 new deluxe rooms. We have 24 hours electricity from solar energy and hot showers are available for all our visitors. We are NOT the same as the Cuyabeno River Lodge, the latter being located at 2 hours travel from the Cuyabeno Lakes. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cuyabeno Hotel Cuyabeno

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cuyabeno Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.