We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Restaurant review” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Monika

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Monika to your Saves list
Hotel Monika
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Budislaviceva 12, Trogir 21220, Croatia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 48 Trogir B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Restaurant review”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

We did not stay in the hotel but ate there on two evenings. The very good selection of keenly priced dishes were well cooked and presented. The open courtyard restaurant provides a delightful eating environment and together with the high quality of service made for very enjoyable meals.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    9
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
16
5
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

We booked a trip at the last moment, and I settled on Hotel Monika with some reluctance -- it was toward the higher end of our budget, and my experience in Croatia has generally been hotel quality falls far, far short of the price. But I was pleasantly surprised: first, rooms appear to have been recently and tastefully renovated, and everything was clean, neat, and in working order. Second, every interaction with the staff left a smile on my face. (Admittedly we made no excessive demands, but still...) Other reviewers have commented on the breakfast, but I think the buffet size reflects the hotel size (a dozen rooms). The usual European suspects are on offer - cereal, yogurt, bread and jam, sweet rolls, fruit, cold cuts and cheese, coffee and juice. Some days they had scrambled eggs out, other days they asked how we wanted them.

Finally I just wanted to use this review to plug for Trogir itself. The town is charming, the food is fine, and it's an easy ferry or bus trip to Split, which has all the charm you'd expect of a transit hub.

Room Tip: When booking we were offered a "junior suite" -- this turned out to the "Apartment Vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Tucked into the heart of the medieval village, a recent renovation was done to give modern rooms while preserving the old world feel of the common spaces. My sister and I stayed here at the end of a Croatian sailing vacation. Coming off a sailboat we were delighted to find some luxury and service with a reasonable price tag. The small staff gave us personalized service - arranging curb pick up for luggage, laundry, printed maps for our excursions, help with bus schedules, and even walked us to a nearby restaurant so we wouldn't get lost! Impeccable English spoken. Only disappointment was the restaurant - weirdly mundane food. Just the wrong side of boring.

Room Tip: Not sure they have an elevator - inquire if stairs are not an option for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
la Bisbal d'Emporda, Spain
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We stayed in 2 hotels in Trogir, and whilst this was a bit more expensive it was soooo worth it. Not only was our room quiet, comfortable and big but it had a great bathroom...with a BATH! I nearly cried with joy...and the best air conditioning system ever. In fact so good I am going to research it when I get home. It did not.make a ghastly noise or dry ones eyes out. The management were charming and helpful. Breakfast was un exciting but fine. We did not eat there but would have done had we not been dining out with friends. The courtyard restaurant looked lovely. And they had a higher roof terrace for hotel guests. Would go back in a shot. A really well run and good hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

The staff at Monika are friendly and helpful. Arranged a car to collect us from the airport and met us at the city gate to help with our luggage.
Trogir is an amazing city and the hotel is superbly located. It has been refurbished to a modern high standard. The bathroom was large and the necessary air condition system was brilliant.
I am sure my rating would be higher if we had booked two rooms but I chose the large family room. This has a large double bed on the mezzanine floor leading out onto a beautiful terrace. In the main room are two double sofa beds so if used to capacity it is good value. However the sofa beds are not the conventional fold out with a mattress that we are use to in the UK. They are very hard and permanently set up reducing the room space considerably. Because we were only using one we were able to sit on a sofa.
The storage for a large room is very poor. There was one single wardrobe in the room and nothing else - not much for 3 for a week!
With only one bathroom this only suits close family and friends and time for you all to use the shower/bath.
The restaurant is large with an outside terrace. A simple continental breakfast is provided. The menu is typical Croatian and we enjoyed a nice meal cooked on an open grill on our first night. The food is good but we enjoyed better meals in several of the many restaurants in Trogir and across the bridge in Ciovo. The shrimp in the market are gorgeous!
An hotel that should definitely be the first choice for anyone staying in Trogir.

Room Tip: If you can afford it book the room with roof terrace but only for two - especially if you are stayin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Italy
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

This recently renovated hotel is in the middle of the old town but far away from the town square, and in a street which still makes it a quiet spot.

The rooms are flawless, although not stylish or luxurious - clean, roomy, comfortable beds, very quiet and effective aircon. The staff is friendly and attentive. Breakfast is mediocre, but the setting in the quiet restaurant courtyard is very nice.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Hotel Monika was a very late booking for me and I was swayed by the excellent reviews on trip advisor. I was not disappointed! Location in centre of Trogir in a beautiful building, very attentive staff and spotless room made my one nights stay a real pleasure. I would recommend it highly and return myself at the first opportunity!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Monika? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monika

Address: Budislaviceva 12, Trogir 21220, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Trogir
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 48 B&Bs / Inns in Trogir
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Monika 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Monika reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Monika, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.