We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel for one transit night” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Eko Garten

Save Saved
You added Eko Garten to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Eko Garten
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vinogorska 69, Slavonski Brod 35000, Croatia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Slavonski Brod
Bucharest, Romania
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Good hotel for one transit night”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

Good:
• The staff was very helpful and customer satisfaction oriented: when the receptionist/manager saw that the room is not big enough for 3 adults, she offered to give us 2 separate rooms (a single and a double one) in exchange for the triple room, for the same price as we paid for the triple one.
• The room and the entire hotel are very clean and nicely decorated.
• We also received a small but very pragmatic and tasteful gift at our leaving, which reminds us about the pleasant stay in this hotel during our vacation, as well as now.

Bad:
• The room was quite small for three adults and so was the bathroom. However, if you are just in transit (not too many luggages to store in the room), it is enough place to sleep.
• If you don’t have a car while you go there it will be quite difficult to visit the surroundings. The center is about 5 km away and there is not much to do around it.
• The breakfast is not a very large or sophisticated one, but from my point of view, it’s enough food for a meal. The wonderful place you serve the breakfast compensates a lot the lack of diversity in food&beverages

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    20
    6
    7
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
8
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Varna, Bulgaria
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

Very nice hotel with friendly staff, great restaurant, clean and nice rooms.They have good wellness center, serve very nice traditional dishes and drinks and have beautiful garden.Highly recommended place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

I had to drive very late night and if I had not had a navigation it would have been impossible to find it. When found one can realize that the location is not too far from the highway so the hotel can be still a good option when traveling by car. The relative cheap price is probably due to the type of the room which is quite old styled and not very excisting. It was clean and quiet on the other hand. The bathroom is small and just enough.
The staff was friendly and helpful despite my arrival well after midnight. The breakfast was served in the main building and did not exceed expectations.The relatively little choice on the breakfast buffet table was probably due to the low season.
A pleasant surprise that will make me remember this small hotel was the gift bottle I received from the receptionist upon checkout.It is a really nice attempt!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bansko
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2011

We picked this hotel mainly for the location as we were driving back from the UK to Bulgaria. On arrival we thought it needed like it should have a lick of paint as it has been decorated outside with bright colours and we were at the end of a very hot summer. However we were very pleasantly surprised by great service, good price, comfort and good food. We didn't go out of the hotel as we wanted to relax after driving and the terrace with late afternoon sun called us. They used barrels to make benches and tables which looked like a boat which was quite cute. We relaxed with very good food and drinks at extremely reasonable prices especially after our previous 10 days in West Europe.
The bedrooms were very comfy and clean, the air con was efficient and essential and the shower rooms good.
Breakfast was great with continental buffet then an assortment of omelets and eggs etc cooked to order.
The staff were all great speaking very good English and the owner, was around a lot making us feel she wanted us to be very happy with our stay - which we were.
We would thoroughly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
munich
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2011

We have stayed in Eko Garten one night, on our way to Greece, coming from Munich. The hotel is simple, clean and calm. They ensure 24 hours reception, which is very convenient as coming from far away may include delays. We arrived at 03:00 and everything was all right. We appreciated very much their effort to adapt breakfast to our taste. We will not hesitate to stay again in the future.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2011

Well i don't usually write reviews but this place stood out for me, Last year i decided to ride my motorcycle from UK to Turkey, so did some research and Slavonski Brod was en route into Serbia, well pre booked Eko Garten (at a very reasonable price!) unfortunately the weather that day threw it down and i ended up in the centre of Slavonski Brod like a drowned rat! as with most European contries (not UK i must add) motorcyclists are respected travellers and i got escorted by a very kind guy from the center of town to the hotel, took about 20 mins, don't let the location of the hotel put you off, it's in a quiet suburb but close enough if you want some night life, receptionist was lovely, even with a biker dripping over her floor she was full of smiles, without asking she suggested that the bike could go in the garage for security and with that handed me the key, the rooms although dated in décor were warm and very comfy and i decided to stay for the evening meal (again very cheap) quality food and loads of it all washed down with local beer, the waitress (chef's daughter??) explained the menu in pigeon English and we all had a good laugh, as for recommending Eko Garten well i wouldn't hesitate, during my journey i stayed in some 'dog rough' hotels and some very nice (expensive) ones but this one i'd go back to again.... Hmmmm time for another trip maybe :)

Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2010

We stopped off at this hotel for one night on the way to Serbia. The hotel looks a little like something out of “yesterday’s world” and is decorated with antiquities throughout.

Staff were quite obliging and we were shown to our room, which comprised a reasonable sized double room / bathroom with old quaint furniture / furnishings, fitted out with a surprising abundance of accessories which included wi-fi (unsecured), air conditioning, bed lighting, safe and a mini bar. Whilst the room was clean, it was quite musty and needed airing (there was no problem opening the window). Unfortunately, the bedding (ie mattress / pillow) was of poor quality and needed updating. The bathroom light had a fault and was extremely difficult to turn on /off, whilst the fan in the bathroom was severely in need of maintenance and so noisy that it could not be used.

The hotel promotes itself as a “wellness centre” and the centre is nicely furnished with an old worldly and ambient theme. My wife decided to have a massage (doubt the female masseuse was qualified as she also worked in the kitchen) but did not find the experience to her liking, as the massage was “very hard” and would only recommend for persons who are looking for a “hard massage”. At the end of the massage, there are a number of relaxing beds to lie in, with water and grapes being provided. I decided to try the beer bath, which I found to be very good and is akin to sitting in a hot tub.

After being at the “wellness centre”, we went to dinner in the restaurant and were greeted by a waitress who had a lovely bright personality. For the main meals, we tried the pork, chicken and beef, but unfortunately, all three meats were tough and appeared to be over cooked. For breakfast, there was a basic cold breakfast buffet on offer (can request cooked eggs but don’t know how to do scrambled eggs) which was adequate.

The experience of our stay was certainly mixed, with the style of the accommodation being interesting and indeed different, but I suppose that in the non tourist areas (such as Slovonski Brod) one has to expect the “good with the bad”.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Eko Garten? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eko Garten

Address: Vinogorska 69, Slavonski Brod 35000, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Slavonia > Brod-Posavina County > Slavonski Brod
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Slavonski Brod
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Eko Garten 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
25 year old tradition of this charming and family-run hotel offers excellent service and accommodation in quadruple, triple, double and single rooms to tourists, business travelers and sport clubs. Guests of the hotel can enjoy on-site features like terrace, Wi-Fi in public areas, restaurant, smoking area, garden, pets allowed.Rooms spread over 2 floors and provide a warm atmosphere and modern comforts such as Wi-Fi, television LCD/plasma screen, satellite TV, air conditioning, shower, in room safe, refrigerator and desk. Each bathroom has toiletries and a hairdryer.The hotel offers an excellent variety of recreational facilities and wellness: sauna, massage, baths in chocolate, apples, rose petals, as well as special rejuvenating beer baths in an oak vat.Sample international as well as local specialties at the sophisticated restaurant, also offering special organic menus, served by a kind and professional staff.Free private parking is provided and video-surveilled.Hotel Garten is located in a quiet and peaceful location merely 5 Km from the city center. It is also located 5 km from the E70 Motorway, half way between Zagreb and Belgrade and 90 km from the airport. Local buses stop in front of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Eko Garten reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eko Garten, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.