We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Quaint Casa Garzotto” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Garzotto

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Casa Garzotto to your Saves list
Casa Garzotto
4.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   Via Garzotto 8, Rovinj 52210, Croatia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 23 Hotels in Rovinj
kent
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“The Quaint Casa Garzotto”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Stayed at this Hotel 10 July 2014 for 3 nights, as a surprise 60th Birthday treat from my wife and daughters, a lovely lovely Hotel, right in the middle of the old part of this beautiful town, walking distance to everything,my wife arranged the transfer with Hotel to pick us from the airport, because she had read reviews about how hard it was to find, so the owner Miss Marie met us, it was about 30-40 minute transfer, we had a family room, quite big with double bedroom and a sofa bed, a lovely shower room, fridge. It had a little balcony the looked down onto the breakfast area, I think the windows were original with wooden shutters, the reception was in a different building, just around the corner, the stairs leading to our room were quite steep, I think there where two buildings belonging to this Hotel.
There was not a beach as such ( beach towels supplied)it was stones and rocks, so a pair of beach shoes would be handy, I have got to give Robert a mention, all the staff was nice but Robert was very very helpful, the breakfast time was from 8 til 10-30, on our last day we had to leave for the airport at 8am, so he got the 2 breakfast ladies to open at 7-30 that morning so we could have breakfast, that's what you call service, he was a lovely young man, and he drove us back to the airport. I would definitely stay at this Hotel again, in fact we are looking to go back next year with friends. Thank you Casa Garzotto

Room Tip: Arrange with Hotel to pick you up from Airport, I don't know if a Taxi could find it, the Hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    33
    8
    6
    5
See reviews for
24
109
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Fell in love with the hotel on arrival, which as others have noted is a bit of a challenge. If arriving by ferry (as we did from Venice) ask a member of the hotel staff to collect you. Robert did this for us and without him I think we would have been lost. It was a tricky walk over cobblestones with two kids (aged 6 and 9) and two suitcases, but the roads are quiet and with Robert's help we got there soon enough. Room was spacious and spotless although again, the trip up the stairs was a little treacherous. I would not recommend if mobility impaired. The room opened onto a little side street in the old town which was a touch noisy at night, but packed with character. Breakfast was served in a gorgeous old-world room at street level and was ample. We would have loved to spend an extra night and really get into the groove of Rovinj, but had to depart the next day to Pltivicka which we did via rental car again helpfully assisted by Robert.

Room Tip: We chose room 8 - girls slept on a pull-out sofa bed and we in a separate room, all very comfortably
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawthorne, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We had stayed here in 2012 and requested our travel agent book us here again as we had loved it the first time. Although the staff had changed it was truly as good as the first time. We drove to Rovinj so all we had to do was call the hotel and Robert met us at the roundabout and drove us in. (Cars are not allowed in Old Town except for residents) We were in the same building but this time on the top floor. There are alot of stairs but it made us laugh each time we went back to the room. We mistakenly went a day late, as we had been with relatives on the island of Ilovik and lost track of time (one can do this in beautiful Croatia). We were able to stay an extra night and were not even charged as we were returning guests. (Where ever in the world would that happen!!) The breakfast in their restaurant The top floor room has 2 windows, a skylight and is spacious, even a fridge in the wardrobe which is great as we like cold water to drink.When you need your car the next day to do more exploring in Istria all you have to do is tell the woman in the office and Robert brings it right into Old Town for you. He was even able to suggest restaurants off the tourist area that were excellent. I would never stay anywhere while in Rovinj. The quaint room, location, service are unbeatable.

Room Tip: The top floor in the building with 4 rooms is the best. We had stayed on the 3rd floor last time we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

The hotel is located in the old section of Rovinj. The hotel was built in the 16th century and was decorated with antiques. It was like stepping back into time. The rooms were clean, had a kitchen and a very good size. We were a family of four and had plenty of room. The staff was very helpful, especial Robert.

Room Tip: One tip, when you arrive and park in the city parking lot call the hotel because it is a little diff...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota, United States
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

Be sure and call when you first arrive as finding Casa Garzotto can be a little challenging the first time you walk through the old town. Our room was very large and comfortable, the buildings (there are more than one) are in a great location in the old town. If you would like to ride bikes they have free ones to use, they aren't fancy but they will get you from point A to B. Breakfast is the standard European fare with excellent coffees to choose from. Staff is there to help you out if you need anything (Robert didn't seem to need sleep). On our last day they even packed us a lunch for us to take on our ferry to Venice. Top notch property, would definitely stay again.
PS Added bonus, Casa Garzotto is close to Tipico which is the best restaurant in Rovinj (in my opinion).

Room Tip: Be warned no elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

We are very glad we stayed here. We had the top floor room in the original building; if stairs don't bother you, this is the room to get. It has more space and far better light than the ones below. We didn't see the rooms in the annex.

Robert, the concierge, was wonderfully helpful. The location is perfect. We slept very well. Breakfasts were served in a gorgeous old stone-walled tavern around the corner.

Rovinj is the place to stay in Istria--beautiful and gracious town.

Room Tip: If you are OK with 4 flights of stairs, get the top floor room in the original building where recept...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

My husband and I spent two nights in Rovinj and stayed at Casa Garzotto. We just loved it! We were in the Baladour building, which is less than 5 minutes from the actual Casa Garzotto (and reception). Our room was at the top floor with views of the old town and the campanile. The rooms was very spacious and welcoming, and Sunday morning we could hear the singing coming from the mass in the church right next door. The breakfast was really good and you could tell everything was of high quality and homemade. I love that the hotel is situated in the pedestrian area, which is lovely, and is walking distance from everything in the old town as well as the waterfront. Staff in the hotel is very friendly. I would definitely recommend this hotel and I would surely stay there again if in Rovinj again.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Garzotto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Garzotto

Address: Via Garzotto 8, Rovinj 52210, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Istria > Rovinj
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Rovinj
#3 Luxury Hotel in Rovinj
#4 Romantic Hotel in Rovinj
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa Garzotto 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Casa Garzotto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Garzotto Rovinj
Casa Garzotto Hotel Rovinj

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Garzotto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.