We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, great town, great stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Garzotto

Save Saved
You added Casa Garzotto to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Casa Garzotto
3.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   Via Garzotto 8, Rovinj 52210, Croatia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 22 Hotels in Rovinj
Burnaby, BC
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Great hotel, great town, great stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

You would be hard pressed to find finer service than at the Casa Garzotto. Ditka and her staff are terrific. We stayed twice on this trip to Croatia, first one night on the way to Slovenia and we stayed on the third floor of their building a 5 to 10 minute walk away. I had, unfortunately, lost my camera on the ferry from Venice. The staff did all they could to retrieve it from the boat but no camera had been reported founded. Later I sent an email to the ferry company and they had it after all. Casa Garzotto immediately fetched it and held it until our return stay.

When we returned we were on the top floor of the building in another charming room. We had to catch the ferry at 7 AM so the hotel arranged a package breakfast and sent a staff member to assist us and another guest get our bags down the stairs and deliver our breakfast -- first class service.

Rovinj is a wonderful town with cobblestone streets and very few vehicles allowed in the old part of town. It is easy to fall in love with this town.

There were some disappointments with the Casa Garzotto. The WiFi is only available in their main building in the lobby so it was a bit of walk to go on-line. The building were we in was hard to find and we got lost a couple of times wandering about the twisting and narrow alley ways.

The combination of the service and the ambience of the town made this a great stop on our visit to Croatia.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    33
    8
    6
    5
See reviews for
24
103
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Beyond the ideal setting and the lovely town of Rovinj, the staff at Casa Garzotto is amongst the best I've seen in all of my travels ! I collect gold cards from major chains of hotels and I am used to be treated very well, but after a long day of travel (Montreal to Munich and drive to Rovinj), I instantaneously felt like I was treated like a friend of the family. They took care of things well outside of the normal hotel help you would expect. I haven't seen or stayed in other hotels in the area, but I don't see a reason to go anywhere else if I travel back in the region. The rooms (had to change since I added a night at the last minute) were both very nice and romantic. Being my first contact with Croatians, I was overwhelmed by how hard they went out of their way to make my stay perfect !

I rarely am overwhelmed by the quality of the service, but they were so nice I will for ever remember them.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Rovinj is a lovely, romantic town in a picturesque port setting. Casa Garzotto is the icing on the cake, a large comfortable cozy room, with helpful friendly staff. They suggested a fabulous restaurant, Ulica, for a wonderfully delicious dinner. The breakfast was adequate, nothing special. we loved our stay here!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valencia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Casa Garzotto was one of our favorite places during our 3-week trip to Croatia. Rovinj is a charming, romantic town and Casa Garzotto fits in perfectly. The staff, Ivan and Martine, were very warm and friendly and helpful in every way. Our room was the top floor a short block away from the main building, and we absolutely loved it. Lots of steps to climb but the room at the top was exactly what we were looking for. Old walls and open beams and lots of charm. Breakfast was included and was served in a beautiful little restaurant close by.
Location is great, right in the middle of Old Town. The room was clean and there was plenty of hot water. Bicycles are available if you want to ride.
We heard about Casa Garzotto from Rick Steve's. We loved it and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
So. California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

We couldn't have been more pleased with the Casa Garzotta hotel. It's got such an amazing vibe and you'll feel welcome from the moment you arrive. The hotel is right in the middle of things....wonderful restaurants (don't miss the mussels at Balbi) the harbor and the main square. The rooms are a nice size and have great windows where you can throw the shuttered windows open and peak down on the narrow cobble stone street. This hotel and the town are just a wonderful experience. We just got home last night from a 3 week trip to Europe and Casa Garzotta was our favorite hotel and Rovinj our favorite city.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sskatoon
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

The Casa is within the pedestrian zone of Rovinj. The staff goes and park your car, they bring it back to you if you go for daytrips. The staff is very helpful. Lots of steps but worth it to be in the heart of the historic town. Excellent breakfast served in their restaurant Barba Zuane where you can eat outside or inside. The room had an "old feel" with modern comfort.

Room Tip: If you can't do stairs ask for a first floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Becket, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at Casa Garzotto. It's in a great location within the old pedestrian city of Rovinj. The staff is very helpful and eager to please. Our room was very large on the top floor of the main building. Be prepared to walk up a lot of steps!

We called the hotel once we got close to the city, and someone met us and drove our car into the pedestrian area, helped us unload, and then took our car to a remote parking lot. When we wanted to use the car to go for a day trip, we let them know 15 minutes ahead and they met us with the car near the public parking, around a 1o minute walk.

The hotel has a restaurant around the corner that is charming. Breakfast was excellent and so was the dinner we had one evening.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Garzotto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Garzotto

Address: Via Garzotto 8, Rovinj 52210, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Istria > Rovinj
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Rovinj
#4 Romantic Hotel in Rovinj
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Garzotto 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Tingo, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Casa Garzotto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Garzotto Rovinj
Casa Garzotto Hotel Rovinj

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Garzotto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.