We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint hotel in lovely Rovinj” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Garzotto

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Casa Garzotto to your Saves list
Casa Garzotto
4.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   Via Garzotto 8, Rovinj 52210, Croatia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 23 Hotels in Rovinj
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Avon Lake, Ohio
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Quaint hotel in lovely Rovinj”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

This hotel was recommended in the Rick Steves guidebook for Croatia. We arrived by car, parked in the lot outside town since no cars are allowed, and walked until we found Casa Garzotto. We had no reservation and they told us there was an apartment around the corner available so we took it. I agree with the reviewer who said the stairway up to the 2nd floor apartment smelled of cat urine, we noticed it immediately. I think when the lower door is left open at night, stray cats make it their home. We had a huge living area, small kitchen, spotless modern bathroom by Croatian standards and clean linens on the bed in a small bedroom. No cat pee smell inside the room. Yes, the furnishings are old, but this is Europe, not a large chain hotel , it is part of the charm. One street from the water, restaurants, bars (check out the Valentino Bar where you sit on the rocks looking over the Adriatic) and street activity the location can't be beat. The breakfast was served in the same building below our apartment and it was very good. This town is so historic, friendly, walkable and charming, I would not miss it if I was nearby.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    33
    8
    6
    5
See reviews for
27
111
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, LA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at this B and B. The service was excellent. They carried our bags up 4 flights of stairs. They parked our car (cars are not allowed in the old town) and brought it back to us whenever we requested. They provided a welcome beer and gave us bikes to ride free of charge. We had a lovely, spacious room filled with beautiful antiques. My only complaint (but it is a typically European problem) was that the air conditioner was not large enough to cool the room to my desire during the high temperatures of a July summer. To be fair, we had this problem throughout our trip in Croatia. There was a heat wave. Overall, lovely lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

We liked our stay here - especially the part where we were met by a guy on a scooter to show us how to get into town to the place - then they parked our car for us (the scooter guided us back to our car the next day too!). The room was in a different building and included a mini-kitchen and a view downstairs of the breakfast room... I can see how some people said the furniture is a little old/antique looking in a Grandmother kind of way, but we were fine with it. My son did have to sleep on a pull-out couch though. We liked breakfast, and we liked the location of this hotel. We were not disappointed with our stay, and we loved Rovinj!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

We stayed in Casa Garzotto in May 2012 and had a wonderful time. We had the 4th floor room that came with a small kitchen and traditional Croatian fireplace (which we didn't use) and was full of lovely antiques.

The staff were very friendly and helpful when we needed to park our car offsite (as the hotel is located in a pedestrian area) - all we had to do was phone them, they would come and pick up the car and park it for us. They made it very easy and convenient for us and I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sun Valley, Idaho
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

My impression of Casa Garzotto is, of course, part of my overall impression of Rovinj: lovely, historic, and welcoming. We visited Rovinj for three days, and hated to leave it. The old town was delightful, probably the most attractive and interesting of the historic cities we visited. Dubrovnik is not to be missed, of course, but you can't get the same experience there that you can in Rovinj of living, if only for a moment, in a historically significant town that has not lost its livability and charm. Living in Dubrovnik would be like living in a museum, in a sense. Rovinj has a number of good restaurants, an amazing clock tower, a thriving harbor, and lots of street activity, particularly music in the summertime. (Don't miss climbing the clock tower.)
Casa Garzotto is housed in a tall, thin 16th century building. There are three bedrooms in the main building, and others in an annex (which I didn't see). Heavy wooden shutters hang outside the windows, and the rooms are furnished in an eclectic mix of furniture. There is no elevator, and no easy access but through cobblestone streets, so it's not for those with physical limitations. You park your car, and then walk into the old city. The hotel will arrange for your luggage to be delivered to your room, and park your car nearby. Breakfast is served around the corner at a small restaurant owned by the hotel, which, I should mention, serves excellent dinners at reasonable prices. This is not a luxurious hotel, in the sense that there is no mini bar, little TV reception, and small showers. But, it more than makes up for all that in its cultural rewards. Plus, they have free bicycles you can use to explore the area! All in all, a magical experience.

Room Tip: There are only three rooms, and they are pretty much the same. We stayed on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

Three weeks in Croatia and this was our worst stay. Not sure what rooms other reveiwers stayed in but ours was terrible. It was so small we could not move around at the same time. We asked for another room but were told that was all they had. For what we paid and what we got we were very disappointed. Thankfully we had only booked two days.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

Sorry other tripadvisor reviewers, you let us down on this one!
We booked online on Expedia, and had a terrible time finding the hotel, once we did, we were told that they normally send detailed directions to people who book on their website, but not to those who book on Expedia, I find this odd, as regardless of how you book we are all paying customers!
When we did book we booked a very nice room, full of antiques and character, with wi-fi. We were quite upset when we were led by foot, ten minutes away to a teeny-tiny room in another building. It was a drab bedroom, with old, chipped IKEA furniture.. Not my idea of character or antiques.. Also, we had to walk back to the main building anytime we wanted to use our laptop. We did walk back and complained about our room, as this stay was by far our most expensive hotel on our 4 week Eastern Europe adventure, and we were looking for a bit of luxury. As soon as we complained we were offered a much nicer room, which I found odd, why didn't they give it to us in the first place? So we settled into a bedroom in the main building which was quite lovely. Shortly after we were told that we could only stay there for one night, and that we had to move to yet another building the next day!!! The next morning we packed up, again, and were moved to down the street to an aprtment. As soon as we entered the apartment we were struck by a very strong smell of perfume and or cleaners.. As time went by and the perfume smell faded it was quite obvious that they were trying to mask the odour of cat spray. It was absolutely disgusting, especially the couch, it smelled so strongly of cat pee, we avoided sitting on it our whole stay. The apartment was in need of a good cleaning, we were shocked to see all types of stains on the bedding. I could go on, but hopefully anyone who reads this gets the point. It was pretty dreadful, especially becasue they really try to sell themselves as a luxurious, boutique hotel, and charge very high prices. It was definitely not worth the money!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Garzotto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Garzotto

Address: Via Garzotto 8, Rovinj 52210, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Istria > Rovinj
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Rovinj
#4 Luxury Hotel in Rovinj
#4 Romantic Hotel in Rovinj
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa Garzotto 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Casa Garzotto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Garzotto Rovinj
Casa Garzotto Hotel Rovinj

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Garzotto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.