We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Try to avoide the staff there” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Resort Villas Rubin

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Resort Villas Rubin to your Saves list
Resort Villas Rubin
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Vilas Rubin 1, Rovinj 52210, Croatia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 23 Hotels in Rovinj
Ljubljana, Slovenia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Try to avoide the staff there”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

We spent two weeks in Villas Rubin Apartments. The location is great, I love the swimming pool area and the restaurant, but the thing I was most disappointed about is the staff there.
Few days after we arrived, we asked if it was possible to upgrade from a 3-bed apartment to 5-bed house with AC. Although we could book this type of house online for this exact date, the receptionist sad NO without even checking or negotiating. But even more frustrating was the fact that they do not provide mattresses for baby cots. I was not happy about it so they suggested we use a blanket instead of a mattress. Let's be reasonable. A blanket is a blanket. So we had to buy our own mattress and a cot as well since it was cheaper to buy a new cot than rent it for 14 days. Peope who work there are in general not very keen to help and have some of that "shut up and leave me alone" attitude, so it's best to try to avoid going to the reception if not necessary. On top of that, the apartment was full of spider webs and spiders when we first came, grass in the garden was at least 30 cm high so it's mind bothering what the huge amount of cleaning staff are doing there.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maistra-Croatia, Public Relations Manager at Resort Villas Rubin, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear TLS206,

Thank you for choosing Villas Rubin for your recent stay at Rovinj. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like yours that indicates areas for improvement and enables us to grow as a property and as a team. We work hard to deliver a welcoming and friendly service but it is apparent that in this case we fell short. I do apologize if our staff let you down and I am sorry that we were not able to provide you with the requested upgrade. Our occupancy did not allow us to do so as the apartment type you have requested was not available throughout your entire stay. Also, we are sorry that the baby cot that we have in our offer was not what you have expected and regret that you have opted to buy one instead.

What concerned us most was the lack of empathy and responsiveness from our staff and you can rest assured that your comment was shared with our entire team so that experiences such as yours are avoided in future. It is comforting to see that certain aspects of your stay were pleasing, thank you for highlighting our recently renovated pool area and restaurant.

We hope you will give our resort and our staff another chance to prove that we care about your feedback
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    22
    27
    12
    17
See reviews for
48
17
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014 via mobile

Room dirty and stuffy, a bit confusing when finding your room, reception good, food not too good... Cooked food seems like from a day ago at a la carte restaurant, pizzas too dry at the pizzeria... Wine is excellent...

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maistra-Croatia, Public Relations Manager at Resort Villas Rubin, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Adventuran,

Thank you so much for having chosen Villas Rubin for your recent stay in Rovinj and for sharing your short review here at Tripadvisor. We are sorry to read that we have not been able to meet your expectations on this occasion. Rest assured that your constructive remarks were duly noted and passed on to the respective departments. We are constantly looking for ways to improve our service and that is why we have recently extended our breakfast selection and reviewed some of the Food and Beverage offers in order to make breakfast and dining experience more pleasing to our valued guests.

We hope you will give our property another chance and that your next stay with us will be more pleasant and that you will notice the difference.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

A huge tourist complex left mixed feelings and some bad taste. On arrival we were unplesantly surprised, because we didn' get the appartment we reserved and prepaid for, but the receptionist was confident, that no other room is available and that we better express our dissatisfaction to portal booking.com (our booking provider). Than we asked for extra towel and for maid to come to prepare the additional bed, but we waited more than one hour (until 9 PM!) for someone to show. Maids came only once in next three days, to make beds and change towels, so on other days we had to ask for fresh ones...
Also, wi-fi covered only areas near restaurants and reception...
On the other side, we were pleasantly surprised at rich breakfast, and even after 10 AM (the end of breakfast) there was everything on offer. Also, location is super arranged and the pool is modern and well equiped. All in all, there were some positives, and maybe, just maybe, we will give the resort another try.

Room Tip: Appartments in the vicinity of the coast are the best, equiped with air condition.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maistra-Croatia, Public Relations Manager at Resort Villas Rubin, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear Boris S,

Thank you for choosing to stay in Villas Rubin and for sharing your review about your recent stay. Before I go any further I would like to point out that all feedback- negative or positive is greatly appreciated as it helps us identify areas requiring improvement as well as provides assurance on the things we do well.
We are so sorry to read that you have left our property with mixed feelings and that the apartment assigned to you did not meet your expectations. We try to resolve all guest complaints on the spot and we regret that you were instructed to express your dissatisfaction to your booking provider as that does not reflect our standards and polices. We will make sure such advices from our staff are not given in future. However, I believe you were offered an upgrade with some extra charge involved, but refused it.

On a more positive note, we are truly glad that you have enjoyed our breakfast. We have recently revised the quality of our offer and are pleased to read that our effort in improving the breakfast selection has been noticed. The pool area with the adjacent Restaurant was completely renovated last winter and really brought our offer to a higher level, thank you for noticing!
We hope that you will keep your promise and give our resort another try as we want to make sure all our guests have a great experience. To avoid possible misunderstandings in future, we would like to invite you to contact our reservation department on info@maistra.hr, our team will make sure to provide you with the type of accommodation that will best suit your needs.

Thank you once again for being our guest
We hope to welcome you and your family soon again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Park is beautiful. That is the positive side.

But when we arrived to our room, we both thought that is NOT what we expected. You know, when you arrive with nice expectations and after a long journey, and it is simply not a nice place.
All buildings are really ugly from inside and from outside even more.
Rooms are everything but charming. One plus point: very nice brand-new looking bathrooms.

Bed problem: The call their twin beds as "double" beds!!!! They have no double beds at all!!! Even the frames are separate, so do not chose it if you would like to be with your partner :-(

View from the room: parking cars :-( You do not feel you are on vacation with a beautiful view.

Breakfast is included in the price. The most terrible scrambled eggs (most probably mixed with lots of water) and sausage rolls (poorest-cheapest) of my whole life. Looks nice and tastes terrible. Cold breakfast is OK. Coffe poor, fruit juice from the machine is undrinkable.

There are lots of people, do not expect a calm or peaceful place!!!
Rooms are cleaned every day, nice cleaning ladies.

Animation programs, music on the beach in the evenings are big plus points.

Room Tip: My advice is: choose another place.

Room Tip: Chose another place which has a nice view on the see and calmer
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zagreb
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Stayed for two days with boyfriend, postseason, included breakfast and dinner.

location is really great, wonderfull bay, just a bit outside the city (and I consider Rovinj to be one of the most beautifull little towns ever), did not take a swiim, just sunbath, so don't know whats the sea entrance like.

accomodation is in rooms or bungalows, we took bungalow. great size, nice terrace, full equipment, but pretty old and shabby. lousy mattreasess, did not get any sleep, no air conditioning, which can be a problem in hot summer days. lousy toilet paper (smells awfull!). food in restaurant is basic, not so much choice, medium quality, for breakfast too many oliy and greasy food, if I had to eat there for couple of days, couldn't. swimpool area also old, needs renovation.

reception crew polite, but no genuine interes for guest. crew in restaurant really friendly.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Its one of those vacations that I want to forget asap. Rooms are old, mattresses not comfortable at all for sleep, staff don't care less for any complains, no matter how many times u go and repeat it to them, food is awful, worst food ever! All in all wouldn't recommend it even to my worst enemy.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Villa Rubins look like they haven't been touched since the 70s with cobwebs in the corners and an overgrown garden with unmown grass. Sports facilities are good apart from the swimming pool which is also shabby. Staff said what do you expect for the money but it is not particularly cheap.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Resort Villas Rubin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Resort Villas Rubin

Address: Vilas Rubin 1, Rovinj 52210, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Istria > Rovinj
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Rovinj
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Resort Villas Rubin 3*
Number of rooms: 357
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only a few kilometers south of Rovinj, you will find Villas Rubin, a serene retreat blended harmoniously with the coastline in the shade of pines and olive groves. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Resort Villas Rubin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villas Rubin Hotel Rovinj
Rubin Hotel Rovinj
Rubin Resort Rovinj

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Resort Villas Rubin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.