We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location with exceptions” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Resort Amarin

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Resort Amarin to your Saves list
Resort Amarin
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Monsena 2, Rovinj 52210, Croatia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
A May Day vacation
Ranked #16 of 23 Hotels in Rovinj
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Great location with exceptions”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

The resort is located in the Monsena area some miles outside Rovinj. It comprises the Amarin standard and superior apartments and a large camping site. The location is very nice as the resort is built into a steep slope surrounded by pine trees.

The standard apartments look more mediterranean style whereas the superior apartments are more modern. Note that for the standard apartments, two people are expected to share a sleeping sofa; 4-persons = 1 bedroom, 6 persons = 2 bedrooms. You cannot book your favourite house in advance, at least they give you no guarantees about the exact house you get, only about the type -- although you can of course try to get a nicer apartment when checking in.

The kitchen is well-equipped but you will have to buy all basic stuff like dish soap and bring dis towels. Toilet paper and bath towels are provided and can be exchanged on request. Our rooms were clean and their appearance was OK. The air condition worked like a charm without being too loud. Don't expect it to be four stars with marble sinks but it's no ruin either.

You can buy all you need from the supermarket on the spot or from the shop (bathong shoes, snorqel equipment, kites, etc.). There is also a kiosk for international newspapers and a vegetables stand which are OK. If you need to buy more excotic things or simply want to do the shopping for a whole week, there is a shopping area at Rovinj about 10 minutes by car. You can find there grocery stores (Konzum, Lidl) and a dm market selling cosmetics, healthcare and household products.

The restaurant is good and the view from the terrace to Rovinij is beatiful. In pre-season the resort was not too crowded and entertainment events only started in the last days we were there. As an alternative there is at least one restaurant nearby just a few minutes walk from the exit at the reception on the left.

If you want to go to Rovinj you can either rent a bike, go by your own car or take the taxi boat, which runs every hour until late. At the beach you can also take sailing and wind surfing lessons, rent a boat or book a tennis court or a volleyball place. Standard massage services are also available at the pool or a separate house. You can also book boat trips with pickup service at the resort's pier. The resort cooperates with Atlas tours (book at the reception). You can also book a tour with a private carrier near the pool area. We did the fish pick-nick with the private carrier, which was a nice experience.

The beach chairs and the sun umbrellas have to be rented on a per day basis for about 5 HRK each. The pools are filled with sea water and are rather small when the pool area is crowded. It's better to get into the sea in that case.

The beaches are rocky at most places. It is highly advisable to wear sandals or bathing shoes even for swimming -- like at most beaches of Croatia.

One area of the beach up North (right side as seen from above) is dog friendly. The farther you walk North the more likely you will meet nudists at the beach; the next nudist camp, Valalta, is located some kilometres to the north. Both resorts are actually separated by a small wall and you don't meet people from there unless you deliberately take a rather long walk to the North.

The staff at the reception provided gave us a mixed experience. As long as there are no issues everything is working OK, but they seem to be stressed when having to handle excetional requests. They really don't mean to be impolite but their reaction may seem a bit harsh sometimes. Yet, they will always give you a big smile in the end. When many people come or leave, checkin/checkout may last longer than usual. It can hence be better to pay already the night before you intend to leave.

In summary, a good place for some relaxed days in pre-season with probably more entertainment and action during high-season.

Room Tip: The four persons standard apartments have only one bedroom while two people are expected to share on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maistra-Croatia, Public Relations Manager at Resort Amarin, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Dear keen_commander,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Amarin Resort and for providing such detailed feedback from your recent visit. Reviews such as yours are much appreciated as they give a great insight into all the variety of options one can experience when staying with us. I am sure all the travelers of the Tripadvisor community will find it very useful in preparation for their visit to Amarin, but it is also a great tool for our better understanding of the needs of our guests and helps us in identifying certain areas for improvement.

From your very long description and a high rating of the property I was under the impression that overall you have enjoyed your stay with us and that most of the services were up to your expectations. We hope this means that you will consider us for your next visit to Croatia and we look forward to the opportunity to welcome you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    31
    22
    13
    14
See reviews for
48
17
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belgrade
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

We stayed at Amarin with our two sons (3 and 7) in a new apartment on the ground-floor, very close to the swimming pool area. The apartment was very nice with everything in good shape and looking quite good. Some common necessities were still missing in the kitchen to make our lives a bit easier. Things like soap in the dishwasher, garbage bags and such. This was probably on purpose though, and didn't bother us that much.

We really enjoyed time on the balcony and had all our meals there. We were able to prepare meals and cook with another family we spent the vacation with. There were plenty of seats for all of us on one balcony (8 persons) and extra small tables/chairs for the children to e.g. play cards.

The swimming pool and beach area was a short distance away and we thoroughly enjoyed it there. Especially the kids who could spend the whole day in the pool area. The beach is okay as well. There are some rocks there so take care when walking in but the water is great.

Overall we had a great stay there and wished we could have stayed longer.

Extra credit:
- We decided to check out a day earlier for personal reasons and had no problems whatsoever with doing that. The price was lowered accordingly and we were allowed to stay in the pool area for the whole area if we wanted. Great service.

Cons:
- There are parking spaces assigned to each apartment but our spaces were repeatedly occupied by some other cars. This might somehow be improved, I guess this organization wasn't communicated well enough to all guests.
- The food in the pool area restaurant is nothing special. Not bad, but just typical tourist average.

Room Tip: Ask for the new apartments. They have older ones, further from the beach and I think the newer ones...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maistra-Croatia, Public Relations Manager at Resort Amarin, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear Ólafur G,

We greatly appreciate the time you took to write a review about Amarin Resort. It is nice to read that you have been able to enjoy all of the facilities offered by the property and that your two sons have enjoyed the pool and the beach so much. I guess there is no better compliment to receive from the guest than “we wished we could have stayed longer”.
As to the comment regarding the parking lot, we do provide instructions to our guests on where to park, but in certain cases guests do not follow this procedure and that can create a bit of confusion. We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience this has caused you.

Thank you once again for your valuable feedback and we hope it will not be long before your next visit to Amarin Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rijeka, Croatia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

I stayed in the Resort just for one night, but in this short period of time, I managed to acquire a few unpleasant experiences. We stayed in one of the bungalows, and upon entrance, noticed that one of the towels was quite dirty (although placed on the towel rack as clean). Both soap dispensers were empty. Truth to say, replacements came rather quickly, but as a first impression, it was not a good one. The checkout time from the room is set at 10 a.m., which is too early, considering that breakfast ends at 10, and you have quite a walk from the room to the restaurant and back. So we managed to extend checkout until noon, but our room was locked when we came back from breakfast (this was solved quickly by a passing chambermaid who kindly opened it for us), but there was no electricity in the bathroom anymore, because our card was disabled. Of course, reception offered no apology for this, although they granted us extended checkout the day before.
Buffet breakfast is very good, the swimming pools are nicely organized, there's also the beach nearby, although it's not natural pebbles, so it's a bit of a turnoff.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms are quite far from your parking area, so this could be a problem if you have lots...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maistra-Croatia, Public Relations Manager at Resort Amarin, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear Linda B,

Firstly let us thank you for taking the time and effort to share your recent experience about Amarin Resort. Before I go any further I would like to apologize for certain shortcomings that, as a guest, you have experienced straight upon entering the bungalow assigned to you. Working in hospitality business we are all aware that the first few minutes of your stay will have a strong impact on your overall impression of the property, and I truly regret that we missed the opportunity to impress you. Our Housekeeping team is informed about this unfortunate coincidence, and you can rest assured that checking the soap level in the soap dispenser and the cleanliness of the towels is usually a standard and basic procedure. We apologize for the inconvenience caused and can promise that such flaws will not be repeated.
As to your comment regarding the late check-out, we try to grant this request to our guests without an extra charge whenever the occupancy allows us to do so. We are sorry that you were unaware of our check-out time.
We hope that your next stay with us will be more enjoyable and we look forward to welcoming you back soon again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

First of all, I never knew how beautiful Croatia was. The beaches are absolutely gorgeous and the water is so clean!

We camped for five nights and stayed in a 3 star apartment for two nights.
The campsite was the best I've stayed at in Europe. The bathroom facilities were always clean and well maintained.
The ground is very hard to put tent pegs into, but that's an understandable problem. It rained every 3rd day so it got easier. If camping in September like us, you may want to take note that the rain is torrential, like nothing I've seen before. Our tent is vango 5000mm resistance and it still leaked a small amount.

When we got an apartment, it was far better then we expected. I can only imagine was the 4 star apartments were like! They looked beautiful.

The restaurant food was excellent and the staff there were lovely. The buffet breakfast gets a bit tired after a few days, but there is a lot of choice.

The reception staff seemed to be very busy and disorganised. Some of the receptionists remembered how to smile but a lot of them were just so unhelpful and gave us wrong information. For example, the wrong shuttle ferry times to Rovinj centre which resulted us in having to get a taxi back.
There was a pretty blonde lady with curly hair who seemed to know about hospitaly. I don't care what star an accommodation provider is, everyone can smile or at least look pleasant.

However I would still recommend this resort and would also return myself.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shoresh, Israel
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We stayed there in Aug. 2013 and had wonderful time despite the following: facility is almost NEW but poorly maintained (as if nobody cares...), dead phone line in the room; A/C related problems; room-lights problematic; closet & cabinets' doors dis-function etc. I'd expect for minimal kitchen accessories (missing dish-washing soap & sponge, missing filters for coffee-maker, missing paper towel etc.); limited and overpriced WiFi arrangement.
Reception staff are annoying: hardly helpful neither friendly nor nice! Surprisingly their English is below average; poor understanding of visitors' needs OUT of the resort e.g., the ferry to Venice; no clue about wineries within 15 min. drive from the resort... let alone the great nat'l parks ~2 hours drive away frm the resort.
Bottom line: great value for yr money, don't count on resort's reception staff for valuable assistance. I doubt if we ever go there again, keep yr expectations adjusted.

Room Tip: Ask for "SUPERIOR DOUBLE ROOM WITH EXTRA BED" by the sea (first row facing the sea...).
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giv'atayim, Israel
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

The Amarin resort has a huge private beach, two swimming pools and many outdoor opportunities (speedboats, trampolines, mini-golf, mopeds, bikes, etc.). The houses/villas are new/renovated, spacious and well designed. The entire resort is tidy and well kept. The resort is 7 minutes drive from the lovely town of Rovinj. The beach is great, but was very crowded during August. Basically everything is extra - Internet, snacks, outdoor activities, etc. - but the prices are really low - compared with the Euro Zone. All in all - we enjoyed every minute and would love to go back.

Room Tip: Try asking for a room with sea view. This is not a must, though. Also - you may wish to avoid rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LizonMorton
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

I booked through Booking.com and thought that I was reserving a luxury apartment in a small property a few kilometers from Rovinj. I arrived to find a well-sized, clean and modern apartment but in a huge tourist "village" that was jam-packed with families and campers.

The pros - The 6-person, 2 bedroom apartment has two real bedrooms with comfortable beds, good air-conditioning, curtains that keep it dark at night, a real kitchen with stove and oven (we expected only mini-fridge and microwave) and a comfortable garden patio. The pools are nice, and the beach rocky but long. The water taxi to Rovinj comes every 30-60 minutes from 9:30 AM until after midnight and takes only a few minutes to get to Rovinj, certainly better than driving and parking if you are not staying in the old town. They were generous with the towels, and the room was very clean. The supermarket is convenient for self-catering. The staff is friendly and helpul, and check-in and check-out were much faster that I expect at a large complex like this. They had comfy hammocks scattered around the property.

The cons - This is a huge tourist complex that charges for everything. They charge for wireless Internet (yes, it said that on my reservation but I was still surprised it wasn't free). They charged for a baby bed in the room. They said you couldn't take the room towels to the pool or beach, but didn't provide towels at the pool or beach, forcing us to buy overpriced beach towels from the shop. They didn't provide even a sponge or paper towels in the kitchenette, so we had to buy dish soap, sponges and cleaning products.

The bottom line: the size of the apartments, water taxi, and pools/beach make it a good place for families with kids. I won't stay there again, though, and if I wasn't traveling with children, wouldn't stay there at all.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Resort Amarin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Resort Amarin

Address: Monsena 2, Rovinj 52210, Croatia
Phone Number:
Location: Croatia > Istria > Rovinj
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Rovinj
#9 Luxury Hotel in Rovinj
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Resort Amarin 4*
Number of rooms: 461
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cascading gently towards the rocky beaches and the turquoise sea, the Amarin Resort offers the privacy of your own home with a great view of the Old Town in lush nature just minutes away from the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Resort Amarin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resort Amarin Hotel Rovinj
Tourist Settlement Amarin Rovinj
Amarin Rovinj

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Resort Amarin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.