We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor value for the money” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Resort Amarin

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Resort Amarin to your Saves list
Resort Amarin
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Monsena 2, Rovinj 52210, Croatia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 23 Hotels in Rovinj
Rijeka, Croatia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Poor value for the money”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

I stayed in the Resort just for one night, but in this short period of time, I managed to acquire a few unpleasant experiences. We stayed in one of the bungalows, and upon entrance, noticed that one of the towels was quite dirty (although placed on the towel rack as clean). Both soap dispensers were empty. Truth to say, replacements came rather quickly, but as a first impression, it was not a good one. The checkout time from the room is set at 10 a.m., which is too early, considering that breakfast ends at 10, and you have quite a walk from the room to the restaurant and back. So we managed to extend checkout until noon, but our room was locked when we came back from breakfast (this was solved quickly by a passing chambermaid who kindly opened it for us), but there was no electricity in the bathroom anymore, because our card was disabled. Of course, reception offered no apology for this, although they granted us extended checkout the day before.
Buffet breakfast is very good, the swimming pools are nicely organized, there's also the beach nearby, although it's not natural pebbles, so it's a bit of a turnoff.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms are quite far from your parking area, so this could be a problem if you have lots...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maistra-Croatia, Public Relations Manager at Resort Amarin, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear Linda B,

Firstly let us thank you for taking the time and effort to share your recent experience about Amarin Resort. Before I go any further I would like to apologize for certain shortcomings that, as a guest, you have experienced straight upon entering the bungalow assigned to you. Working in hospitality business we are all aware that the first few minutes of your stay will have a strong impact on your overall impression of the property, and I truly regret that we missed the opportunity to impress you. Our Housekeeping team is informed about this unfortunate coincidence, and you can rest assured that checking the soap level in the soap dispenser and the cleanliness of the towels is usually a standard and basic procedure. We apologize for the inconvenience caused and can promise that such flaws will not be repeated.
As to your comment regarding the late check-out, we try to grant this request to our guests without an extra charge whenever the occupancy allows us to do so. We are sorry that you were unaware of our check-out time.
We hope that your next stay with us will be more enjoyable and we look forward to welcoming you back soon again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    31
    20
    12
    13
See reviews for
45
17
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

First of all, I never knew how beautiful Croatia was. The beaches are absolutely gorgeous and the water is so clean!

We camped for five nights and stayed in a 3 star apartment for two nights.
The campsite was the best I've stayed at in Europe. The bathroom facilities were always clean and well maintained.
The ground is very hard to put tent pegs into, but that's an understandable problem. It rained every 3rd day so it got easier. If camping in September like us, you may want to take note that the rain is torrential, like nothing I've seen before. Our tent is vango 5000mm resistance and it still leaked a small amount.

When we got an apartment, it was far better then we expected. I can only imagine was the 4 star apartments were like! They looked beautiful.

The restaurant food was excellent and the staff there were lovely. The buffet breakfast gets a bit tired after a few days, but there is a lot of choice.

The reception staff seemed to be very busy and disorganised. Some of the receptionists remembered how to smile but a lot of them were just so unhelpful and gave us wrong information. For example, the wrong shuttle ferry times to Rovinj centre which resulted us in having to get a taxi back.
There was a pretty blonde lady with curly hair who seemed to know about hospitaly. I don't care what star an accommodation provider is, everyone can smile or at least look pleasant.

However I would still recommend this resort and would also return myself.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shoresh, Israel
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We stayed there in Aug. 2013 and had wonderful time despite the following: facility is almost NEW but poorly maintained (as if nobody cares...), dead phone line in the room; A/C related problems; room-lights problematic; closet & cabinets' doors dis-function etc. I'd expect for minimal kitchen accessories (missing dish-washing soap & sponge, missing filters for coffee-maker, missing paper towel etc.); limited and overpriced WiFi arrangement.
Reception staff are annoying: hardly helpful neither friendly nor nice! Surprisingly their English is below average; poor understanding of visitors' needs OUT of the resort e.g., the ferry to Venice; no clue about wineries within 15 min. drive from the resort... let alone the great nat'l parks ~2 hours drive away frm the resort.
Bottom line: great value for yr money, don't count on resort's reception staff for valuable assistance. I doubt if we ever go there again, keep yr expectations adjusted.

Room Tip: Ask for "SUPERIOR DOUBLE ROOM WITH EXTRA BED" by the sea (first row facing the sea...).
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giv'atayim, Israel
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

The Amarin resort has a huge private beach, two swimming pools and many outdoor opportunities (speedboats, trampolines, mini-golf, mopeds, bikes, etc.). The houses/villas are new/renovated, spacious and well designed. The entire resort is tidy and well kept. The resort is 7 minutes drive from the lovely town of Rovinj. The beach is great, but was very crowded during August. Basically everything is extra - Internet, snacks, outdoor activities, etc. - but the prices are really low - compared with the Euro Zone. All in all - we enjoyed every minute and would love to go back.

Room Tip: Try asking for a room with sea view. This is not a must, though. Also - you may wish to avoid rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LizonMorton
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

I booked through Booking.com and thought that I was reserving a luxury apartment in a small property a few kilometers from Rovinj. I arrived to find a well-sized, clean and modern apartment but in a huge tourist "village" that was jam-packed with families and campers.

The pros - The 6-person, 2 bedroom apartment has two real bedrooms with comfortable beds, good air-conditioning, curtains that keep it dark at night, a real kitchen with stove and oven (we expected only mini-fridge and microwave) and a comfortable garden patio. The pools are nice, and the beach rocky but long. The water taxi to Rovinj comes every 30-60 minutes from 9:30 AM until after midnight and takes only a few minutes to get to Rovinj, certainly better than driving and parking if you are not staying in the old town. They were generous with the towels, and the room was very clean. The supermarket is convenient for self-catering. The staff is friendly and helpul, and check-in and check-out were much faster that I expect at a large complex like this. They had comfy hammocks scattered around the property.

The cons - This is a huge tourist complex that charges for everything. They charge for wireless Internet (yes, it said that on my reservation but I was still surprised it wasn't free). They charged for a baby bed in the room. They said you couldn't take the room towels to the pool or beach, but didn't provide towels at the pool or beach, forcing us to buy overpriced beach towels from the shop. They didn't provide even a sponge or paper towels in the kitchenette, so we had to buy dish soap, sponges and cleaning products.

The bottom line: the size of the apartments, water taxi, and pools/beach make it a good place for families with kids. I won't stay there again, though, and if I wasn't traveling with children, wouldn't stay there at all.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dovje, Bohinj, Slovenia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

I stayed in Amarin Resort, Rovinj five times and for me it is better and nicer every time.
The app / rooms are clean with a nice kitchen and air condition. They all have a nice terrace and they are very near to the beach and to the restaurant, 20 - 50 m. I saw a lot of families with children and you can even bring your dog!!!
And the view on Rovinj is great. I would recommend it for everybody :-)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrollton, Texas
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Rovinj, Croatia is a charming seaside town on the northern peninsula sitting very near the borders of Italy, Slovenia, and Austria. The scenery and ambience are spectacular, definitely worth a visit. The Amarin Resort is not in the historic city center but it is minutes away by car or ferry with picture perfect views of that very photogenic town. The property offers hotel rooms and apartments at this enormous and lovely resort. Amenities include a small market, 2 pools with a huge surrounding patio with chairs, restaurant, a couple of bars, picnic and children's play areas, bikes, poolside massage, and a large beachfront area. There were massive bouncing and climbing structures in the ocean for added water fun. We stayed in a 2 bedroom unit that could sleep 5 total if you use the double bed in the living area, a full kitchen, 2 patios and one small bathroom. There was a table and 4 chairs with an umbrella on one patio. The kitchen was small but sufficiently stocked to make light meals including a coffee maker but lacked basic things like dish detergent, paper towels, salt, or coffee filters. The bathroom was really small and lacked toiletry items like you would normally find in a hotel. We had some difficulty getting the air conditioning on in the evening hours despite several attempts. I think they are programmed to turn off during the night, a practice that I've found common in most of Europe. The free wifi signal was too weak to use in our room so we bought minutes on a card and used the two computers in the reception area. Access to the resort is controlled by a guard and a gate. There is assigned covered parking but it was a lengthy distance to our unit even though we were allowed to come closer for loading/unloading. There were lots of families with small children on the property so apparently it is a good place for that but I was there for a completely different kind of vacation; I was part of a very large group attending the Croatia Salsa Festival. The Amarin was able to handle a huge number of adults dancing away long hours around the pool for several days. I think they did a fantastic job of accommodating such varied demands. Check-out time is at 10am. My request for a later check-out was given but for a considerable fee. Overall, I would stay here again but now I'm prepared for what to expect, hopefully, now you are too!

Room Tip: I don't think many, if any, of the rooms have much of a view. There are many trees which block...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Resort Amarin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Resort Amarin

Address: Monsena 2, Rovinj 52210, Croatia
Phone Number:
Location: Croatia > Istria > Rovinj
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Rovinj
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Rovinj
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Resort Amarin 4*
Number of rooms: 461
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cascading gently towards the rocky beaches and the turquoise sea, the Amarin Resort offers the privacy of your own home with a great view of the Old Town in lush nature just minutes away from the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Resort Amarin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resort Amarin Hotel Rovinj
Tourist Settlement Amarin Rovinj
Amarin Rovinj

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Resort Amarin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.