We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Monte Mulini

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Monte Mulini to your Saves list
Hotel Monte Mulini
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   A. Smareglia 3, Rovinj 52210 , Croatia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Early booking in #1 Hotel
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Rovinj
Sweden
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Relaxing!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is a huge resort! Rooms were big and spacious and we had a nice balcony overlooking the ocean. The pool was completely empty, plenty of spaces to enjoy the sun. Everyone seemed to lay by the rocky beach and it was rather difficult to find a private space. We really enjoyed the beach bar, great service and drinks. I didn't find the service in the hotel overall that personal and special that other reviewers have experienced. But it is a huge hotel so it's hard to add personal service to everyone. I can't say this hotel gives you what you expect for the money paid. We have stayed in other hotels in Croatia giving much better value for money for a much lower cost. A great service is the free using of bikes. The center of Rovinj was reached in 5 minutes.

Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LovorkaAndrosic, Manager at Hotel Monte Mulini, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear Guest,

It has been a privilege to welcome you during your visit at Monte Mulini Hotel and we are so grateful for your eloquent recognition. Nothing is more important for us than customer service and comfort and I feel sorry that we kind of miss it during your stay.

Again thank you for your very positive comment and hope to see you again soon

Best wishes

Lovorka Androšić
EAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    290
    36
    6
    1
    3
See reviews for
63
199
10
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2015

this review is a bit belated as we stayed at the monte mulini in June 2014 this was our first visit to this part of Croatia our stay at the hotel was perfect, we had a ground floor room slightly away from the pool area the room was spotless and very modern especially the large bathroom, the pool area was lovely never a problem with sunbeds and you also had the option of sunbeds on the beach area, we ate in one of the restaurants on a few nights of our stay and can recommend the food, the service, and the setting, especially if you sit up on the balcony overlooking the sea, the staff were great helpful and polite. We loved the hotel and the nearby town that we are returning in June 2015

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LovorkaAndrosic, Manager at Hotel Monte Mulini, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Guests,

Thank you for remember to write such a great review. We are honoured to have the privilege to be your hosts one more time in June. Thank you for your trust! If you need any help with organisation of your second visit please feel free to contact us anytime.

Best regards

Lovorka Androsic,
EAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2014

This is a slightly belated review as stayed at this hotel in June 2014. The Monte Mulini is a lovely hotel in a beautiful setting, well-positioned between the town and forest. This makes the hotel a good place to stay if you like a quieter location and enjoy walking/strolling. I rarely go back to the same place twice but I would definitely return to Rovinj, which is very atmospheric, and stay at this hotel again. In summary, the rooms are a good size, the views of the bay are fantastic, the staff helpful and discreet and the grounds and facilities excellent. An added bonus is the ability to use the facilities of the nearby sister hotel, Hotel Lone. So all in all this is a great place and I would definitely recommend it. There are however (for me) a few negatives. One of these is allowing people to have their (mostly small yappy) dogs with them at the hotel and in the pool area which is not in keeping with the hotel ambience. We could hear a dog barking frequently about four rooms away and this was quite annoying. Another drawback is that most of the rooms have a door which connects into an adjoining room. Unfortunately this means that you can hear almost everything through the door. For a luxury hotel I would expect better sound proofing. But these are fairly minor irritants for what was an extremely enjoyable and relaxing stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LovorkaAndrosic, Manager at Hotel Monte Mulini, responded to this review, January 9, 2015
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for rating us a 5 and forgive us minor blips! We are delighted to read about your experiences at the Monte Mulini hotel – please feel more than welcome to visit us soon again! For any queries, do not hesitate to contact us anytime as we are looking forward to have you back with us!

Wish you a Happy new Year!

Warm regards

Lovorka Androšić
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2014

This hotel is set on a gorgeous piece of beachfront property which they have enhance considerably with a very elegant pool complex. The rooms, which I believe are mostly the same size, are very spacious with well designed bathrooms including an outstanding rain shower. Balconies are very pleasant and the manicured grounds are a pleasure to look at. The hotel is kept immaculately and the younger members of staff are friendly and helpful - we came across a couple of more senior staff members who were rather cool and superior. The Mediterranean restaurant just below the lobby was very nice for a tasty lunch and excellent breakfasts.

A major drawback is for anyone who has a room numbered 1 through 12. Because of the shape of the hotel these rooms are exposed to the outside discotheque at the hotel next door. The noise is not only loud enough to hear, you can actually feel vibration. We called the Monte Mulini front desk and were assured it would end by 10.30 pm or shortly after we got back to our room. It didn't and it didn't again twice during our stay. The noise ended between 11.30 pm and midnight. I had airline earplugs but nothing helped. So if you are going to stay here insist on a room numbered 13 or above.
For us, the other drawback was the restaurant The Wine Vault. Now make no mistake they have a fabulous cellar. The wine list is so big and varied they bring a small table so that you don't have to try to hold it - nice touch. The problem was the food. This is a restaurant for those people who love to talk about food and esoteric preparations of weird and wonderful combinations but actually don't like to eat very much! The service was sufficiently pretentious to make us chuckle.
Bottom line - by all means stay at the Monte Mulini, book a room numbered 13 or up, swim in the gorgeous pools, eat at the Mediterranean or one of the charming little restaurants in the old town and get someone to let you browse through the wine list at the Vault for fun.

Room Tip: Any rooms # 13 or higher.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LovorkaAndrosic, Manager at Hotel Monte Mulini, responded to this review, January 9, 2015
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your open and honest words about your stay at the Monte Mulini hotel.

We have been obviously disappointing you in food offer in our Wine vault restaurant so be assured that your feedback is seriously considered and we take this chance to improve our quality and services. In comparison with all our reviews, we are very sad that we earned only grade 3 because we really appreciate our guests praises and compliments which keep us as highest ranked hotel in Croatia but of course everything is a matter of taste.

Once again, we are sorry that your experience wasn't amazing due to loud music from neighbour hotel open terrace but we appreciate very much all praises about Mediteraneo restaurant, our pools and especially our stuff.

Wish you all the best and a wonderful New Year!
Best regards,

Lovorka Androšić
EAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2014

Loved this hotel. It was the best one we stayed in in Croatia. The rooms are large and modern with large bathrooms. Our room overlooked the sea and had a big balcony. The beach (which is rocky and can be difficult to walk on) is just outside the hotel and the waters are super clear and were surprisingly warm in October. The hotel is only a 15 min walk to the old town.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LovorkaAndrosic, Manager at Hotel Monte Mulini, responded to this review, November 15, 2014
Dear Guest,

It is great to learn that your best stay in Croatia was at our Monte Mulini hotel! Thank you for sharing such a rewarding comments. We trust that you will come back in romantic Rovinj.

Kind regards
Lovorka Androšić
EAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2014

This is the third time we've been to Rovinj for our wedding anniversary and each year we've stayed in a better hotel culminating in the Monte Mulini. On checking in we were told we had been upgraded to a suite. I thought my husband may have mentioned our anniversary in the booking but he said he hadn't. I was expecting an extra large room which is what passes for a suite these days, but this was the real deal. There was a dining/living room, two bathrooms - one with a shower and one with a walk in shower and stand alone bath with two wash basins - no prizes for guessing who got the bathroom - a massive bedroom and a huge terrace overlooking the gardens and the sea. It was only later when opening the numerous cupboards and wardrobes we discovered a hidden kitchenette with microwave, sink and few hob rings though not much in the way of cooking utensils and crockery. We are very rarely upgraded to anything but to be upgraded to this was amazing.
At breakfast it was still warm enough to sit outside if you wanted to and enjoy the gorgeous views over the bay. The buffet had everything - fresh fruit, local cheeses, fish, hams, yogurts and a freshly cooked breakfast. We often had sausages (local variety, long and a little spicy) and a poached egg which was very good. The service one morning was a bit slow but apart from that it was perfect.
We found the staff to be pleasant and helpful, though I was surprised that the complimentary small cakes/biscuits were not removed or replaced after four days and mineral water was only provided on the first day.
The suite was separate from the main hotel and there were a lot of steps down to the coast road. It wasn't a problem for us but those with mobility issues may find it difficult. It could also do with more lighting at night.
We had a fantastic stay at the Monte and thank you to the staff who upgraded us.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LovorkaAndrosic, Manager at Hotel Monte Mulini, responded to this review, November 15, 2014
Dear Guests,

It's so great to hear that our Rovinj and our hotels are appealing for romantic getaways and anniversary celebrations. Seems like next year you will choose newly refurbished hotel Adriatik (luxury sister hotel) which will be opened next year in the city center for your fourth Anniversary. If you do that please join us for nice romantic dinner at Monte Mulini we are expecting you.

Wish you all the best

Lovorka Androšić
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2014 via mobile

We are here during the slow season which suits us just fine. This hotel is clean and modern and the food here has been fabulous. The food at nearby restaurants has also been amazing and we have enjoyed our walks throughout Rovinj. The people at the hotel and throughout the town are friendly and hospitable. We have really enjoyed speaking with the locals and learning about life in this amazing and beautiful place. There is no pan handling or scamming and we have felt very safe everywhere. The hotel is immaculate but then all of the washrooms and restaurants in Rovinj have been very clean as well. The view of the pool and the sea from our room at the hotel is a real treat. We have spent a lot of time on the veranda just watching life go by, enjoying local wine and gourmet treats such as cheese with truffle. I must say that of all the places we have travelled in Europe and the world, this has to be near or at the top of the favourites list and if you stay at this hotel, you won't be disappointed. It is beautiful, modern, well designed, maintained and the service is the best I've seen anywhere.

Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LovorkaAndrosic, Manager at Hotel Monte Mulini, responded to this review, November 15, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your fabulous comment. For us it's a privilege to be compared with worldwide destinations and to learn that our effort off learning and providing impeccable service is rewarded by you - our Guest.

Thank you one more time and hope to see you soon

Lovorka Androšić
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Monte Mulini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monte Mulini

Address: A. Smareglia 3, Rovinj 52210 , Croatia
Phone Number:
Location: Croatia > Istria > Rovinj
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Rovinj
#1 Luxury Hotel in Rovinj
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Rovinj
#1 Family Hotel in Rovinj
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Monte Mulini 5*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a serene view of the quiet cove from your own balcony, only 10 minutes away from Rovinj`s Old Town or put your feet up in the lush garden around the pool before exploring the refined cooking in the Wine Vault restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Escapio, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Monte Mulini reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monte Mulini Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Monte Mulini, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.