We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful setting, very comfortable rooms but some drawbacks” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Monte Mulini

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Monte Mulini to your Saves list
Hotel Monte Mulini
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   A. Smareglia 3, Rovinj 52210 , Croatia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
New in 2014 Beach Concept
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Rovinj
Asheville, North Carolina
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting, very comfortable rooms but some drawbacks”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This hotel is set on a gorgeous piece of beachfront property which they have enhance considerably with a very elegant pool complex. The rooms, which I believe are mostly the same size, are very spacious with well designed bathrooms including an outstanding rain shower. Balconies are very pleasant and the manicured grounds are a pleasure to look at. The hotel is kept immaculately and the younger members of staff are friendly and helpful - we came across a couple of more senior staff members who were rather cool and superior. The Mediterranean restaurant just below the lobby was very nice for a tasty lunch and excellent breakfasts.

A major drawback is for anyone who has a room numbered 1 through 12. Because of the shape of the hotel these rooms are exposed to the outside discotheque at the hotel next door. The noise is not only loud enough to hear, you can actually feel vibration. We called the Monte Mulini front desk and were assured it would end by 10.30 pm or shortly after we got back to our room. It didn't and it didn't again twice during our stay. The noise ended between 11.30 pm and midnight. I had airline earplugs but nothing helped. So if you are going to stay here insist on a room numbered 13 or above.
For us, the other drawback was the restaurant The Wine Vault. Now make no mistake they have a fabulous cellar. The wine list is so big and varied they bring a small table so that you don't have to try to hold it - nice touch. The problem was the food. This is a restaurant for those people who love to talk about food and esoteric preparations of weird and wonderful combinations but actually don't like to eat very much! The service was sufficiently pretentious to make us chuckle.
Bottom line - by all means stay at the Monte Mulini, book a room numbered 13 or up, swim in the gorgeous pools, eat at the Mediterranean or one of the charming little restaurants in the old town and get someone to let you browse through the wine list at the Vault for fun.

Room Tip: Any rooms # 13 or higher.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    286
    35
    6
    1
    3
See reviews for
63
196
9
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2014

Loved this hotel. It was the best one we stayed in in Croatia. The rooms are large and modern with large bathrooms. Our room overlooked the sea and had a big balcony. The beach (which is rocky and can be difficult to walk on) is just outside the hotel and the waters are super clear and were surprisingly warm in October. The hotel is only a 15 min walk to the old town.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LovorkaAndrosic, Manager at Hotel Monte Mulini, responded to this review, November 15, 2014
Dear Guest,

It is great to learn that your best stay in Croatia was at our Monte Mulini hotel! Thank you for sharing such a rewarding comments. We trust that you will come back in romantic Rovinj.

Kind regards
Lovorka Androšić
EAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2014

This is the third time we've been to Rovinj for our wedding anniversary and each year we've stayed in a better hotel culminating in the Monte Mulini. On checking in we were told we had been upgraded to a suite. I thought my husband may have mentioned our anniversary in the booking but he said he hadn't. I was expecting an extra large room which is what passes for a suite these days, but this was the real deal. There was a dining/living room, two bathrooms - one with a shower and one with a walk in shower and stand alone bath with two wash basins - no prizes for guessing who got the bathroom - a massive bedroom and a huge terrace overlooking the gardens and the sea. It was only later when opening the numerous cupboards and wardrobes we discovered a hidden kitchenette with microwave, sink and few hob rings though not much in the way of cooking utensils and crockery. We are very rarely upgraded to anything but to be upgraded to this was amazing.
At breakfast it was still warm enough to sit outside if you wanted to and enjoy the gorgeous views over the bay. The buffet had everything - fresh fruit, local cheeses, fish, hams, yogurts and a freshly cooked breakfast. We often had sausages (local variety, long and a little spicy) and a poached egg which was very good. The service one morning was a bit slow but apart from that it was perfect.
We found the staff to be pleasant and helpful, though I was surprised that the complimentary small cakes/biscuits were not removed or replaced after four days and mineral water was only provided on the first day.
The suite was separate from the main hotel and there were a lot of steps down to the coast road. It wasn't a problem for us but those with mobility issues may find it difficult. It could also do with more lighting at night.
We had a fantastic stay at the Monte and thank you to the staff who upgraded us.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LovorkaAndrosic, Manager at Hotel Monte Mulini, responded to this review, November 15, 2014
Dear Guests,

It's so great to hear that our Rovinj and our hotels are appealing for romantic getaways and anniversary celebrations. Seems like next year you will choose newly refurbished hotel Adriatik (luxury sister hotel) which will be opened next year in the city center for your fourth Anniversary. If you do that please join us for nice romantic dinner at Monte Mulini we are expecting you.

Wish you all the best

Lovorka Androšić
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2014 via mobile

We are here during the slow season which suits us just fine. This hotel is clean and modern and the food here has been fabulous. The food at nearby restaurants has also been amazing and we have enjoyed our walks throughout Rovinj. The people at the hotel and throughout the town are friendly and hospitable. We have really enjoyed speaking with the locals and learning about life in this amazing and beautiful place. There is no pan handling or scamming and we have felt very safe everywhere. The hotel is immaculate but then all of the washrooms and restaurants in Rovinj have been very clean as well. The view of the pool and the sea from our room at the hotel is a real treat. We have spent a lot of time on the veranda just watching life go by, enjoying local wine and gourmet treats such as cheese with truffle. I must say that of all the places we have travelled in Europe and the world, this has to be near or at the top of the favourites list and if you stay at this hotel, you won't be disappointed. It is beautiful, modern, well designed, maintained and the service is the best I've seen anywhere.

Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LovorkaAndrosic, Manager at Hotel Monte Mulini, responded to this review, November 15, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your fabulous comment. For us it's a privilege to be compared with worldwide destinations and to learn that our effort off learning and providing impeccable service is rewarded by you - our Guest.

Thank you one more time and hope to see you soon

Lovorka Androšić
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2014

This is a fabulous hotel, with spacious, comfortable rooms, luxury style bathrooms (with a generous amount of Molton Brown products), a great pool and gardens. The service from the staff was absolutely outstanding and the food fantastic too.

It is a short walk to the centre of the delightful Rovinj, with pretty cobbled streets and bustling restaurants.

However, the best part for me was the fantastic new beach area, with the most comfortable sun loungers and stunning bar area. There were also showers, changing areas and very clean toilets, so unusual near a beach.

Could not recommend this hotel highly enough.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LovorkaAndrosic, Manager at Hotel Monte Mulini, responded to this review, November 15, 2014
Dear Guest,

It's a privilege to been valued as hotel with spotless clean beach property. Our Mulini Beach was a big project not only for us but for destination of Rovinj as well and big additional value for our guests. Our goal is to manage it in proper manner, keep it clean and beautiful for all users.

Thank you one more time for all your recognition

Best regards

Lovorka Androšić
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2014

This was absolutely without a doubt the most wonderful resort we stayed in during our trip to Croatia - actually anywhere in the world!!!! I actually shed tears upon departure. Rovinj has become one of our favorite cities in the world! My husband booked this hotel based upon reviews and we were not disappointed in any way. It is incredibly gorgeous and has every amenity!!! The staff is marvelous, the food is exquisite and every aspect of this part of our journey was flawless. The Monte Mulini prepares a wonderful feast for breakfast that answers the needs of each person. Their spa facility is unparalleled as is their pool system. The rooms are gorgeous, spacious and well-appointed!!! The surrounding beauty of this resort is impossible to adequately describe and we thoroughly recommend this resort!!! With so many wonderful places in the world to visit we normally do not return to the same place twice - even though so many of our adventures merit return. However, we plan to return to the Hotel Monte Mulini without any doubt. Do not miss this hotel in your travels.

Room Tip: We always stay in sea-front rooms and the rooms here at Monte Mulini are simply put...gorgeous!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LovorkaAndrosic, Manager at Hotel Monte Mulini, responded to this review, October 13, 2014
Dear Guests,

We are absolutely grateful for your fabulous feedback! Providing the perfect service and to creating memorable experiences which will create the desire to come back in our Monte Mulini is our priority mission. We live and work for it every day.

Thank you so much and wish you all the best

Lovorka Androšić
EAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2014

I booked this hotel after reading the rave reviews from fellow Trip Advisors. It really is a lovely hotel. Great location at the end of the bay and 10 mins walk to the old town. The pool area is fabulous with the most amazing view. Rooms spacious, huge comfortable bed and a fantastic bathroom/dressing room. We had a ground floor room. I nearly booked a higher floor room because of other comments but I didn't need to. Just admire the view from the pool or bar! The beach area looks great and the free bikes are a fab idea - take the cycle route through the woods. Breakfast is good, bar snacks by the pool are very good and the main restaurant for dinner excellent and all reasonably priced, or so I thought. Highly recommended.

Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LovorkaAndrosic, Manager at Hotel Monte Mulini, responded to this review, October 13, 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your effective feedback and for highlighting your biking experience through next by forest park, our spacious rooms and the new Mulini beach below hotel. It's great to hear appreciation for the food in our restaurant Mediteraneo, with one of the best view restaurant -terrace in the city, isn't it?

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Monte Mulini

Sincerely,

Lovorka Androšić
EAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Monte Mulini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monte Mulini

Address: A. Smareglia 3, Rovinj 52210 , Croatia
Phone Number:
Location: Croatia > Istria > Rovinj
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Rovinj
#1 Luxury Hotel in Rovinj
#1 Family Hotel in Rovinj
#1 Romantic Hotel in Rovinj
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Monte Mulini 5*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a serene view of the quiet cove from your own balcony, only 10 minutes away from Rovinj`s Old Town or put your feet up in the lush garden around the pool before exploring the refined cooking in the Wine Vault restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Escapio, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Monte Mulini reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monte Mulini Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Monte Mulini, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.