We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem with an awesome view and great service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Monte Mulini

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Monte Mulini to your Saves list
Hotel Monte Mulini
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   A. Smareglia 3, Rovinj 52210 , Croatia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Couples’ Bliss
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Rovinj
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“A gem with an awesome view and great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Our week at the Monte Mulini was one of our most memorable vacations ever. From the moment we arrived, every need was met promptly and pleasantly. Our suite in the adjoining annex was beautifully decorated and spotlessly clean. It was a very quiet area and the wonderful window dressings made for long restful nights. On the two days when it rained we were able to walk a short distance through the tunnel to the main hotel. When the weather was lovely, we enjoyed the pleasant walks into the old town and all along the coast. Breakfasts were tasty and nutritious with an exceptional selection. Dinners in The Wine Vault were absolutely delicious. We would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone travelling to the Istrian penninsula.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lovorka A, Manager at Hotel Monte Mulini, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for youe rewarding comments and for highlighting our location, as you noticed we ensured that guest staying at Annex Suites Building have tunel connection to main hotel building.

Isn't it true that a dinner at Wine Vault is a most gratifying experience? With our waiters dedication and expertise in suggesting tempting menus and Chefs Tom & Filip, passionately mixing only the best ingredients.

We can't wait until your next visit to your Istrian residence!

Once again, thank you,

Lovorka Androsic
General Manager Assistent
Hotel Monte Mulini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    279
    35
    5
    1
    3
See reviews for
63
190
9
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
here
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

For our last morning, we requested a wake up call as we were departing at 7am. The wake up call was never made. On our first morning, the shower water was barely at room temperature. I do not appreciate taking a cool shower when paying for what is supposed to be a 5 star hotel. We stayed for 3 nights. For our first 3 breakfasts, we were not greeted by the breakfast room staff, who clung together in a pack and did not approach our table until we yelled that we needed help.There were plenty of staff members present, but they devoted themselves o checking inventory on the breakfast buffet, and one manager spent her time berating a staff member about the placement of napkins and placemats in an overflow area. We had to approach staff to order lattes. And, they never said good morning or good bye. The concierge provided no guidance for walking from the hotel into town (if you stay here, take the elevator to the lower level and walk the path-this avoids about 80 stairs). Concierge recommended a terrible restaurant with no air conditioning, no outdoor tables, and it specialized in odd pig entrails.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lovorka A, Manager at Hotel Monte Mulini, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your impressions; we regret that you encountered some inconsistency in the room attendance and that the usual warmth and dedication of our restaurant and reception staff was somehow lacking. We are already working with the Restaurant, Reception and Concierge teams to make sure that your experience remains an isolated case and that our staff always represents the Monte Mulini values at the maximum level.

We trust however that you could enjoy the many attractions of Rovinj and Istria and that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future to show you the result of our constant improvements.

Sincerely,
Lovorka Androsic
General Manager Assistent
Hotel Monte Mulini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

The Hotel Monte Mulini was the base for our touring of the Istria region in Croatia.

The hotel is located in quiet area. The rooms are amazing, as is the pool area, the overall service, and the two restaurants.

Highly recommended

Room Tip: All rooms have beautiful water views. Lowest floor has patio and upper floor balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lovorka A, Manager at Hotel Monte Mulini, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your appreciation and recommendation of the unique property of the Hotel Monte Mulini. As you noticed we concern for customer service and comfort.

We hope to have soon the pleasure of welcoming you back for new precious moments in Rovinj and, once again, thank you for your time and support.

Sincerely,

Lovorka Androsic
General Manager Assistent
Hotel Monte Mulini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We had a wonderful stay in this hotel. Our room was on the second floor - it was large and well appointed with a comfortable bed, plenty of sitting space and a luxurious, enormous bathroom. We spent a lot of time on our balcony enjoying the beautiful scenery. The breakfast buffet was amazing and we enjoyed the food in the bar and the restaurant. The staff were amazing. Nothing was too much trouble and service was delivered with a smile. We had excellent massages in the spa, a lovely day out on the complementary bikes, pleaseant strolls around the coast and into town, an enjoyable dip in the pool and a good time snorkelling in the sea. We were sorry to leave this lovely hotel and are very likely to return.

Room Tip: We enjoyed our room on the second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lovorka A, Manager at Hotel Monte Mulini, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your impressions about our Monte Mulini not only of the unique location of the hotel in front of the century forest park, but for the recognition of the service excellence and our wellness facilities. Thank you for highlighting your second floor room and the bay sea view together with the breakfast which is one of our main focus. Isn't it true that a breakfast on the high terrace overlooking bay is a most gratifying experience? Our team will be proud of your comment!

We hope your future travel plans to the Istrian peninsula will include a return stay at Monte Mulini hotel.

Once again, thank you, sincerely yours,

Assistant GM
Lovorka Androšić
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubrovnik, Dubrovacko-Neretvanska, Croatia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

This is our 3rd year in a row to come to Rovinj and stay at Monte Mulini and yet again it has proven its status and it's reputation. There is no flaw to it, from amazing views, chic but cozy decor, spacious and beautiful rooms an absolutely incredible staff.
Make sure to dine at hotel's gem- Wine Vault or if you really want a treat to have dinner at the amazing Chef's table it is always a spectacular experience of senses and tastes.
Hotel's spa is small but lovely and connected to its sister hotel Lone so you can go to both if guest of MM. Treatments are not overpriced and excellent.
We will no doubt come here again and would highly recommend it.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lovorka A, Manager at Hotel Monte Mulini, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you for your complimentary and rewarding comments; we will share them with all the Staff.
We are especially pleased that you stayed with us already three times and enjoyed the service of our stuff, attending every need, small or big, of our discerning Guests.

It is great to learn that one of the best experiences was at our fine dining restaurant Wine Vault, where as you noticed Chef Tomislav Gretić introduced last year the Chef’s table as first in Croatia.

We hope to have soon the pleasure of welcoming you back for new, precious moments and hopefully the Chef table.

Best wishes,

Assistant GM
Lovorka Androšić
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorleywood, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

It is not often I get taken back by a view, but as you enter this hotel you know you have arrived to something special. That was the first minute and by day 2 of 10 I'd forgot the money that I spent becuase the views,serivce and general atmospherics usurped it. The staff, contrary to some of the comments here, were amazing and always headed for my daughter to get her a high chair and play to her every need....led by a great head waiter the restaurant (with that view) was run in a quiet and professional manner. Beyond the hotel we explored and found it easy and accessible. With a two year old one would think this hotel was not the right fit but we used the free mountain bikes,the pools and meandered along the coast to see the sites or to the port for a late eveining meal overlooking the harbour. I also trained for the ironman triathlon here and swam every morning across the bay and cycled along the coast along safe and flat roads - much better than the UK! It simply rested and relaxed the whole family - job well done!.

Room Tip: they are all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lovorka A, Manager at Hotel Monte Mulini, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

It’s so great to hear that you chose our hotel and town of Rovinj for your family break and that you had great time with us. Thank you pointing out the possibility of exploring the area and protected “Zlatni rt” park forest by our bikes and as well the beauty of our Lone bay in front of the hotel. For the next 2014 season we are planning to arrange the new beach in front of the hotel zone in addition to the poolside and open nice bar there as well. We are also very grateful that you appreciated the good service provided by our Head waiter.

Hope to see you soon

Sincerely,
Assistant GM
Lovorka Androšić
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodford Green Essex
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013 via mobile

We wanted a break that gave us luxury plus peace and quiet and we found both at this excellent Hotel which thoroughly deserved the 5 star rating. We had a wonderfully large room (221) with great views from the spacious balcony. The bed was king sized and very comfortable. The bathroom had a walk in shower, plus bath and 2 wash basins so we could both use it at the same time!!

ALL the staff from the receptionists to the waiters and cleaners could not have been more friendly, courteous or helpful. Particular mention must be made of the Restaurant Manager and 2 of the lobby team Leon and Andreas who took care of us so well and were always cheery and considerate

We have a couple of 'observations' ( not criticism ) that in no way prevents this review still being classified as 'excellent'

There was not a lot of drawer space and most of the drawers were fairly narrow. It would have been nice to have tea and coffee making facilities. The Wi-Fi was 'patchy' but there may be nothing the Hotel can do about that! At least it was free!! We would have liked more bar snacks at reasonable prices

Well done to everybody who made our week away so relaxing!

Phil and Sue Joiner

Stayed October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lovorka A, Manager at Hotel Monte Mulini, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you very much for such a rewarding comments and tips as well. It has been a privilege to welcome you to our oasis of peace, it’s how we sometimes call our Monte Mulini hotel. We are very much involved in providing pure relax experience to our guests and we thank you for recognizing that. We are especially pleased that you enjoyed the attention and friendliness of our Staff.

Hope to have soon the pleasure of welcoming you back for new precious memories. Thank you for your time and support.

Sincerely,
Assistant GM
Lovorka Androšić
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Monte Mulini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monte Mulini

Address: A. Smareglia 3, Rovinj 52210 , Croatia
Phone Number:
Location: Croatia > Istria > Rovinj
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Rovinj
#1 Family Hotel in Rovinj
#1 Romantic Hotel in Rovinj
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Rovinj
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Monte Mulini 5*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a serene view of the quiet cove from your own balcony, only 10 minutes away from Rovinj`s Old Town or put your feet up in the lush garden around the pool before exploring the refined cooking in the Wine Vault restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Escapio, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Monte Mulini reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monte Mulini Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Monte Mulini, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.