We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Monte Mulini

Save Saved
You added Hotel Monte Mulini to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Monte Mulini
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   A. Smareglia 3, Rovinj 52210 , Croatia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Couples’ Bliss
Ranked #1 of 22 hotels in Rovinj
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

The Hotel Monte Mulini was the base for our touring of the Istria region in Croatia.

The hotel is located in quiet area. The rooms are amazing, as is the pool area, the overall service, and the two restaurants.

Highly recommended

Room Tip: All rooms have beautiful water views. Lowest floor has patio and upper floor balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lovorka A, Manager at Hotel Monte Mulini, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your appreciation and recommendation of the unique property of the Hotel Monte Mulini. As you noticed we concern for customer service and comfort.

We hope to have soon the pleasure of welcoming you back for new precious moments in Rovinj and, once again, thank you for your time and support.

Sincerely,

Lovorka Androsic
General Manager Assistent
Hotel Monte Mulini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    227
    32
    4
    1
    3
See reviews for
53
151
7
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We had a wonderful stay in this hotel. Our room was on the second floor - it was large and well appointed with a comfortable bed, plenty of sitting space and a luxurious, enormous bathroom. We spent a lot of time on our balcony enjoying the beautiful scenery. The breakfast buffet was amazing and we enjoyed the food in the bar and the restaurant. The staff were amazing. Nothing was too much trouble and service was delivered with a smile. We had excellent massages in the spa, a lovely day out on the complementary bikes, pleaseant strolls around the coast and into town, an enjoyable dip in the pool and a good time snorkelling in the sea. We were sorry to leave this lovely hotel and are very likely to return.

Room Tip: We enjoyed our room on the second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lovorka A, Manager at Hotel Monte Mulini, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your impressions about our Monte Mulini not only of the unique location of the hotel in front of the century forest park, but for the recognition of the service excellence and our wellness facilities. Thank you for highlighting your second floor room and the bay sea view together with the breakfast which is one of our main focus. Isn't it true that a breakfast on the high terrace overlooking bay is a most gratifying experience? Our team will be proud of your comment!

We hope your future travel plans to the Istrian peninsula will include a return stay at Monte Mulini hotel.

Once again, thank you, sincerely yours,

Assistant GM
Lovorka Androšić
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubrovnik, Dubrovacko-Neretvanska, Croatia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

This is our 3rd year in a row to come to Rovinj and stay at Monte Mulini and yet again it has proven its status and it's reputation. There is no flaw to it, from amazing views, chic but cozy decor, spacious and beautiful rooms an absolutely incredible staff.
Make sure to dine at hotel's gem- Wine Vault or if you really want a treat to have dinner at the amazing Chef's table it is always a spectacular experience of senses and tastes.
Hotel's spa is small but lovely and connected to its sister hotel Lone so you can go to both if guest of MM. Treatments are not overpriced and excellent.
We will no doubt come here again and would highly recommend it.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lovorka A, Manager at Hotel Monte Mulini, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you for your complimentary and rewarding comments; we will share them with all the Staff.
We are especially pleased that you stayed with us already three times and enjoyed the service of our stuff, attending every need, small or big, of our discerning Guests.

It is great to learn that one of the best experiences was at our fine dining restaurant Wine Vault, where as you noticed Chef Tomislav Gretić introduced last year the Chef’s table as first in Croatia.

We hope to have soon the pleasure of welcoming you back for new, precious moments and hopefully the Chef table.

Best wishes,

Assistant GM
Lovorka Androšić
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorleywood, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

It is not often I get taken back by a view, but as you enter this hotel you know you have arrived to something special. That was the first minute and by day 2 of 10 I'd forgot the money that I spent becuase the views,serivce and general atmospherics usurped it. The staff, contrary to some of the comments here, were amazing and always headed for my daughter to get her a high chair and play to her every need....led by a great head waiter the restaurant (with that view) was run in a quiet and professional manner. Beyond the hotel we explored and found it easy and accessible. With a two year old one would think this hotel was not the right fit but we used the free mountain bikes,the pools and meandered along the coast to see the sites or to the port for a late eveining meal overlooking the harbour. I also trained for the ironman triathlon here and swam every morning across the bay and cycled along the coast along safe and flat roads - much better than the UK! It simply rested and relaxed the whole family - job well done!.

Room Tip: they are all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lovorka A, Manager at Hotel Monte Mulini, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

It’s so great to hear that you chose our hotel and town of Rovinj for your family break and that you had great time with us. Thank you pointing out the possibility of exploring the area and protected “Zlatni rt” park forest by our bikes and as well the beauty of our Lone bay in front of the hotel. For the next 2014 season we are planning to arrange the new beach in front of the hotel zone in addition to the poolside and open nice bar there as well. We are also very grateful that you appreciated the good service provided by our Head waiter.

Hope to see you soon

Sincerely,
Assistant GM
Lovorka Androšić
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodford Green Essex
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013 via mobile

We wanted a break that gave us luxury plus peace and quiet and we found both at this excellent Hotel which thoroughly deserved the 5 star rating. We had a wonderfully large room (221) with great views from the spacious balcony. The bed was king sized and very comfortable. The bathroom had a walk in shower, plus bath and 2 wash basins so we could both use it at the same time!!

ALL the staff from the receptionists to the waiters and cleaners could not have been more friendly, courteous or helpful. Particular mention must be made of the Restaurant Manager and 2 of the lobby team Leon and Andreas who took care of us so well and were always cheery and considerate

We have a couple of 'observations' ( not criticism ) that in no way prevents this review still being classified as 'excellent'

There was not a lot of drawer space and most of the drawers were fairly narrow. It would have been nice to have tea and coffee making facilities. The Wi-Fi was 'patchy' but there may be nothing the Hotel can do about that! At least it was free!! We would have liked more bar snacks at reasonable prices

Well done to everybody who made our week away so relaxing!

Phil and Sue Joiner

Stayed October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lovorka A, Manager at Hotel Monte Mulini, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you very much for such a rewarding comments and tips as well. It has been a privilege to welcome you to our oasis of peace, it’s how we sometimes call our Monte Mulini hotel. We are very much involved in providing pure relax experience to our guests and we thank you for recognizing that. We are especially pleased that you enjoyed the attention and friendliness of our Staff.

Hope to have soon the pleasure of welcoming you back for new precious memories. Thank you for your time and support.

Sincerely,
Assistant GM
Lovorka Androšić
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Pictures really do not do it justice. The view when you walk in the door is jaw dropping. Lobby bar may have the best view. The service here is incredible with everyone from the concierge, housekeeping and waitstaff just going above and beyond to make sure you have an incredible stay. Both of the hotel restaurants are excellent. We really enjoyed the 2nd floor rest for casual meals of whole fish but Wine Vault was a great splurge night. Wine selection is amazing. The wife and I drank nothing but Istrian wine and wish we could find more in the US. Definitely missing Rovinj

Room Tip: Get the optional breakfast. Excellent selection of local charcuterie, cheeses, olives, breads. Defi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lovorka A, Manager at Hotel Monte Mulini, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear Guests,

What else could we add to such rewarding comments? It has been a privilege to welcome you and your husband to the hotel Monte Mulini, Rovinj during your visit and we are so grateful for your eloquent recognition. Nothing is more important for us so thank you one more time. Hope you had a chance to take home with you a bottle of Istrian wine which we are really proud off.

Sincerely yours,
Assistant GM
Lovorka Androšić
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Lovely hotel, staff and food excellent and a beautiful pool with delightful views. However..there are a lot of steps! We were in a two story suite with a flight of steps between bedroom & sitting room - in order to reach the restaurant, more steps. To walk down to the promenade connecting to the town, there were nine flights of STEPS. Not the hotel's fault, it is set into a hill side but it was an issue for me and one I was not prepared for.

Rovinj itself is about a mile to the central part where most restaurants are. Food was consistently excellent and very good value. At least I didn't put any weight on due to all the walking and steps!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lovorka A, Manager at Hotel Monte Mulini, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your impressions about our hotel. One-floor or two-floor Executive or Junior suites are indeed two verry different concepts in terms of design and content but we will be delighted if we can pick for you one you prefer the best for the next time.

Thank you for highlighting food in our town which is one of our main focus within destination.
We hope to have soon the pleasure of welcoming you back

Kind Regards,
Assistant GM
Lovorka Androšić
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Monte Mulini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monte Mulini

Address: A. Smareglia 3, Rovinj 52210 , Croatia
Phone Number:
Location: Croatia > Istria > Rovinj
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Rovinj
#1 Family Hotel in Rovinj
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Rovinj
#1 Romantic Hotel in Rovinj
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Monte Mulini 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a serene view of the quiet cove from your own balcony, only 10 minutes away from Rovinj`s Old Town or put your feet up in the lush garden around the pool before exploring the refined cooking in the Wine Vault restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Splendia, Escapio, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Tingo and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Hotel Monte Mulini reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monte Mulini Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Monte Mulini, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.