We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Monte Mulini

Save Saved
You added Hotel Monte Mulini to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Monte Mulini
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   A. Smareglia 3, Rovinj 52210 , Croatia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Couples’ Bliss
Ranked #1 of 22 Hotels in Rovinj
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

We just finished our holiday and were impressed with this Hotel. Our 1st time in Croatia meant we were a bit wary but have nothing but praise for Rovinj and the Hotel. Great free perks included bikes which let us explore the nearby Parks and a boat trip around the islands. Breakfast is a great 5 star experience, staff very helpful and friendly, Restaurants are very good with a nice variety, rooms very clean and luxurious, and so no issues whatsoever! The Pool has enough Sun cover and sunbeds.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lovorka A, Manager at Hotel Monte Mulini, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

It’s so great to hear that you chose our hotel and town of Rovinj for your first visit to Croatia. Thank you pointing out the possibility of exploring of the picturesque Lone bay surrounded by protected “Zlatni rt” park forest by oor bikes. For the next 2014 season we are planning to arrange the beach in front of the hotel zone in addition to the poolside and open nice bar there as well.

Hope to see you and your family soon
Once again, thank you,

Sincerely,
Assistant GM
Lovorka Androšić
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    257
    34
    5
    1
    2
See reviews for
61
172
8
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

The hotel is good - modern and clean. And in a lovely setting. The old town of Rovinj is a jewel and still largely unspoiled by mass tourism. It is very easy to get to from Pula airport (the hotel sent a car to meet us). The hotel is efficient, clean and has excellent staff and gets very close to being excellent.

Room Tip: The higher the room - the better the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lovorka A, Manager at Hotel Monte Mulini, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are honored by your comments and by your recognition. We are really working hard to have excellent service but moreover a dedicated and professional team of people, well aware of the privilege to work in such a environment.

Thank you for sharing your experience,

Assistant GM
Lovorka Androšić
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

This is a wonderful, wonderful hotel! We booked a standard room on the ground floor and was delighted to be upgraded to the second floor, with a fantastic view of Lone Bay from the balcony of our room (many thanks to the hotel management - we really appreciated the upgrade!).

The entire hotel (bedrooms, bathrooms, restaurants and other public areas) is beautifully designed in a modern style, with high quality furnishings. Despite being fully occupied, the hotel did not feel crowded at all. The outdoor pool area is lovely, with sunbeds placed all around the pool and hotel lawn overlooking the bay. Huge umbrellas provided shade for those of us who do not necessarily enjoy lying continuously under the sun.

The hotel has a small, intimate spa, providing all the usual treatments. The after-treatment room is quiet and tranquil - I spent quite a lot of time here reading my novels after a relaxing massage. Thank you to Paola, Masha and Koryalka (sorry - I don't remember the spelling) for looking after me so well.

Monte Mulini hotel guests are allowed access to the facilities at the next door Lone Hotel. There is a relatively well-equiped gym and an indoor swimming pool there, both of which I put to good use.

I especially enjoyed running in the national park located right next to the hotel, every morning before breakfast. The breakfast buffet at the Mediterraneo Restaurant is perhaps not the very best, but definitely more than adequate with a large choice of juices, cereals, pastries/muffins and a selection of cooked items freshly prepared upon demand.

My husband and I enjoyed two wonderful meals at the Wine Vault Restaurant. The dishes were creative, well-executed and above all, absolutely delicious! We were attended to by extremely professional staff - Ivica and Danijel both deserve special mention here. On our second visit (the last night of our holiday) we were entertained by gentle live music that provided just the right ambience for a perfect evening. The restaurant had arranged some lounge armchairs and sofas just beyond the dining tables on that occasion - what a great way to enjoy after-dinner drinks - this was a fitting end to a truly memorable holiday!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lovorka A, Manager at Hotel Monte Mulini, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

What else could we add to such rewarding comments? It has been a privilege to welcome you and your husband to the Monte Mulini hotel.

Thank you for your appreciation not only of the unique heritage of the hotel, but for the true concern for customer service and comfort. We are especially pleased that you enjoyed the attention of our Stuff. They are the ones who made your stay memorable.

Hope to see you again, thank you for your time and support.

Assistant GM

Lovorka Androšić
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire UK
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

This hotel is so nearly excellent.
It has breathtaking views
Excellent restaurants
Well appointed spacious rooms
Over sized luxurious bathrooms
A beautiful spa with a good range of treatments
Bikes that you can use to explore the protected national park, or cycle into Rovinj
A lovely pool area with views that you will not forget
However there are three reasons why it does not get 5 stars from me:
*It has very poor wifi
*The pool staff were not up to the friendly professional standard of the rest of the staff
*Guests reserve beds by the pool in the early morning and keep them all day even if they go away for a few hours. The hotel has no interest in policing this and it really lets the standard down.

I would use this hotel again and hope that they have taken notice of their customers comments.

Room Tip: Get a room on the second or third floor for the views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lovorka A, Manager at Hotel Monte Mulini, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for this frank comments. Nothing is more important for us so we will discusse it within our teams. Nothing is more important for us than guest satisfaction so I have discussed all your comments with my staff to improve ourselves better.

It has been a privilege to welcome you to the Monte Mulini hotel during your visit and we are so grateful for your eloquent recognition.

Sincerely yours,
Assistant GM
Lovorka Androšić
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reuver, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

Excellent hotel. Beautiful setting, great views, friendly staff, beautiful large room, modern, huge bathroom.
The spa is equal to none!
Only positive omments to give and we are spoiled travellers!

Super breakfast, great dinner, close to Rovinj too.
I would recommend only pool-police, in order to avoid guests to "reserve" poolbeds at 06:00. This works at other hotels too.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lovorka A, Manager at Hotel Monte Mulini, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Dear Guests,

We would like to thank you for your very nice feedback and for highlighting our service, rooms and pleased that you enjoyed the Spa and our restaurants. What could we appreciate more? Regarding reserving poolbeds I hope you will give us a chance to prof our self better next time.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Monte Mulini

Best wishes

Assistant GM

Lovorka Androšić
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Just returned from a week at Monte Mulini and have to say what a great place to visit. Hotel is very chic, smart, wonderful rooms, clean with two excellent restaurants, which I will come on to, great views and fantastic staff.

From the minute you arrive at the hotel to the 15 minute walk to the town itself, all of the people are very helpful and pleasant to talk to even though my Croatian is zero !

The hotels' Mediterano restaurant is superb, with an excellent choice of food and wine. Average price about £50 per head. The Wine Vault is very good too but high price of about £200 including a good local wine.

The swimming pool areas are lovely and clean and the poool attendants great. Lunch menu is a bit sparce but you cant have everything.

As for Rivinj, an excellent beautiful little town that has some fantastic restaurants such as Santa Croce whose fish was superb. This restaurant is a must.

Also look out for Valentino's Champagne Bar. Get there about 715pm and what the sun go down sitting on the rocks with a glass or two ...... superb.

We also tried the Monte restuarant and as many say very good food but a bit pricey. We had the Essence ( 5 Courses) and came to about £200 for two of us. A bit disappointing is getting charged for their take on a Muse which I didnt order.......

Hotel Mulini and the surounding areas are beatiful, well looked after with great food and wine. Also take a bike ride around the Lone Bay tracks.... fantastic views.

We have never been back to the same place twice but I am sure we will be back sooner than we think.

Highly recommend to anyone - great hotel and thoroughly enjoyable area.

Room Tip: Ensure you chose the Sea View .... Great views of all the boats and the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

I have just returned from a week’s stay at the Monte Mulini, and I want to go back already.
Fantastic place to stay, every bit the luxury you expect in a five star hotel. Lovely appointed rooms with everything you could ever need, and what a view - wow. The bed was enormous! The wardrobe opens from the hall and the bathroom which is great.
The hotel offers a free boat trip every day which is a nice touch and a great way to see the other Islands. The boat is an old sailing boat, absolutely beautiful. They also offer free bikes, you can cycle around the coastline which is breath-taking. The sea is so clear.

All the staff remember your name, which is impressive when they have so many people to look after. They are all friendly, professional, personable and know their stuff - without being overbearing. I was travelling alone, and they made me feel very well looked after.

The food in the restaurant is extremely good, and the Waiters are excellent. I would like to give a special mention to Alen and Stefano - both are very knowledgeable and excellent at looking after their customers - it was a pleasure to meet them.

The only negative I have is the internet connection, which isn't very good at all. I couldn't get any Wifi in my room. They need more access points.

Rovinj is only 20 minute walk away but allow a little longer if you are going right to the other side of the harbour. It's a really nice walk with lots to see. The people are very friendly and you don't get any hassle from people trying to sell you stuff which was a pleasant surprise. Cobbled streets and little lanes everywhere, too many to get through in just one week. There are loads of restaurants and bars. Monte's is definitely one to try.

You can do a trip to Venice which only takes a few hours, worth doing but I think I'd have preferred to go later in the year as it was far too hot to walk around - and too busy.

Overall, I cannot recommend this hotel enough, I loved everything about it. I have stayed in many nice hotels, and so far this is the best one. The people make it a really special place to stay. Thank you for a wonderful holiday!

Room Tip: Try and get a room on the first or second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Monte Mulini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monte Mulini

Address: A. Smareglia 3, Rovinj 52210 , Croatia
Phone Number:
Location: Croatia > Istria > Rovinj
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Rovinj
#1 Family Hotel in Rovinj
#1 Romantic Hotel in Rovinj
#1 Luxury Hotel in Rovinj
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Monte Mulini 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a serene view of the quiet cove from your own balcony, only 10 minutes away from Rovinj`s Old Town or put your feet up in the lush garden around the pool before exploring the refined cooking in the Wine Vault restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Expedia, Escapio, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hotel Monte Mulini reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monte Mulini Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Monte Mulini, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.